We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money friendly welcome”
Review of Mad Hatter

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mad Hatter
Ranked #5 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here to attend a family function and the room was very quaint and comfortable. The room had lots of pink which I was fine with but my partner not so sure and the tiniest bathroom but I would call it a feature. The food was superb and lots of it. The couple who ran it were lovely and I would definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 713NatalieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Mad Hatter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hostess may be the funniest person in England. Very warm and witty. The room was a bit tired, with a very pink decor. The bathroom was tiny, but I was happy that it was en suite. Great breakfast and very welcoming. They have a huge dog and a gate to keep it bounding up the stairs. It was a bit difficult to navigate.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Nickoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We regularly visit hayle as family live in lelant and angaarack. My mother always stays at the mad hatter when she can and always enjoys herself.it was my 1st time and my only negative is the lack of parking.that is it,everything else is super....the breakfast...the bedrooms and pauline and derek who are very welcoming and will be able to help you to locate bus routes, shopping, eating, anything!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinicolastives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

What a wonderful place to spend the night, our first on a 5 day Coast Path walking trip from Portreath to Land's End.The rooms were splendid, very comfortable and decorated in such a friendly manner. Thank you to Pauline and Derek for their kind hospitality and for drying our walking boots and coats! The Mad Hatter Tea Shop was ever so cosy and the meals were absolutely delicious!

Many thanks for such a wonderful stay, we would highly recommend!

Katie, Bethany, Sam and Sam xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Every year we get together with friends in Cornwall to go on a coastal walk/pub crawl. This year we stayed in Hayle at the Mad Hatter for one night.
The Mad Hatter is a tea shop well located on Fore Street (the main street) with five rooms above it. One is ensuite and the other share toilets (2) and a shower room and room with a bath. We stayed in one of the rooms and our friends in the others.
I can't vouch for the tea rooms (although the cakes looked good) but we enjoyed our stay at the B&B. The owners were friendly and helpful. We slept well. The full english was just what I needed the next day. It did the job!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellydancer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed here for one night before I started my walk on the south west coast path. The owners were very kind and social and the room was perfect. If I have to say something negative it would be that the size of the en-suite was really tiny, but I didn´t mind much because everything else was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triumph_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stopped here for 1 night and it was great. we stopped in a family room with 1 double bed and 2 singles, still plenty of room.

The view was great of the river, and breakfast was superb!!! would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CleggDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
0.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
253 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Badger Inn
The Badger Inn
#28 of 102 in St Ives
344 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Quay House
The Old Quay House
#4 of 15 in Hayle
58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandbank House
Sandbank House
#2 of 15 in Hayle
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Hatter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Hatter

Address: 73 Fore Street, Hayle TR27 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range: $27 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mad Hatter Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing