We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely sunday lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Quay House

The Old Quay House
Ranked #15 of 61 Restaurants in Hayle
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Perfectly located on the water's edge of the beautiful RSPB Hayle Estuary Nature Reserve, experience stunning views whilst enjoying our delicious home-made food in our restaurant, relax with a real ale in our cosy bar area or watch the children on the play area in our large estuary side garden. Our very popular carvery is available every Sunday lunch and dinner, along with our normal menu (booking advised).
redruth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went here for sunday lunch, one had the carvery option of turkey, two went for the proper job, large portion of fish and chip's, with bread and butter, home made mushy peas, huge chunky chips and curry sauce, I being a vegetarian had a lovely jacket pot. The deserts were lovely and the portions were generous, the staff friendly and efficient, and a lovely welcome from owner. We weren't sure about going back here as we had some bad visits with the previous managment,
but having heard good reports since the new owners took over we thought we'd give it a try. Will be going back for another visit very soon, and hope they can keep the standard up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    123
    65
    48
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best pub food ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We found this pub after driving around for a while and not being that impressed with the ones we stopped at. The staff were welcoming and the atmosphere was relaxed. We ordered two of the special, pork belly and hake. We eat out at least 2 times a week and this was one of the best meals we have ever eaten, and without doubt the best pub meal ever.

We passed on our compliments to the lady chef on the evening, but had to also write a glowing review.

When we visit hayle again, it will be our first port of call. Cannot recommend the food here highly enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank skarlet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A lovely spacious and welcoming inn; the atmosphere was friendly and the staff were helpful and chatty. The food was very good, home cooked and in ample supply. I had ham,egg and chips; the ham was real ham carved off the bone, the egg free range with a lovely orange yolk and the chips were chunky, home made ones! The catch of the day was freshly cooked and again was a portion big enough for the largest appetite. Would thoroughly recommend it as a place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

this pub is spacious ,warm ,friendly can highly reccomend the proper job meal and catch of the day you wont leave hungry thats for ample parking too

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013503822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stopped here after abandoning a long walk into Hayle, and it was well worth it. The food was a little more expensive than I would usually pay, but you could tell it was freshly cooked and good quality. The BBQ chicken and fish and chips were great. Staff very friendly and made an effort to speak to us and make us welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Quay House also viewed

 

Been to The Old Quay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing