We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 19 Eatondale” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toms Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toms Holidays
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 19 Eatondale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Myself, my partner and my dog stayed at Tomms for the first time last september. I cannot fault one thing about the holiday, it was all perfect. The accommadation was first class. Superb sea views. Beautiful balcony which is where my dog enjoyed spending most of his time watching the world go by. The site at Tomms is well kept and the staff are friendly and helpful. The site is located within walking distance of every thing we needed whilst on holiday, a beautiful dog friendly beach, to the one of the best dog friendly pubs in cornwall,("The bucket of blood") and the most tastiest cornish pasties ever ( plillips pasties). We enjoyed ourselves so much last year that we booked for this year whilst we were there.
Roll on september! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your first holiday with us and that you have booked to visit us again this year. We look forward to seeing you in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    30
    10
    10
    9
See reviews for
91
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been going to toms holidays for the last 10 years great chalets and helpful staff we are going again in may have stayed in lots of the chalets always very clean beautiful place to stay and good prices to pay

Room Tip: All rooms at toms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We were pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays here and it is good to know visitors want to return. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've just booked our third visit in a row for April - can't wait. Fabulous location, beautiful views and a big double shower in the last one we stayed in. We've opted for different chalets each time - just to keep the holidays fresh and looking forward to our sea facing chalet in April - with a bath! Toasty warm on a cold stormy night. We've always found new places to go to and just a 2 minute stroll to a quiet beach. The previous two chalets have both been clean and have modern amenities right down to functioning washing machines. Have never spent sill amounts inteh eletric meter either. Top trip Toms.

Room Tip: Call the centre and tell them what you are looking for (we wanted a large shower last year so they r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Great to hear you are returning for a third time. All our properties are different, each with their own style, so we hope there will be something to suit everyone. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been going to Toms and cornwall for nearly 30 years, alas its become a totaly different place than it was, i find the accomadation grubby and usualy spend the first day cleaning, the furniture is uncomfortable, electricity ( need a mortgage),but the views to me are outstanding but not at that price £450 + in may for a sea view. I now look to west wales as its cheaper and more welcoming as local people still survive there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We at Toms are deeply sorry to hear that your various stays on Riviere Towans have not met with your expectations. Although it is not what we would like to hear, we appreciate hearing customers’ views and try to act upon them.
The properties let through Toms Holidays are cleaned by experienced cleaners whose work is usually of a good standard. Many properties on this site are privately let and we have nothing to do with them at all, either bookings or cleaning. At Toms, apart from the cleaners, we also have supervisors who check every property after the cleaners have finished ensuring a good standard of cleaning. It seems that unfortunately, we did not achieve this and for that we sincerely apologise. We will be passing your comments on to the supervisors who will in turn discuss the issues you mentioned, with the cleaners.
The electricity is supplied through the use of coin meters in the properties, which should be set to cover the costs and no more. Owners are not allowed to make a profit on the electricity sold through coin meters. Had we known about your concerns, we would have happily had an electrician to check that it was set correctly. As a result of your comments we are considering the possibility of including the cost of electricity in the booking cost, but with all the properties being privately owned, it will need the owners to agree with this change in policy.
Comfortable furniture is important for every holiday and had we known about any uncomfortable furniture, we would have done all we could to resolve the problem immediately and if necessary replace items the same day.
The rate this year for Spring Bank Holiday in some of our bungalows has risen to the £450+ as you stated but this is due to the fact that Spring Bank Holiday week is in May this year where as it was in June last year. The actual increase in tariff for the bank holiday this year is £8 which we felt fair. However, with Toms you can still have a holiday this year in May, with sea views for as little as £196 for four people or for £304 for six in one of our best properties.
Also we would like to let people know that Toms Holidays has been and is a family owned and run business with connections to Hayle and Riviere Towans dating back to the 1920s spanning four generations of our family.
Finally, we would like to stress that if you are staying in a property which you have rented through Toms Holidays (as many on site are actually privately let) and you do have any problem at all, please do tell us about it as soon as you discover it. The office is open every day and there are telephone numbers displayed in each of our properties to assist you in contacting us. Although it is not what we would want to hear, we thank you for taking the time to add your review as we are always trying to raise the standard of our properties. Customer service and satisfaction is extremely important to us and we want all of our customers to have a happy and enjoyable holiday whilst with us and we are always happy to do whatever we can to achieve that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have never been unsatisfied with this site. It is like home from home to us and we have always had a warm welcome and nothing seems to much trouble. The beach is absolutely lovely and a walk along it is most restful. The chalet is well appointed and comfortable and there is plenty of room for us and the dog. Our chalet we stay in is always clean and fresh. The area has plenty of places to visit and we never get time to see all of it.
We are looking forward to going back to the same chalet next year.

Room Tip: Our chalet was quiet and comfortable and all bedrooms were the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday and our site. Customer service and satisfaction is extremely important to us and we were pleased to hear you had a warm welcome, that the staff were helpful and the property was clean and comfortable. With approximately 65% repeat bookings we do have a lot of happy customers and it is very important to us that our guests have a wonderful holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to Toms Holidays later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My family has been going to the same cottage twice a year for 7 years. For the first time we were in the country as well(we live O/S) and tagged along. First the easy bit....
Pros-unbeatable cliff top location with unobstructed views to Carbis Bay and St Ives. Steps to the beach. This is the ONLY reason to stay here.
Cons-My Mum had already warned me about the lamp shade in our room which had apparently been filthy all the time she has been going there. It was still filthy this time and I took it outside and brushed years of dust off it. The bedrooms were all tiny-supposedly double but no room to walk around the bed and very little storage. The duvet in our room smelt of someone elses BO and kept me awake all night.Thankfully we brought our own pillows and sheets. The curtains also smelt. The cottage had not been cleaned in properly IMO for years-dust on the skirting boards sand on the floor etc. Poor quality/cleanliness of bedding was unforgiveable. Most of the windows had faults-handles fell off, windows not able to be opened etc. Mum reckons shes the only one who ever empties the water out of the tumble drier-the list goes on and on. We ended up washing the duvet which then melted in the tumble drier and so as not to upset my families future holiday plans we replaced it with a far superior duvet bought at a car boot for 2 pound fifty!!! Lucky next guests...
All in all very poor housekeeping and maintenance and I would not return. My family however are what keep this place going-willing to put up with all the shoddiness without complaint for a great location so things probably will never change. Shame.

Room Tip: Check the cottage for cleanliness and COMPLAIN if necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesprouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday and our site. Customer service and satisfaction is extremely important to us and we were disappointed to hear about the problems you experienced during your stay. Cleanliness and the properties being properly prepared for our guests, are issues we feel strongly about because, despite the type of property, there is no excuse for them not being cleaned thoroughly and prepared properly. All properties are deep spring cleaned in March. We have a two layer cleaning system with cleaners and supervisors in order to achieve good standards of cleanliness. Unfortunately it seems we did not achieve that standard in your case and for that we apologise. We have staff available at all times to rectify any issues discovered by guests and we would sincerely appreciate the opportunity of dealing with any problems, but we do need to be advised of them. We have new duvets and a variety of stock in our office, on site, for just such situations. Again, had we known about the duvet, we could have delivered a new one to you within minutes.
The issue of the size of the bedroom is not something we could have rectified. Although many of our properties are similar to residential bungalows, they are still holiday properties with a size restriction. As a result, in some of the double bedrooms, access to both sides of the bed is not possible. We are always happy to discuss individual properties and their configurations.
Probably the issue of most concern to us is that your family did not feel they could let us know of any problems they have experienced during their various stays. Whilst it is not what we would want to hear, we are always grateful to those who let us know of any issues, so we have the opportunity of rectifying problems immediately. We look forward to welcoming your family to Toms Holidays this year and hope they will find a comfortable clean property but if they do have any problems, please encourage them to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 1 week in the chalet F73 Dorfli. We were only 2 adults in this chalet that sleeps 6. I think once the chalet is at full capacity it will feel a bit small. Location was good for us - no sea view but very quiet and excellent if you are with a dog. The chalet had a nice big conservatory. The decor and furniture was very dated but it all felt clean. The bed was uncomfortable so a new mattress would be a wise investment. The chalet was up for sale so I'm thinking the current owners didn't want to invest in it anymore.
All in all we had a lovely time. Very nice location. Not far too the beach even if you are on the wrong side of the park, the Spar supermarket does excellent pasties and baguettes and the coastal walks are lovely. Great place to stay.
Haven't had much to do with the park owners other then key pick up and drop off. Booking over the internet was easy and straight forward.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HD370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments. Customer service and satisfaction is extremely important to us and we were pleased you enjoyed your holiday. We have taken note of your comments and passed them on to the owners. The property you stayed in, is in a quiet part of the park, with more space, ideal for dogs. If you ever have a problem, please do not hesitate to let us know as we can often deal with issues straight away, including uncomfortable mattresses. We look forward to perhaps welcoming you back to Toms Holidays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toms Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toms Holidays

Property: Toms Holidays
Address: 3A Riviere Towans | St Ives Bay, Hayle, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering beach huts / chalets to luxury properties. Views over St Ives Bay and right next to the 3 miles of golden sand of Hayle beach. Swim in some of the warmest waters in the UK. Easy access to most of west Cornwalls tourist attractions and quaint sea side villages and pubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom`s Holidays Hotel Hayle
Toms Holidays Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing