We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowan Barn
Nearby Hotels
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$333
$323
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
44
5
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
5
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 50 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

my husband, myself and our our 3 year old little boy stayed at rowan barn back in April of this year as a belated birthday present for my husband. we stayed in the ash and it was lovely. we couldn't ask for any more, huw and sally were both very welcoming and gave us drinks and scones upon our arrival. the room was very spacious and decorated to a high standard - lovely tea and coffee making facilities and equally lovely bathroom. our little boy enjoyed visiting the pigs in a nearby field. the setting was so peaceful, we would most definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We've stayed at Rowan Barn twice. Once in 2009 and once in 2012. Both times in The Dairy - a lovely one bedroom self catering cottage. Huw and Sally are excellent hosts (and Josie the dog also takes good care of visitors!) The courtesy pack includes useful essentials such as tea, coffee, milk and eggs. Very comfortable bed and highly recommended as a good place for a quiet holiday - at night you can't hear anything - it makes a change from the busy town where we live. A cream tea on arrival plus a lovely breakfast the morning before we left. The new communal kitchen and dining room has a very comfortable sitting area, plus tables and a bbq outside. Easy to get to Penzance (About 10-15 mins), The Lizard and Lands End and just about everywhere in southern Cornwall. A great place to stay. A sat nav is worth having to find your way around the little lanes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecox67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Booked following the complimentary reviews on TripAdvisor - Rowan Barn met (and exceeded) all expectations.

A simply stunning location by the side of a lovely wooded valley, fields and a stream and lake at the bottom. Very peaceful.

The property is a credit to the lovely owners and can best be described as a boutique B&B as everything is top-notch. We stayed in The Oak room for a couple of days at the end of May 2012. Parking is right next to the room. The room was very peaceful and had everything you could ask for, high-quality furniture, very comfy and large bed and loads of character in this converted barn, high ceilings, beams and a luxury wet-room en-suite. Double doors lead from the room directly onto a large outdoor sunny deck with your own tables/chairs.

What a delight after a long trip to arrive at such a stunning place, drive up directly to our room and be welcomed with a lovely cup of tea and some of Sally's freshly baked rock cakes!

In addition to the rooms, there is a nice breakfast kitchen with more seating, books and maps to borrow and a guest fridge for your use as well. Look forward to the breakfasts as these are a delight too! There is a buffet selection of juices, cereals etc, tea/coffee served at the table, plus a menu selection of hot food as well, all cooked fresh on the range in front of you.

I've written a few reviews here on TripAdvisor, however none have met this standard. You simply must try it.

Previous reviewers made mention of the driveway to the property, so I thought I'd add our experience so you can judge for yourself. I was a little concerned, as a reviewer had mentioned needing a 4x4! Well, the driveway is approx. 200 meters long from the main tarmac road. The surface is a little rough in places, however didn't cause us any problems in our little car (Mazda MX5). Just take it easy and it's absolutely fine.

The property is ideally located for Hayle, St. Ives, Penzance etc. St. Michaels Mount, Lands End, Heligan, Eden Project and much more are located an easy drive away. Recommend a visit to Porthcurno, nr Lands End. A beach so good that its on the cover of most guide books!...plus the amazing Minack Theatre built on a cliff face above the beach that you can visit or catch a show. The beach cafe serves nice cappuccinos and the best bacon baguettes!

Room Tip: All great from what we could see. We stayed in "The Oak"
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here in September 2011. Its fab! The location is peaceful, but convenient for many places. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. We were greeted with a lovely cup of tea and homemade scone. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We stayed in the The Oak and there is a massive wet room.

The best bit of the stay was breakfast. Full English we opted for with bacon and sausage from home reared pork and fresh eggs from the chickens outside.

Really couldn't fault it and will be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Easy to find with Tomtom, stayed in the Ash- clean, well furnished and easy to relax in. Friendly owners, very accommodating, excellent homemade breakfast- all in all great location and no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews