We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying too hard to be something it isn't”
Review of Halzephron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunwalloe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halzephron Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Gunwalloe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Having been told how good this establishment was we felt we had to sample the fayre. Suspicions were raised when the signage said 'Cornish pub of the year 2001 & 2005 ' over a decade ago and 9 years respectively.
The interior of the pub is traditional edging on dated .... But on our visit lacked atmosphere.
Food on our visit was on the whole disappointing and we felt rather expensive for the offerings presented
I selected crab cake to start with the ubiquitous sweet chilli sauce. This arrived as a deep fried orange ball of tasteless white fluff with a decent salad garnish and a small stainless steel pot with the chilli sauce.
My dining partner selected the mussels and these were well presented and of good quality.
The surf and turf to follow was a waste of good steak and seafood. A lump of fillet steak cooked to order with a pool if crayfish ( hardly local) in a very rich cream sauce that flooded the plate. 'Crushed' peas were congealed and cold. Chips ( hand cut but over cooked) arrived after a five minute wait. I chose the fish and chips. A decent cut of cod ruined by a soggy tasteless batter and the same chips and peas.
The food was just not up to the standards expected of a venue purporting high credentials ... The service standards were also not good... Waitresses failed to supply cutlery for the main course , ask if we required additional drinks and supply condiments etc.
We left feeling disappointed and could not recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SirKipinCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

We ate here tonight and have a lovely meal. My husband had the sea bass and I had the chicken in cashew nuts. Both were nicely presented and very tasty. We booked in advance to get a seat outside, yes it is on the road, but it is fairly quiet and the views tonight towards the sea, with the setting sun made all the difference. They have a nice selection of wines and the service and welcome was excellent. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LavaLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We've been coming here on and off for the last 9 years, always had a great time. A view to die for and 2 seconds off the coastal path means it is always steadily busy. Fishing Cove is amazing for a dog friendly beach. Our terrier even received complimentary biccies, and the food is great.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Besidetheseasidepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Called in by chance for a meal whilst on holiday. Followed the sign from the main road. Nice local pub. Would definitely call in again if in the area. Good menu plus a children's choice. Lots of fish dishes, nice view of the coastline from outside the front of the pub.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rapidsjonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

What a lovely place, positioned on the cliffs overlooking the sea. We had two lovely evenings sitting on the front patio looking out to sea with a bottle of chilled wine, heaven. The third sadly was wet & windy but in the bar the log burner was giving out a comforting warmth. All the staff & locals very friendly and or course the food is excellent. I was a little concerned that with only two letting bedrooms breakfast might be a bit limited but I was wrong. Plenty of choice & cooked to perfection. We will definitely return, can't wait!

Room Tip: Both rooms are at the back so no sea view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkTopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The outside adverts for "Dining Pub" of the Year 2005 & 2008 are a bit off putting as 6 or more years have elapsed. It also appears that the pub was sold to new owners in March 2013, however don't worry as the food quality especially the sea bass was exemplary. The staff were friendly, service good, and beer quality excellent. Well worth a detour!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very cosy traditional pub, with homely atmosphere, friendly landlords and great food. I'm glad I booked in advance, it was very busy. Enjoyed sunday lunch so much, i took friends there for lunch on Thursday. Great choice, in fact it was impossible to choose.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank dythda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halzephron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halzephron Inn

Address: Gunwalloe TR12 7QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gunwalloe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gunwalloe
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Halzephron Inn Gunwalloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing