We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Standard?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Standard

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gwinear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Standard
Ranked #1 of 1 Gwinear B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Royal Standard?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I visited the Royal Standard whilst visiting friends down in Cornwall.

It is a great little boozer which made me feel very welcome as soon as I stepped through the door.

An added bonus was they serve Stowford Press on draught :-)

Wayne, the Landlord, instantly made me feel welcome with tubby belly and comedy beard, he engaged me in conversation mainly about the high price of slim-fast and how Everton were going to win the European cup (beating Coventry in the final...)

Alovely local that I would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_Oakhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illogan, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a fantastic turnaround this pub has seen. We visited some years ago and were delighted to see the difference the new owners have made. Its a proper community place, with real people, fantastic food and great selection of ales and beers. There is camping available too. Your made to feel welcome by all, and its great to see the pub so busy and a happy place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

After visiting other pubs in Hayle,we have found in the royal standard Guinean the most friendliest landlord and landlady,they do their upmost to make you welcome,this pub is the cleanest,toilets have been a let down in other pubs,we old not eat in a pub with dirty toilets,wht would the kitchen be like you think.Also after eating in some pubs in Hayle ,portions not acceptable overpriced,same as the drinks in some,Yes wyne has got the balance just right,he has a pub with atmosphere.,good food ,great quiz night,good bands,ect.well worth a visit you would not be disappointed and this is a true statement.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

since wayne has taken over, he has turned the standard around, making for a very good atmostphere for one and all. everybody is always made wecome and sunday dinners are something to try very nice and good portions too. the selection of beer is allways good and from all over the country.the royal standard is well worth the visit . you wont be dissapointed. well done wayne and family wicksy and ann

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 261wicksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

A truly wonderful place to eat and drink with the warmest staff I have ever come across 10 out of 10. The events are fantastic and offer everything from darts pool party nights great food - most events are offered with a basic buffet cooked by the landlady and landlord - dogs are welcome on leads.
A great experience and a must visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradley622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went for Sunday Lunch, advertised as Homemade with real gravy! Food was nice, but let down by gravy- most definitely not home made! It was busy, whilst made to feel welcome by the landlord, didn't feel so welcome by locals who all turned round to look at us when we walked in! If you aren't bothered about the atmosphere, eat here as the food is ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Standard

Property: The Royal Standard
Address: 50 Churchtown, Gwinear TR27 5JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gwinear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gwinear
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the quaint little village of Gwinear, The Royal Standard has become a second home for many. With a large beer garden with children's play equipment and own football pitch. Inside has a traditional village local feel. Open fire for the winter months. It hosts darts, pool and Euchre teams all summer and winter. Now offering traditional Sunday Lunch, a huge bonus. We always have 3 traditional real ales on the bar complimented with a fine selection of lagers, ciders and other beverages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing