We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD AGAIN”
Review of The Penellen Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Penellen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is second time I have stayed at the Penellen and once again I can't fault the place. The room had a fantastic seaview, was very clean and comfortable. A warm welcome from Barbara. My colleague was very impressed and has said that this is a place he would return to with Wife as a holiday break. Once again a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 201 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2011

I stayed at the Penellen for eight nights and found a charming setting a 1 minute walk from the gorgeous beach it overlooks. The host and hostess are warm and helpful people, very flexible, and a wealth of advice and direction to all that local and historic Cornwall has to offer. The accommodation is of very high quality, and breakfasts and in- room amenities are comprehensive and always enjoyable. I have travelled all over the world and found it very unusual to enjoy a hotel like the Penellen, that invites me not to leave, and if I must, then to soon return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterhill_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Once again, all our expectations were exceeded!! We returned to the Penellen for an half term break with our teenage daughter. What can you say, as usual, Barbara and Paul went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The dining room has been refurbished which has given it a wonderful contemporary feel. The food was as delicious as ever. We will definitely be returning, once again, at the first opportunity. You just can't beat the atmosphere, the views, the food or the hosts. Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suenshazmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I used the hotel for an overnight stay whilst on business. I look for a clean, well looked after hotel that does Bed & Breakfast. The Penellen is the cleanest hotel I have stayed in by far. I recieved a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The views from the room was fantastic and the beach is no more than 100 yards from the hotel. I would strongly recommend the Penellen to anyone. The pub down the road, The Bucket of Blood, serves good bar food and is excellent value. Once again EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed here for a few days getaway and it was ideal. Excellent views of St.Ives Bay, good friendly atmosphere, breakfast good and plentiful, rooms were clean and modern. Next time I am in the area, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

So jealous of all you people staying at this hotel its a fantastic place cant wait to go back again, The veiw is second to none whether its spring summer autumn or winter you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesuecash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

From the time we arrived, (my Mum and myself) on the 23rd August 2010, we had a lovely warm, friendly welcome from Barbara, our room was beautiful and clean, lovely sea view, en-suite.very quiet, everything was exactly as it said, the Beach is very close, very clean and the sea is in most of the time, it doesn't go right out.
The Bucket of Blood Pub is just down the road, it is walkable but not for the elderly (depending on their abilities of course).
All in all it is the best holiday we have had and we will definatley be going there again hopefully in April.
There was no negatives all 100%+++ positives

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
767 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Old Quay House
The Old Quay House
#4 of 15 in Hayle
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
27 The Terrace
27 The Terrace
#10 of 102 in St Ives
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penellen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penellen Hotel

Address: 64 Riviere Towans | St Ives Bay, Phillack, Hayle TR27 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range: $96 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penellen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penellen B&B is in a truly stunning location. We are just yards from the beach of St Ives Bay and there are magnificent views of the sea and beach from all of the bedrooms.There is nothing in front of our gardens to obstruct our views of the sea. We have sun loungers, chairs and picnic tables so you can sit in the garden and take in those views overlooking St Ives Bay to St Ives itself. You are just minutes from the beach. If you go on holiday to the seaside you want to be by the seaside, which is exactly what you do at The Penellen.All of our guest bedrooms are ensuite. There is complimentary tea, coffee and bottled water for our guests and we have a fridge on the first floor landing that can be used by all our guests. We have double rooms, twin rooms and family rooms at The Penellen.All of the bedrooms at The Penellen have balconies or Juliet balconies for you to maximise on those stunning views over the sea to St Ives, we also have FREE parking and FREE wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Penellen Hotel Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing