We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seals a-plenty”
Review of Godrevy Head

Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Seals a-plenty”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A visit to Godrevy Point near Hayle in Cornwall is a must for real nature lovers. It is rather hard to find, but well worth it, follow the signs for Godrevy through Hayle and a National Trust card will get you into the car park free. Walk up the hill to the cliff top, but try to be very quiet because as you reach the top the view down into the cove should reveal lots of basking seals with pups. A wonderful sight, but please do not disturb them. A further short walk along the coast path to the Point overlooking the lighthouse and then on to the steps at Gwithian Bridge take you down into a delightful sandy bay where you can make as much noise as you want and clamber over the rocks and pools to your hearts delight ! Enjoy, we did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    43
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great place for a wild walk in October! Views of the lighthouse are brilliant, parking just £4 for non National Trust Members, and I even managed to get some fantastic photos, particularly of a kestrel which hovered right ABOVE me. Ice cream van, and a great cafe with homemade food and the best hot chocolates!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojoscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“"Fantastic National Trust Headland"”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a fantastic National Trust Headland it will cost you £4.00 to park for non members but well worth it.There are fantastic coastal walks along to Godrevy Lighthouse on a small island just off the headland.you must take a camera with you for the many photo opportunities along the way.We visited this time on a very windy October day and took some fantastic shots of the coast ,lighthouse and the seals on the headland beach and rocks.We have also visited on a lovely day when you can walk along the beach and view all the fantastic rocks and rock pools,you will also have superb views of St Ives and the surfers on the beaches at Towans.There is a very good cafe and 2 national trust car parks, a must visit when in this area ,just as good on a winters day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank doddek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Godrevy Head.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful part of England. Beware though when driving up the lane to the field you will be stopped by a chap asking for £4.00 parking. We said we only wanted to turn round as our little dog had recently had an operation and we were not stopping just viewing the lighthouse. He told us not to be more than ten minutes. By the time we reached the field and turned round he was chasing after us on his bike. You can't miss him he is a few teeth missing and very rude. We love this place though and will be staying in Hale for a month next year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BradleyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great for a winter's walk”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Blow the cobwebs away and enjoy the sea air by taking a walk along Godrevy Head. Fantastic views of the iconic lighthouse and St Ives. Walk along the sand when the tide is out and discover wonderful rock pools. I think it is better in winter than summer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helene Christin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godrevy Head also viewed

 
Hayle, Cornwall
Hayle, Cornwall
 

Been to Godrevy Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing