We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little family holiday park.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little family holiday park.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely caravan and the site is really near to lots of fun things to do and see. The park has good facilities and the entertainment is great for kids. We went on a sun deal and you really can't knock it. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Finnermore,
Thank you so much for leaving your fantastic feedback and we are pleased that you found your stay with us great value for money. We are also glad you found your accommodation lovely and that your children enjoyed the entertainment. We also believe our park is ideally located in a perfect spot for easy access to local amenities and sight-seeing. Thank you once again for leaving your feedback and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Riviere Sands very soon.

Kind Regards
Megan Palmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    299
    111
    34
    30
See reviews for
583
139
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked this holiday back in May through the 'sun holidays' scheme. After looking on the website (not very user-friendly with a thousand different tabs for everything) along with a few others I rang up the site to inquire whether they allowed dogs and if there was a charge. I was told yes at a £20 per dog charge, so went ahead and booked it for the end of September. I sent a further two emails to them, one to take off the linen and entertainment pass charges and add the dog, and one to change the address which was on the confirmation letter. I had no further contact from them, except for another confirmation letter, in which the charges were indeed taken off and the address was changed.
We arrived last Friday, got the keys, went to the caravan and were then approached by security who told us there were no dogs allowed on site. We thought this was a joke until we realised they were deadly serious. We went back to reception, who confirmed, and after telling them about the phone conversation etc, were told 'they tried to get in touch by phone but couldn't get through'. Rubbish! They had my email, home address and phone number, so in six months they seemed to think it was acceptable not to use these in order to contact us and let us know until we had drove for over six hours to get to site!
After complaining and more accusing on their part that it was our fault, they transferred us to the perranporth site which was half an hour extra north in the direction we had already came from. An extra hours journey than we needed. And on top of that we were told we had to pay the £20 extra charge for the dog. We were not offered any kind of consolation and just sent on our way. Absolutely disgusted to be treated like this from such a big company and do not expect such shoddy organisation. Pure laziness on their part. Will be putting in a formal complaint as it put a complete dampener on our weekend, in a place that we had not planned a holiday to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steffanie_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Steffanie_14

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sorry that Riviere sands being a pet free site, was not made clear to you. I am aware we are dealing with this personally and look forward to speaking to you. Thank you once again for leaving your feedback

Kind regards
Megan Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We used one of the Sun Holiday offers so wasn't expecting to much. But what a nice surprise the site turned out to be. We had already upgraded to include entertainment tickets and we only used them for the evening. The site is very clean, the local shop stocked the basics but only down the road are a few full size supermarkets to use. Only 2 small negatives, the caravan had been cleaned but there was a strong smell of someone had been smoking which hung around all the time we was there and the path to the beach which could do with a direction sign otherwise it's hidden between 2 sonting caravans. Overal, 10 / 10 for the site, staff, helpfullness and 8/10 for the caravan due to the smell of smokers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Ian B,
First let me say thank you for leaving such fantastic feedback and we are glad that Riviere Sands turned out to be such a nice surprise for you. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and maintenance of our park and we are often seen out doing regular litter picks to keep it up to standards. We do ask our guests not to smoke in our accommodation and would have gladly sent our housekeeping team to your caravan to rectify the situation had it been reported. I have passed on your feedback regarding the signs to the beach, to the management staff, who will look into this for the future. We are so pleased you have awarded us a 10/10 and would like to once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Megan Palmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from Riviere Sands staying Friday-Monday with family. We booked through Sun promotion and decided to upgrdae to luxury plus.

Arrived on park around 1pm, received a warm welcome from the staff on reception. We were given the keys although advised the caravan was not ready and that they would give us a call when it was.

Whilst we were waiting we decided to go & do some food shopping in the Tesco store about 8 miles away. Rception then phoned to say the caravan was ready so we headed back. We were given the keys to a basic caravan which did not feel like anything more special than what you would get if you decided not to upgrade to luxury plus. We went back to reception and explained that we had expected more having upgrdaded to luxury plus. Firstly we were told there was nothing elese available but then given the keys to another caravan. This was much better and felt like an upgrade. Clean caravan with general wear & tear but alot more spacious and modern than the first one.

The park itself is quite small and it feels like Haven have tried to squeeze as much caravans into the park as possible. The views and beach are amazing and the parks best feature.

Facilities are poor. They have a nice new modern cafe but thats about it. Pool & entertainment club very small, can't comment on entertainment in the evening as didn't use this.

The Bluff Inn pub is a short walk away and has gorgeous views but the food is very average and the place itself needs a major facelift.

St Ives, Newquay and Truro all close to the park and worth a visit.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay but would not return to this park.

If your thinking of going to this part of Cornwall i would stay at PERRAN SANDS. This park is one of the best around.

Room Tip: Choose Perran Sands
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ads186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Ads186460
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
I’m sorry you felt the first caravan you were allocated was not to your expectations, I am glad however that we were able to rectify this for you. Here at Riviere sands we are known to be the smaller park and are ideal to use as a base. I’m sorry you felt the facilities were poor. Our coast cafe was new last year and swimming pool year before that. The bluff inn will be on the cards for a refurb in the near future. Due to the size of the park we don’t need anything bigger than what we have so the sizing will stay the same but I will pass on all your comments to the relevant managers for any future improvements.
Once again let me thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback

Kind regards
Megan Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a disastrous holiday in 2011 at Perran Sands we vowed never to return to Haven Holidays. Over the years We have holidayed with haven 10-20 times.
My in laws booked a 3 bed prestige at Riviere Sands 14-21 Sept and invited us, as it was a better site in my opinion and our in laws were paying we went with them.
The reception staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful and had given us a free upgrade.
The chip shop is good and run by Cooks of St Ives.
The Bluff Inn staff were very nice and helpful and the food was good pub food. We ate in the Bluff inn for breakfast which was a Cornish big breakfast consisting of 2 sausages, 2 bacon, mushrooms, grilled tomato, hash brown, fried or scrambled egg, white or granary toast, baked beans and unlimited tea or coffee for £6.95. My daughter had a 5 item breakfast for £2.95 and they do a child breakfast for £2.95. We also ate in the evening which again was good pub food and good value as we ate when they do an early bird offer between 3-5pm 25% off main meals.
The facilities in the complex are good. Small swimming pool but adequate. Drinks in the Live lounge club are reasonable up to what I expected. Pint of Carlsberg £3.40. There are 2 arcades in the complex with a mix of machines. I was disappointed that you have to pay for crazy golf £3 each and weren't given a pencil or score card, I can understand taking a deposit for golf clubs (which they don't do) but to charge for something that runs itself seems a bit cheeky. Go carts were £8 for a 2 seater for an hour but there wasn't really anywhere to go on it. Entertainment was not as good as I expected but the live lounge was virtually empty. The entertainment staff are OK at what they do but I just expected better.We didn't go out every night but my little one wanted to see a magic show but I couldn't see one on the programme. My daughter loves the Haven characters and this is one of the main reasons we went but there doesn't seem to be any personal touch any more because the characters come out and someone presses play on a pre-recorded CD and they just mime to it, there's no room for adlibbing or funny mistakes which make the show more personal. There's NO cash bingo as they don't have the licence. There's a well stocked Spar shop. I would return to Riviere Sands as on the whole it is a great haven site and it's well maintained and clean throughout, close to surfing beaches so fab as a base and good enough for all our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARISSALILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi charissalill
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments from our guests. I’m sorry to hear you had a disastrous holiday at our sister site Perran sands, but am happy we managed to restore your faith in Haven. It’s excellent to hear you found the reception team welcoming and helpful and it’s also excellent to hear you had a free upgrade. I’m glad you found the bluff inn served good food and it was good value for money, there are some great deals that the offer down there. I will make sure to pass on your comments regarding the crazy golf, a pencil and scorecard should have been provided so I will chase this up with the team to make sure this is being done. The fun stars always try their best with the evening entertainment and always put 100% into everything they do, as you noticed the evenings are not very busy at the moment which can affect the atmosphere of the crowd. Our character shows have always been the same Bradley, Rory, Anxious, Greedy, Ned and Polly also always put 100% into there shows, but I will pass on all your comments regarding the evening entertainment to them all including the manager.
Let me once again thank you for leaving your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Riviere Sands in the near future.

Kind regards
Megan Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Our caravan was a deluxe plus and was clean adequately spacious. 4 mins walk from one of the most beautiful beaches in the uk. Mediocre holiday park evening entertainment, but activities and pool was brilliant and theres so much to do and see within 1 hours drive of the resort, such as the eden project and lands end and the many great beaches and national parks. Already planning an upgrade for next years trip...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Ryan D
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback! It’s great to hear you had an excellent holiday and managed to experience all that Cornwall has to offer. I will pass on your comments to the sports and leisure team; they always love to hear that there doing a great job. It’s brilliant to see that your looking to come back to us, we love our returning guests, do make sure to give us a call here on park, before your arrival to put any special requests on your booking. We look forward to welcoming you in the New Year
Kind regards

Megan palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked completely last minute and received an excellent deal by booking online. We were upgraded and they let us check in early. Team were welcoming and the view was ok from where we are. I would say ask about views when booking, we were opposite the spar but you could just about see the sea. Cleaning left a little to be desired but accomodation was more than adequate. Pool very handy for little ones and our 1 year old loved the tots time at 6pm he had a good dance and it wore him out. Overall lovely family location but watch out steps to beach! Thats the only downside really. On site chip shop and pub just down rhw road.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi LouiseFrost
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. Last minute deals are always a good little bargain. I’m glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all the park has to offer, in future when you book you can always give us a call directly on park and request specific area, although we cannot guarantee this, we do try are best to get you in your preferred location. I’m sorry that the cleanliness of the caravan wasn’t 100% if you had come to us regarding this matter we would of been more than happy to get this rectified for you. Once again let me thank you for leaving your feedback we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards

Megan Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
2.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
97 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
16.6 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Riviere Towans, Hayle TR27 5AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Also Known As:
Riviere Sands Holiday Park Hotel Hayle
Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing