We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful place, but a little isolated.”
Review of Rowan Barn

Rowan Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowan Barn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful place, but a little isolated.”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at Rowan Barn for just one night and what a lovely peaceful place it is. It is a little tricky to find as it is down quite a rough track. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owners and offered tea and homemade cakes which were lovely after a long drive. The surroundings really were beautiful and it has a lot of land around which you can walk around and visit the pigs and chickens, aswell as viewing the lake. It was extremely picturesque! Our room was lovely (we stayed in The Beech). The room had Wifi which was great as we had no mobile phone signal there.

We went out for tea in St Ives but unfortunately it was extremely tricky to find out way back in the dark as it is very isolated and our sat nav kept losing it's signal so it was little use. I would be wary of navigating the roads leading to Rowan Barn in Winter or the dark.

Breakfast was lovely and there were so many different options it really does provide for everyone. The b and b owners were really friendly and made us feel right at home.

This is a great place to stay, but maybe not if you don't like being in the middle of the countryside!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We can recommend Rowan Barn, the hosts Huw and Sally were very hospitable and made us very welcome, with rock cakes and a cup of tea on arrival, yummy! Its in a very quiet secluded location - off the beaten track which was lovely, especially in the height of the holiday season (Aug). Our room (The Beech) was clean and nicely decorated. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugsvandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Me and my husband stayed alas only one night but loved every moment of it, the couple that run it couldnt have been more plesant and helpful. The room was amazing, (we had the ash) possibly the largest one they had, we had a wonderful sleep, a very large breakfast, ( I piled it on myself) which was delightful. The room had plenty of coat hangers and a very large bath. Very Very clean, I loved the entrance that you simply walked to your room off the veranda and I think its absoultly wonderful. All I can say is I will never foget the experience and will be back as soon as I have the excuse. Thank you for the experience x

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at Rowan Barn for three nights in The Oak room. I couldn't fault the appearance, cleanliness and services provided by Sally & Huw, who were most helpful regarding the area and local attractions.

It was extremely close to St Ives & Penzance and other little towns that I wanted to visit.

The only downside I could mention is that a little fridge in the room would be good rather than sharing the communal fridge in the dining room. However the atmosphere, chickens roaming & Jessie the dog all added to the experience.

A very tranquil place that I would love to return to.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyabram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had a wonderful three night stay at Rowan Barn and felt it was the best B&B we had ever stayed in. Just outside Hayle and a 20 minute drive into St Ives, it is a tranquil and picturesque environment with friendly and helpful hosts. Sally and Huw welcomed us warmly and we had an arrival complimentary coffee and cakes on the deck outside our room (the Ash.)

The room was large modern and very well appointed with that still new wood smell to the barn conversion, that made it feel like it was just for us somehow. Very light and practical bathroom and plenty of space to relax. The bed was lovely and comfortable and towels and linens were soft and spotlessly clean, with fresh towels each morning as required.

Added extras in the room were the tasty cookies with the tea tray and fresh milk available in a fridge in the kitchen breakfast room next door. We were also offered the use of the fridge for beer or wine in the evening and there was space both in the lounge area of the breakfast room and on the decking outside to enjoy a warm summer evening drink.
With their own hens and pigs on site, the breakfast was deliciously fresh and tasty. Huw's own home-made bacon and sausages were cooked just how you like them and there were cereals, fruit and lots of toast with local or home-made jams and marmalades.

Huw and Sally gave us some helpful tips for days out and provided a kind but not intrusive atmosphere that I have found lacking in some high rated and highly charged hotels. As the title of my review says, I can't give any higher praise for such a wonderful stay in the Cornish countryside.

The only slight downside is the location, either because it is hard to find or because of the track that the property is accessed from. Our car had very low clearance and struggled to navigate the stony, bumpy and quite narrow path. The car suffered no ill affects when driving cautiously, but there is a reason we saw so many locals in land rovers.

Fantastic stay and have already recommended to various friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellifer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berks
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed at the Rowan barn for 1 night for our anniversary, we were met on arrival by Sally the owner who very kindly made us a pot of tea, we sat in the main barn where the dinning tables were and then walked across to our room in the main house, the room was very clean, tidy, with pine furniture and plenty of towels, TV, tea making facillites and a lovely bathroom, we had a key so could come and go as we liked. It was down a little stoney alley so without the tom tom we might have struggled to find it but it was so quiet and peaceful with only the birds singing in the morning. The Breakfasts were fantastic, we had 3 rounds of toast, full english and plenty of pots of tea, I would highly recommend this B&B if you want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaspertoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This place is well worth checking out. Superb location with the a first class breakfast that you will get anywhere in Hayle....All the ingredients are either homemade or locally sourced Fab....

Room Tip: Worth Staying in any room just for the excellent quallity of the breakfasts ....book now
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wills01662111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hayle hotels
2.1 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in St Erth
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
676 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bostrase Bed & Breakfast
4.0 mi away
Sandbank House
Sandbank House
#2 of 15 in Hayle
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Calloose Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Barn

Property: Rowan Barn
Address: Rowan Barn Bosworgy Road, Hayle TR27 6ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowan Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rowan Barn Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing