We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, peaceful and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toms Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toms Holidays
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and myself are here as I type this review. We are both in our mid to late sixties and both have difficulty walking far due to osteoarthritis. Neither of us are what you would call 'fit', myself worse than my wife.

Firstly the chalet - C41 Windmills.......The views are amazing but slightly spoilt by the double glazing having smears on the inside (condensation got in?) but it never really spoilt anything.

The chalet easily sleeps six and is very spacious and very clean on arrival. The three piece was a nice change from the old and tired caravan seats we have been used to over the years even though it is a little dated and tired looking, it is comfortable.

Toms Holidays is a place I would highly recommend based on this chalet and the warm and pleasant welcome I received on getting the keys. I was given a nice pack of tourist information which was useful. It is a very clean site and beautifully quiet (but it is May 18th - 25th)

We tried walking to the Hayle Estuary Beach on the first day but have to admit we got as far as the cliffs and gave up the idea. I believe there is a easier walk to the beach through Toms site in the other direction and will try that later in the week.

Driving to St Ives is not difficult, parking for the day at Smeatons Pier Car Park, on Monday, meant we were at the end of the shops and no hill climbing back to the car as we experienced painfully on Sunday when we parked in Barnoon Car Park - painful walk down and painful walk back up!

We found finding our way out of St Ives a lot more difficult with the sat nav failing constantly to guide us (and others we saw struggling too)

If you want the modern shopping mall experience, then Cornwall is not the place for you. It is full of the smallest streets I have ever seen cars trying to drive through or we have walked through but some lovely little shops and plenty of pasty or cake shops if that it what you want amongst fantastic gift shops, varying massively in what they sell - from £1.99 mugs to £3,000 old guitars!

The art galleries are amazing and when we came here years ago, I always regretted not buying a print from the best maritime artist I have ever seen 'Donald MacLeod' and so I made sure I bought one this time. The man himself is a very friendly gent and was most welcoming. Also loved the paintings/prints by Hilary Mayes - check them both out at www.stivesgallery.co.uk

The weather not so nice, after a glorious weekend, so today we are off to Flambards for the exhibitions not the rides. Flambards do days with just the exhibitions open and days when the rides are also open.

For our 'shopping kick' we will most likely visit Truro later in the week.

I think it is best if you are prepared to drive around but there is a bus stop close by and a shop just along from the reception area near the haven site

Finally, the coin in the slot meter. This is something I was worried about having read a couple of reviews and can imagine with the weather being cold and using the electric heaters in the rooms for a family and the water heater, it could work out expensive but adding it to the price of the chalet would be impossible in my opinion. For two of us, we only need to heat one room and i reckon we will get by on a tenner for the week but must admit we brought our own Halogen heater as that is very cheap to run and at our ages, cutting the cost is a must.

Sorry if I have rambled on but wanted to give people a genuine all round view as seen by me.

Toms Holidays is highly recommended but remember, we can only judge that on our stay in C41 - Windmills. Hopefully we will come back when we can afford to

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66Del100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you found the property to be the site to be well kept and staff to give you a warm and friendly welcome. We try hard to give our visitors a happy holiday. We are negotiating with our owners to have all the meters in the properties removed by next season and in fact many have already removed them. Please see the filter option “ electricity included” when booking. We were also glad to hear that you would recommend Toms Holidays and look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    30
    10
    10
    9
See reviews for
91
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Still on a 2 week break in Jupiter C37 & Loving it - Chalet comfortable , clean and well equiped and in a quiet area of the park overlooking the stunning views to St Ives & Carabis Bay with Stunning Sunsets, the only objection is to the slot meter for the electricity think it should be included in the price but apart from that I think it is a totaly lovely unspoilt park great for all ages and spectacular beaches - nice to have a local the Bluff if you fancy a few drinks and food - overall have loved it and it is a great site for exploring the rest of Cornwall - dont miss going to The Lizard and Polpeor Cafe there - service is second to none, food amazing and views to die for, Minack Theatre is a must to while your down here well worth the visit .
Would not be looking forward to going home but I have a beautiful new Grandaughter - Bella to go & meet - that will soften the blow for sure.
Have a great Holiday all

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Great to hear you are enjoyed your holiday and thank you for taking time to write your review. We are also pleased to hear that you found the property to be well equipped comfortable and clean. Your comments are interesting as we, at Toms Holidays, are hoping to work with our owners to have the electricity meters removed from properties. We feel they are an unnecessary inconvenience and hope to have the majority removed by next season. We do have some properties on site which have already taken this step. A18, B41, D59, F75 and hopefully others will follow. Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again to Toms Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Tom's Holidays having rented a superb self catering chalet that was perfect in every way for a family with two toddlers. Tom's Holidays is run by a friendly family that really does care and provide personal service. Our chalet was immaculate, clean and so beautifully decorated with stunning sea views all enjoyed from the minute you wake up and look out of your windows. Having everything on one-level and open-plan living made holidaying with toddlers so enjoyable. A wide expanse of pristine sandy beaches with clean calm turquoise waters where you are kept safe with life-guards, is just a short stroll away from your chalet. Tom's Holidays is set away from the madding crowds, so it's peaceful and calm, yet just a short drive to the fun and bustling town of St Ives and other local attractions in West Cornwall. We usually enjoy beaches abroad in warmer climates and this was our first "beach holiday" in the UK, and it did not disappoint! Thanks for a great holiday! We will be back again soon.

  • Liked — Amazing location, a chalet that was perfect in every way for a family with toddlers and stunning views.
  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyandRelaxed46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed as a party of 4 adults and 2 dogs in A19, Eatondale. The chalet was clean and comfortable with great views of the Hayle Estuary and St Ives across the water, it has 3 bedrooms and would sleep 6 but the rooms are small so I would not want to fill it to capacity.The site itself is low key, don't expect facilities beyond a couple of sandpits/ swings, recycling bins and parking. Come for the great beach and peace and quiet and you won't be disappointed.Tom's Holidays manage a lot of the chalets which are privately owned and unique, our experience of Tom's was good with efficient booking and wifi services.

Room Tip: Opt for a chalet with views, amazing, and if you can, go for one slightly larger than you actually n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alitravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our site is low key in that we don’t have any club houses or organised entertainment. Over the years generations of families have enjoyed the unspoiled beauty of the sand dunes and three miles of beach and found that the site has the space and sense of freedom to unwind and relax. We let about 125 of the properties on site and hopefully, with all the properties being privately owned and completely different, there will be something to suit all tastes and budgets. We were also pleased to hear you felt your booking was dealt with efficiently and the wifi service was good. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in C15 Seamore and what a spot. The location is second to none and the view as you emerge through the shrubbery to the sea is breath taking.

The chalet is quite charming and the decor lovely. Beds are really comfy and had great nights sleep. Kitchen very nice and well equipped - the perfect bolthole.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewelia1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. C15 is a lovely traditional beach chalet tucked into the top of the dune above the beach. Only moments from the beach, it offers convenience with privacy and as you say a lovely view across the bay to St. Ives. Glad to hear the beds are comfortable as we don’t get a chance to try them out! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

After returning here after a gap of 30 years (I hadn't been since a kid but had very fond memories of the place!), I was amazed to see it hadn't changed. It was still beautiful, unspoiled and amazing. Loved every minute. We stayed in a chalet called Mendarva, 6 berth. The view was the best we could of asked for, looking out over the beach and sea, St Ives to the left, just brilliant! The only thing that was a disappointment was the weather as it was April and cold so the £1 meter for the electricity took a hammering as £1 doesn't last very long with the portable radiators on (which were very much needed). The Bluff, the local pub on the cliff, was still there but had changed somewhat, more of a restaurant now than a pub. That didn't matter much though as we spent a lot of time travelling to our old haunts, Land's End, Porthleven, Helston and St Ives. The chalet itself was spacious, comfortable and clean. The beds had good pillows and mattresses and we all had good night sleeps. I would definitely recommend Tom's Holidays to anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery and family holidays, even as a couple, it would be a great place to chillax and unwind, looking out from your sofa to the beautiful Hayle beach and sea. I will definitely be returning next year, although I will visit when it is hopefully warmer, maybe July/August time. Mum and dad said they used to book through Tom's Holidays when we were kids, so long established and reliable. Happy holidays!

Room Tip: Menadarva was a great chalet but my cousin stayed in Blue Bay which was equally as nice. The views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for kind review. We are pleased to say we feel the site has kept up with the times without losing the wonderful sense of space to relax and freedom, which has been associated with the Towans. A real family place where many families, like yours have been holidaying for generations. Our family has ties with Riviere Towans and our site for four generations. It’s always great to hear that others feel it is a special place as well. Thanks and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed in F18...was fantastic, clean and amazing views of the bay. Would recommend Toms as a family holiday or even a relaxing get away to anyone. Will definitely be returning! Perfect location for popping down to St. Ives or exploring the beautiful coast and beaches.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clowi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed you stay here and are planning to return. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
2.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
2.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.7 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toms Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toms Holidays

Property: Toms Holidays
Address: 3A Riviere Towans | St Ives Bay, Hayle, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering beach huts / chalets to luxury properties. Views over St Ives Bay and right next to the 3 miles of golden sand of Hayle beach. Swim in some of the warmest waters in the UK. Easy access to most of west Cornwalls tourist attractions and quaint sea side villages and pubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom`s Holidays Hotel Hayle
Toms Holidays Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing