We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Just Wonderful"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Penellen Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Penellen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“"Just Wonderful"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and i was looking for a quiet comfortable short break and came across the penellen, We were not dissapointed Barbara greeted us with a friendly smile and imediately we felt relaxed and welcomed, The hotel is spotless throughout and the breakfasts are cooked to order and are first class, The views from the hotel Priceless!!!!!!!!!!!! , Recommend both the Bucket of Blood and the watermill for food and very friendly atmospheres, Will be back Barbara Will Give You Notice(Ha Ha) . Mike & Sandra Kelly (Swindon)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
111
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thank you very much for the wonderful, highly recommdable stay in your House (Home). We had great days at your location, wonderful breakfast , very nice walks at the beach and a very quite environment. Everything was fine and clean. Barbara and Paul are very nice and helpful persons.

Angela & Bert

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a pleasant hotel. Could not fault it at all. Excellent position, beautiful and clean bedroom (Room 4) with a balcony which opened to a view of the beach (wonderful to wake in a morning to the sound of the sea). A lovely little garden to sit in, delicious breakfasts......... and our host Barbara was a treasure, nothing was too much trouble and she had lots of information about the area.
We would definately go back there and would recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely and other guests reported the same of theirs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The location of this hotel is breathtaking - just a few metres down to the beach. The hotel excellent and the breakfasts are very good. Parking is easy and the service was fabulous - Barbara is just a lovely person and nothing was too much trouble! Really recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Room was very cosy (small) but beautifully decorated. Great breakfasts and wonderful views of the beach from our room. Barbara was very helpful about where to visit and told where to gt the park and ride into St Ives. (Parking is impossible in the town itself) Very pleased with our stay. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaniereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellesmere shropshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Well, once again I have returned to the Penellen, this time for four nights. Sometimes when you return again and again to the same place you see standards begin to slip, however, it's great to see the opposite with this hotel. As ever, I was overwhelmed by the courtesy and friendliness of the owners, nothing is too much trouble. This hotel is spotless and our room was fabulous!!! A Juliet balcony had been installed in the room (4) and with the humid and muggy weather we've been having recently, it was amazing to be able to leave the doors open and feel the fresh sea air while you drift off to sleep. The breakfast here will definitely set you up for the day. I really enjoy coming back here and certainly recommend giving it a try, it's very good value for money and I look forward to returning again soon. Well done Penellen please keep it up!!!!

Room Tip: Pick room 4, the Juliet balcony is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suenshazmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

It was just by fluk that we got to stay in the Penellen, What a glorious stay we had for 3 nights, veiws are spectacular, Barbara & Paul are really friendly and helpful, room was of a very high standard and cleaned daily, all relevant information was to hand, the breakfast was also plentiful and presented very well, dining area was nice and airy, a very much enjoyed break by husband and I, keep it up Barbara & Paul we most definently be back. From Janet & Alan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penellen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penellen Hotel

Property: The Penellen Hotel
Address: 64 Riviere Towans | St Ives Bay, Phillack, Hayle TR27 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penellen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penellen B&B is in a truly stunning location. We are just yards from the beach of St Ives Bay and there are magnificent views of the sea and beach from all of the bedrooms.There is nothing in front of our gardens to obstruct our views of the sea. We have sun loungers, chairs and picnic tables so you can sit in the garden and take in those views overlooking St Ives Bay to St Ives itself. You are just minutes from the beach. If you go on holiday to the seaside you want to be by the seaside, which is exactly what you do at The Penellen.All of our guest bedrooms are ensuite. There is complimentary tea, coffee and bottled water for our guests and we have a fridge on the first floor landing that can be used by all our guests. We have double rooms, twin rooms and family rooms at The Penellen.All of the bedrooms at The Penellen have balconies or Juliet balconies for you to maximise on those stunning views over the sea to St Ives, we also have FREE parking and FREE wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Penellen Hotel Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing