We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it:D”
Review of Toms Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toms Holidays
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We are regular visters of cornwall and have been staying at toms for years,we've never had a problam and the chalets are always lovley and clean,the best chalet we have stayed in so far is jupiter! It has fantasic views of st ives and the beach,its well equpied,clean&overall a wonderful chalet been in it 5 times so far,wouldent wish for a beter chalet 2minutes walk to the beach&river,dog friendly&truly fantasic:D

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cornwallbeach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It’s always good to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and we will pass your kind comments on to our maintenance staff. The site is perfect for those looking for a peaceful holiday close to the beach and we are pleased to be able to welcome visitors with pets into some of our properties. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 193 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

Have been staying at Toms since 2000, and have been 2 or 3 times a year since, it is quiet peaceful and right on the most beautiful beach with amazing views of St. Ives bay. There is a collection of all sized/shaped chalets and bungalows all of which look well kept, the staff are all always very helpful. can't think of another place i'd rather go.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karon1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your holidays here and we have to agree, we think it is an amazing beach. Customer service is important to us and we were pleased to hear you found the staff helpful. We will pass your kind comments on. We look forward to welcoming you back this year. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Lovely, bright, airy, spotless chalet with lots of room, home comforts, decor and artwork. . Very well equipped and doggy friendly. We had a very relaxing week with scenic views from the decking area, kitchen and living room areas. You could see Carbis Bay and St Ives. Few mins walk from beach and coastal path - ideal for morning and evening doggy walks. The electric coin meter was economical - put £6 in on arrival & still some left on departure. The Towans itself was also very well kept/clean and the reception and site staff were very friendly and welcoming. The site is ideally located with lovely beaches immediately below the site and the coastal path runs straight through the Towans.

A note for doggy owners: dog bans on many beaches are in place from April to 30th Sept but there are plenty of coastal pathes running above/beside beaches with fab views that are doggy friendly. These more than compensate for the beach bans.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed staying with us and that the property was clean and well equipped. Also we are always pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and welcoming as we try hard to give good customer service. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have just returned from a week at 'Toms Holidays' and wanted to write a review to say how pleased we were with the chalet and the site itself.
I had read some very mixed reviews prior to our visit and wasn't feeling too hopeful about the place but we were pleasantly surprised.
The site is spotlessly clean with wonderful sea views across Hayle beach. Dogs are allowed, with responsible owners, in some of the chalets.
It's a very quiet site so maybe not suitable for families with very young children but there were a couple of play areas and a sandpit for the little ones to use - the beach was only a 5 minute walk away anyway.
We were recommended to try the local pub 'The Bucket of Blood' for food but found it to be quite average on our visit. The Bluff Inn is an easy couple of minutes walk from Tom's and we found the food and drink really nice when we went. The views from The Bluff are *wonderful* - we sat outside but our leftovers were attacked by the seagulls when we left !
All in all, we had a wonderful holiday and wouldn't hesitate to return to Tom's.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lilsteviesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are always pleased to hear when visitors have enjoyed staying with us at Toms Holidays. We were glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised regarding the accommodation and site. Everyone here works hard to try to give our customers the best possible holiday and we will pass your comments on to the other staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Toms Holidays in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Just got back.booked last minute and got a deal for the week for £420. Our chalet was A9 Trehane,right by the shop, bus stop and main road down to the beach,none of which were intrusive on our stay ( buses run reasonably frequently too). Good views (can see Carbis Bay and the very end of St Ives from the settee) and not overlooked in a sparsly populated part of the site. (having a quick look around the site nothing seemed too cramped together though).
Our chalet was good size for the four of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers). 2 double beds and set of bunks across three rooms. 5 minute walk to the excellent Hayle beach. Seems a peaceful site,didnt really have much to do with owners other than collect/ drop off keys but they seemed friendly enough. Would have got five stars if not for the bathroom which was a bit smelly......well specifically the carpet around the loo!,clean enough but someone in the past had attatched a garden sprinkler to their appendage missed the loo with resulting smelly carpet left.
Holiday let owners note :Please please use lino in what are heavy use areas!!!!
all in all a refreshing stay.would we go back again? yes,but woudn't want to pay the full whack for the week (£700 + ish I think it was meant to be).

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Riviere Towans. We are lucky to have a good shop and bus service nearby and as you say, neither of which impact on the park. We are grateful for your comments and will pass them on to the owners. We look forward to welcoming you back to Toms in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My family & I stayed at this resort in Trefusis F13 August 2011. When we arrived we found a nice chalet with all the facilities you could need. Unfortuntely the bedrooms smelt of mould and kitchen cupboards absolutely stank of mould. My daughter who is suffers from asthma coughed all night. We complained after 1st night and customer service from the Toms holiday staff Chris and Cathy was excellent but very limited what they could do, as unfortunately all other chalets taken. They offered dehumidifiers and air freshners or a full refund. We opted for a full refund as we really didn't want to stay in mould smelling environment. This left us with a problem as we had travelled 7hrs to get there and after 1 night faced with 7hr journey home. We looked at other accomodation in Hayle and most that we looked at was awful. This is a real shame in F13 they have a chalet which appears to be far superior to others offered in Hayle yet it is let down by the smell. I feel that is very unfair to rent it in this state as having travelled along way Toms holidays left us with no where suitable to stay.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
6  Thank Digby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We at Toms were extremely sorry that you found the property to be damp and that we were unable to offer you alternative accommodation when you reported the problem to our office. Normally if there is a problem with a property which cannot easily be resolved, we would offer the customer alternative accommodation. Unfortunately due to the fact that we were fully booked that week, we could only offer limited solutions to try to rectify the situation or a full refund. As we had not received any reports of the problem from the customers who stayed there during the previous week, we were unaware of any issues. We discussed the smell of damp with the owner, who also cleans the property themselves, and they were seriously concerned and immediately began to deep clean and refresh the property. However we were pleased that you felt that Toms staff did all they could to help.
Everyone working for Toms strives to give our customers the best possible holiday and we can only apologise that there were issues with the property and that we did not have any alternative accommodation to offer. Customer service and satisfaction is extremely important to us at Toms and although it is not what we would like to hear we are grateful to you for letting us know of the problem and thus giving us the opportunity to do all we could to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

we have just returned from a weeks holiday with toms and what a fantastic time we had. In total 27 of us stayed here, we all stayed in various parts of the site, we all found our accomodation clean, very well equipped with wonderful views, our chalet was E47 HAVEN GREEN aka THE HUT, after a 9hr drive we were hoping it would be nice and we were not disapointed, it was modern, extremely clean, spacious with beautiful decor. On arrival we were greeted with fresh flowers, scones and buns with clotted cream all left for us, it made it all feel very special. we had wonderful panaramic views of the estuary and the beautiful coastline of St Ives bay. Our friends were getting married during our stay at the Carbis Bay hotel which was also lovely with beautiful views, perfect for their pirate themed wedding! we also visited the very stunning minnack theatre with its turquoise waters and beautiful beach an absolute must. Local amenities were 5mins away in the car with boots , m&s and the co-op and lidl. all in all we had a fabulous time and so did all the children, the beach went on for miles with the sand dunes all around us. we have all decided to return next year as it has all that you could wish for.. excellent.

Room Tip: newly built and privately owned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank emerald1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments. We were pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with Toms Holidays and that you found the properties to be spotlessly clean and comfortable and will pass them on to the owners. Certainly we feel it is a special place and it is good to hear that others are as enthusiastic as ourselves. We are grateful for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
258 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.5 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in St Erth
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toms Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toms Holidays

Address: 3A Riviere Towans | St Ives Bay, Hayle, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Price Range: $34 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering beach huts / chalets to luxury properties. Views over St Ives Bay and right next to the 3 miles of golden sand of Hayle beach. Swim in some of the warmest waters in the UK. Easy access to most of west Cornwalls tourist attractions and quaint sea side villages and pubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom`s Holidays Hotel Hayle
Toms Holidays Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing