We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location”
Review of The Penellen Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Penellen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ellesmere shropshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This was our third visit to the Penellen and most assuredly not the last. The bedrooms and all public areas are always spotlessly clean and the hotel is very tastefully decorated, the walls being adorned with work by local artists is a wonderful touch, which encouraged us to seek out some excellent galleries. The breakfast is the best 'English' I have had for a long time and nothing is too much trouble. This hotel is in a perfect position to explore the enormous neverending beach, you can walk for miles on the beautiful dunes and sands and the panoramic views of the bay and lighthouse are priceless, What a spot!!!! My daughter especially loves the wifi (which obviously she would expire without!!!).We have had no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our family and friends

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suenshazmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
112
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Your hospitality was second to none ...... whoever made this a 4 star needs to learn to count .....this is definately a 5 star hotel ...... thankyou Barbara and Paul for making our break so special. Have no hesitation in recommending The Penellen ...... ideal for visiting St Ives.

See you again soon

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poopants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Barbara was extremly friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble for her. The penellen is a beautiful clean and extemly well kept property. Will recommend to all of our friends and family, Can not wait to go back agan.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Stunning sea views. 2 minute walk onto the beach.
All mod cons, extremely clean, tastfully decorated bedroom, with en-suite.
Very relaxing stay. Quiet, but friendly. Was a very enjoyable few days break. Would recommend this B&B hotel to anyone. Excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Went to the Penellen on a recommendation now I will be recommending it to all my friends. Fantastic location, service and value. PERFECT. Will definately be coming back soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
2.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.8 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
237 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penellen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penellen Hotel

Property: The Penellen Hotel
Address: 64 Riviere Towans | St Ives Bay, Phillack, Hayle TR27 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penellen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penellen B&B is in a truly stunning location. We are just yards from the beach of St Ives Bay and there are magnificent views of the sea and beach from all of the bedrooms.There is nothing in front of our gardens to obstruct our views of the sea. We have sun loungers, chairs and picnic tables so you can sit in the garden and take in those views overlooking St Ives Bay to St Ives itself. You are just minutes from the beach. If you go on holiday to the seaside you want to be by the seaside, which is exactly what you do at The Penellen.All of our guest bedrooms are ensuite. There is complimentary tea, coffee and bottled water for our guests and we have a fridge on the first floor landing that can be used by all our guests. We have double rooms, twin rooms and family rooms at The Penellen.All of the bedrooms at The Penellen have balconies or Juliet balconies for you to maximise on those stunning views over the sea to St Ives, we also have FREE parking and FREE wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Penellen Hotel Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing