We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sun holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from Riviere Sands staying Friday-Monday with family. We booked through Sun promotion and decided to upgrdae to luxury plus.

Arrived on park around 1pm, received a warm welcome from the staff on reception. We were given the keys although advised the caravan was not ready and that they would give us a call when it was.

Whilst we were waiting we decided to go & do some food shopping in the Tesco store about 8 miles away. Rception then phoned to say the caravan was ready so we headed back. We were given the keys to a basic caravan which did not feel like anything more special than what you would get if you decided not to upgrade to luxury plus. We went back to reception and explained that we had expected more having upgrdaded to luxury plus. Firstly we were told there was nothing elese available but then given the keys to another caravan. This was much better and felt like an upgrade. Clean caravan with general wear & tear but alot more spacious and modern than the first one.

The park itself is quite small and it feels like Haven have tried to squeeze as much caravans into the park as possible. The views and beach are amazing and the parks best feature.

Facilities are poor. They have a nice new modern cafe but thats about it. Pool & entertainment club very small, can't comment on entertainment in the evening as didn't use this.

The Bluff Inn pub is a short walk away and has gorgeous views but the food is very average and the place itself needs a major facelift.

St Ives, Newquay and Truro all close to the park and worth a visit.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay but would not return to this park.

If your thinking of going to this part of Cornwall i would stay at PERRAN SANDS. This park is one of the best around.

Room Tip: Choose Perran Sands
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ads186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Ads186460
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
I’m sorry you felt the first caravan you were allocated was not to your expectations, I am glad however that we were able to rectify this for you. Here at Riviere sands we are known to be the smaller park and are ideal to use as a base. I’m sorry you felt the facilities were poor. Our coast cafe was new last year and swimming pool year before that. The bluff inn will be on the cards for a refurb in the near future. Due to the size of the park we don’t need anything bigger than what we have so the sizing will stay the same but I will pass on all your comments to the relevant managers for any future improvements.
Once again let me thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback

Kind regards
Megan Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    284
    107
    34
    30
See reviews for
540
129
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a disastrous holiday in 2011 at Perran Sands we vowed never to return to Haven Holidays. Over the years We have holidayed with haven 10-20 times.
My in laws booked a 3 bed prestige at Riviere Sands 14-21 Sept and invited us, as it was a better site in my opinion and our in laws were paying we went with them.
The reception staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful and had given us a free upgrade.
The chip shop is good and run by Cooks of St Ives.
The Bluff Inn staff were very nice and helpful and the food was good pub food. We ate in the Bluff inn for breakfast which was a Cornish big breakfast consisting of 2 sausages, 2 bacon, mushrooms, grilled tomato, hash brown, fried or scrambled egg, white or granary toast, baked beans and unlimited tea or coffee for £6.95. My daughter had a 5 item breakfast for £2.95 and they do a child breakfast for £2.95. We also ate in the evening which again was good pub food and good value as we ate when they do an early bird offer between 3-5pm 25% off main meals.
The facilities in the complex are good. Small swimming pool but adequate. Drinks in the Live lounge club are reasonable up to what I expected. Pint of Carlsberg £3.40. There are 2 arcades in the complex with a mix of machines. I was disappointed that you have to pay for crazy golf £3 each and weren't given a pencil or score card, I can understand taking a deposit for golf clubs (which they don't do) but to charge for something that runs itself seems a bit cheeky. Go carts were £8 for a 2 seater for an hour but there wasn't really anywhere to go on it. Entertainment was not as good as I expected but the live lounge was virtually empty. The entertainment staff are OK at what they do but I just expected better.We didn't go out every night but my little one wanted to see a magic show but I couldn't see one on the programme. My daughter loves the Haven characters and this is one of the main reasons we went but there doesn't seem to be any personal touch any more because the characters come out and someone presses play on a pre-recorded CD and they just mime to it, there's no room for adlibbing or funny mistakes which make the show more personal. There's NO cash bingo as they don't have the licence. There's a well stocked Spar shop. I would return to Riviere Sands as on the whole it is a great haven site and it's well maintained and clean throughout, close to surfing beaches so fab as a base and good enough for all our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARISSALILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi charissalill
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments from our guests. I’m sorry to hear you had a disastrous holiday at our sister site Perran sands, but am happy we managed to restore your faith in Haven. It’s excellent to hear you found the reception team welcoming and helpful and it’s also excellent to hear you had a free upgrade. I’m glad you found the bluff inn served good food and it was good value for money, there are some great deals that the offer down there. I will make sure to pass on your comments regarding the crazy golf, a pencil and scorecard should have been provided so I will chase this up with the team to make sure this is being done. The fun stars always try their best with the evening entertainment and always put 100% into everything they do, as you noticed the evenings are not very busy at the moment which can affect the atmosphere of the crowd. Our character shows have always been the same Bradley, Rory, Anxious, Greedy, Ned and Polly also always put 100% into there shows, but I will pass on all your comments regarding the evening entertainment to them all including the manager.
Let me once again thank you for leaving your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Riviere Sands in the near future.

Kind regards
Megan Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Our caravan was a deluxe plus and was clean adequately spacious. 4 mins walk from one of the most beautiful beaches in the uk. Mediocre holiday park evening entertainment, but activities and pool was brilliant and theres so much to do and see within 1 hours drive of the resort, such as the eden project and lands end and the many great beaches and national parks. Already planning an upgrade for next years trip...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Ryan D
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback! It’s great to hear you had an excellent holiday and managed to experience all that Cornwall has to offer. I will pass on your comments to the sports and leisure team; they always love to hear that there doing a great job. It’s brilliant to see that your looking to come back to us, we love our returning guests, do make sure to give us a call here on park, before your arrival to put any special requests on your booking. We look forward to welcoming you in the New Year
Kind regards

Megan palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked completely last minute and received an excellent deal by booking online. We were upgraded and they let us check in early. Team were welcoming and the view was ok from where we are. I would say ask about views when booking, we were opposite the spar but you could just about see the sea. Cleaning left a little to be desired but accomodation was more than adequate. Pool very handy for little ones and our 1 year old loved the tots time at 6pm he had a good dance and it wore him out. Overall lovely family location but watch out steps to beach! Thats the only downside really. On site chip shop and pub just down rhw road.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi LouiseFrost
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. Last minute deals are always a good little bargain. I’m glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all the park has to offer, in future when you book you can always give us a call directly on park and request specific area, although we cannot guarantee this, we do try are best to get you in your preferred location. I’m sorry that the cleanliness of the caravan wasn’t 100% if you had come to us regarding this matter we would of been more than happy to get this rectified for you. Once again let me thank you for leaving your feedback we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards

Megan Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hello. I have been coming to Riviera sands all my life at least every year or even 3 times a year!!
We have gotten to know all who work there over the years & we have a lot of friends who work there or who have worked there. It is such a lovely camp site. It isn't so big you'll get lost around but it isn't tiny. There are gorgeous sand dunes over looking the sea. There is even a path that leads you down to Hayle beach. I would really recommend people to come & stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily_D1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
hi EmilyD1990
First let me say thank you for leaving such fantastic feedback and we are so glad that you have returned to us so many times throughout the years. The team here at Riviere Sands are pleased to make so many friends throughout the seasons and feel privileged to welcome them back each year. We also believe we are situated in one of the most beautiful places in Cornwall and our access to the three miles of sandy beach is a wonderful asset to our park. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Riviere Sands very soon.

King Regards
Megan Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked a caravan holiday last year near Newquay in another holiday park (not to be mentioned) and had the oldest, coldest, smallest caravan and probably most basic entertainment that could be afforded at the end of peak season and left us worried as to where to book for this year.

We came across a GREAT deal in January for this holiday park, read some good reviews and thought we would go for it.

We spent the extra in upgrading to the Prestige caravan and were OVER impressed with the quality and the size of it. it had everything we needed and i even managed to cook up a full sunday dinner. You have to keep in mind that it is a caravan holiday that gets used week in week out by families and to be honest, keeping up the caravans as well as they do, I think they do a great job.

We have a 23 month old daughter and my cousin (also with a 20 month old) booked a caravan the same week, when we arrived they had already put 2&2 together and put us right next to each other on the same section of the park. this made our holiday so much easier.

Considering the week we went was the end of the peak season, the entertainment put on was fantastic, the guys never ceased to be as entertaining as possible, even if the room was more than half empty at some points, they really got both kids and adults involved which for us was quite important.

The beach was literally a 3-4 minute walk, the beach was perfect with white sand and a short gradient long beach. perfect for the kids. you can take the route by the entrance to the beach which makes it an 8-10 minute walk with steps to the beach, wouldn't really recommend a pushchair though, not really suitable either way you go. especially from the top of the park.

The Bluff Inn is quite a cool little pub. It's more of a pub than a restaurant and serves great "pub grub" at a very reasonable price. has TV showing sports and an arcade too. great big garden with kids climbing frame overlooking the beach and sea.

The pool was great, not massive but better than expected, it goes from inside to outside and is fully heated. perfect for the nippers.

It really is a great getaway, with short drives to local towns and harbor villages i couldn't really recommend anywhere else that's in this area to go if I'm honest.

only negative would be that there is 1 laundry room which only has 1 iron in. you don't get them to the vans, which i guess is a health and safety policy, it wasn't a trouble as we managed to borrow one but either iron before you go or bring one with you.

We will definitely be booking again for next year and cant wait to go again!

Room Tip: Prestige Caravans are worth the extra upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Russell G
First let me say thank you so much for leaving such fantastic comments and are glad you had such a great deal to be able to come and stay with us here at Riviere Sands.
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and quality of our caravans and go out of our way to ensure our guests are comfortable throughout their stay. We always try to place families and friends as close together as we can and when requested we always do our best to accommodate this.
Whether it be nearing the end of the season or bang in the middle of peak our entertainments team always put a 100% into every show and will always get everyone involved whether it is a small crowd or a full house and we are so glad you enjoyed it that we have passed on your praise to the entertainments manager.
Based in a beautiful part of Cornwall we are blessed with three miles of golden beaches and we are allocated in a perfect location for access to them. We do state in our brochure that our access to the beach is through the sand dunes but we do have four ways to get there and explain these different paths to our guests on arrival.
We are also pleased you enjoyed your time at the Bluff Inn and that you found everything to be reasonably priced and with views overlooking St Ives bay it is a lovely place to enjoy a nice meal.
I have passed on your comments to all the relevant management and they would like to thank you for your praise of our park.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Riviere Sands very soon.

Kind Regards
Megan Palmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September 2013 on a Sun deal. We had paid for an upgrade due to an average caravan stay at a different park last year. When we arrived, we were given a caravan near the reception which meant we were close to the entertainment and pool and about a 5 minute walk from the beach. The caravans are really easy to find. We were shown exactly how to get there from reception, the map is very easy to navigate and the directions are on the back of the key ring. We had a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom caravan which was far more than what we needed but was good. The cleanliness was acceptable but could have been a little better. We took some disposable wipes with us and gave it a little clean before we settled in and it was fine. We imagine the cleaning staff have lots to contend with and so can only do so much. Despite not being right next to the sea, you can still hear this at night as well as the seagulls stomping along the top of the caravan in the morning and so if you are a light sleeper, you may want to take earplugs.

The pool was fairly warm and quite small and so trying to swim lengths was very difficult. We stayed right to the end of the session (the pool closes at 5:45pm) when most people had gone and it was lovely and quiet. One problem we had was that when I touched the side of the pool after swimming a length, I actually cut my finger on one of the sharp tiles. I have never had this before in any pool and so this was concerning. I told the lifeguard who did say he’d investigate immediately after the pool closed which we did see him do.

The evening entertainment was the usual holiday park fare. Lots of free alcohol to be won if you are the ‘happy table’ which means a lot of shouting, smiling and embarrassment! The singers were quite good and the Funstars very enthusiastic. In fact, all the staff were very friendly and worked hard. Drinks prices were reasonable. It was about £3.70 for a pint, £10 for a bottle of wine and £4.95 for a cocktail. We paid on debit card and there was no minimum spend required.

We tried the Bluff Inn for lunch and were impressed. It was reasonably priced and tasty. The décor probably needs a little bit of updating but otherwise, it was good.

We went to the beach on the day we arrived. It’s beautiful and golden with lovely clear waters. It is a bit of a steep descent/ ascent and so pushchairs and disabled access would be very awkward. On a lovely summer’s day, this would be a lovely place to be based.

Hayle itself is very quiet. It takes about 20 minutes to walk down into Hayle from the park but it’s not a very vibrant town. There was a great fish and chip restaurant we visited (Sanders), a bar that we heard lots of positive things about but didn’t visit (Salt), a great ice-cream parlour (Mr B’s) and a few other shops and banks with free cash points (the one at the park charges).

We really enjoyed our stay here. The accommodation was good, the staff very friendly and it was a good base for us to explore the Lizard, St Michael’s Mount and the Land’s End area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taliward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere Sands H, Front Office Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi taliward
First let me say thank you so much for leaving such fantastic feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear our guests have had a great time at our park. We are glad we could allocate your caravan in an area which was easily accessible to all our amenities and we find putting directions on the key rings makes it that little bit easier to navigate your way around our park. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our caravans and would have gladly come and rectified the situation for you had we been made aware.
Due to the size of our park we are only able to have a relatively small indoor and outdoor pool but feel with all the water activities and games it is perfect for families and adults alike.
We are sorry to hear that you cut your finger and have spoken to the relevant lifeguard on duty at the time and have made sure that the side of the pool had been made safe immediately.
I have passed on your comments regarding The Bluff and our evening entertainment to the management team and they have asked me to pass on their thanks to you for the praise.
We also believe that the park is situated in a beautiful part of the country and that Hayle has some amazing places to visit.
Thanks once again for leaving your feedback and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Riviere Sands very soon.

Kind regards
Megan Palmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
21.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
16.6 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
2.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Riviere Towans, Hayle TR27 5AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Also Known As:
Riviere Sands Holiday Park Hotel Hayle
Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing