We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem at the end of a Cornish lane.”
Review of Rowan Barn

Rowan Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowan Barn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at Rowan Barn for three nights in The Oak room. I couldn't fault the appearance, cleanliness and services provided by Sally & Huw, who were most helpful regarding the area and local attractions.

It was extremely close to St Ives & Penzance and other little towns that I wanted to visit.

The only downside I could mention is that a little fridge in the room would be good rather than sharing the communal fridge in the dining room. However the atmosphere, chickens roaming & Jessie the dog all added to the experience.

A very tranquil place that I would love to return to.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyabram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Rowan Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had a wonderful three night stay at Rowan Barn and felt it was the best B&B we had ever stayed in. Just outside Hayle and a 20 minute drive into St Ives, it is a tranquil and picturesque environment with friendly and helpful hosts. Sally and Huw welcomed us warmly and we had an arrival complimentary coffee and cakes on the deck outside our room (the Ash.)

The room was large modern and very well appointed with that still new wood smell to the barn conversion, that made it feel like it was just for us somehow. Very light and practical bathroom and plenty of space to relax. The bed was lovely and comfortable and towels and linens were soft and spotlessly clean, with fresh towels each morning as required.

Added extras in the room were the tasty cookies with the tea tray and fresh milk available in a fridge in the kitchen breakfast room next door. We were also offered the use of the fridge for beer or wine in the evening and there was space both in the lounge area of the breakfast room and on the decking outside to enjoy a warm summer evening drink.
With their own hens and pigs on site, the breakfast was deliciously fresh and tasty. Huw's own home-made bacon and sausages were cooked just how you like them and there were cereals, fruit and lots of toast with local or home-made jams and marmalades.

Huw and Sally gave us some helpful tips for days out and provided a kind but not intrusive atmosphere that I have found lacking in some high rated and highly charged hotels. As the title of my review says, I can't give any higher praise for such a wonderful stay in the Cornish countryside.

The only slight downside is the location, either because it is hard to find or because of the track that the property is accessed from. Our car had very low clearance and struggled to navigate the stony, bumpy and quite narrow path. The car suffered no ill affects when driving cautiously, but there is a reason we saw so many locals in land rovers.

Fantastic stay and have already recommended to various friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellifer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed at the Rowan barn for 1 night for our anniversary, we were met on arrival by Sally the owner who very kindly made us a pot of tea, we sat in the main barn where the dinning tables were and then walked across to our room in the main house, the room was very clean, tidy, with pine furniture and plenty of towels, TV, tea making facillites and a lovely bathroom, we had a key so could come and go as we liked. It was down a little stoney alley so without the tom tom we might have struggled to find it but it was so quiet and peaceful with only the birds singing in the morning. The Breakfasts were fantastic, we had 3 rounds of toast, full english and plenty of pots of tea, I would highly recommend this B&B if you want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaspertoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This place is well worth checking out. Superb location with the a first class breakfast that you will get anywhere in Hayle....All the ingredients are either homemade or locally sourced Fab....

Room Tip: Worth Staying in any room just for the excellent quallity of the breakfasts ....book now
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wills01662111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Please, Please consider staying at Rowan Barn if you are going to Cornwall for any reason. It is the Best Place I have ever stayed including 4 and 5 star Hotels. You will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed there 4 Nights with my boyfriend in "The ash room", this was by far the best B&B/Hotel I have ever stayed. We have really enjoyed staying there and I really hope I can come back one day and bring my family.
When we arrived, we had a delicious cream tea just made by sally (the owner) , Hugh (sally's hudband) showed us our room which was so nice,clean and confortable with a little space just for us outside the room.
The breakfast is a real feast with some cereals/milk/yogurt available followed by a cooked breakfast (choice of a full cornish/omelette/scrambled eggs, etc...) and toast with butter and jam (homemade!!).
The rowan barn is located in the beautifull cornish countryside but at the same time is a perfect base to visit cornwall (with a car). For example, it is 5/10 min from godrevy beach and 10 min from St Ives and Mount st Michael.
Hugh and Sally are the perfect host, taking care of their guests as best as they can and making efforts for their guests to enjoy their stay.
This is basically a luxurious place at an affordable price so do not hesitate book today!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephdemontpellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Excellent bed and breakfast accommodation run by Hugh and Sally who were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We arrived to a lovely cup of tea and some malt bread/cake and could not help but feel at home straight away. The B & B is set down the end of a country lane in beautiful countryside perfect for visiting Paradise Park which was a truly lovely day out. Breakfast at Rowan Barn was extremely tasty with lovely fresh ingredients and lots of choice. The only downside for us was that they were unable to cook an evening meal due to a family commitment as they were going out that evening and the pub restaurant (The Smugglers) they recommended was even more rundown inside (vandalised slashed seats/broken windows) than it was outside. Unfortunately we had no choice but to eat there as we were in the middle of the countryside on a foggy evening and did not know where else to go. The food was hit and miss at The Smugglers with the main course being lovely but the dessert not even edible, however the staff were very friendly.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank mrsmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hayle hotels
2.1 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in St Erth
60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bostrase Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sandbank House
Sandbank House
#2 of 15 in Hayle
83 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
711 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Barn

Address: Rowan Barn Bosworgy Road, Hayle TR27 6ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowan Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rowan Barn Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing