We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good... Really????”
Review of Halzephron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunwalloe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halzephron Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Gunwalloe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Staff were fantastic and the landlady was wonderful, The Inn itself was a little treasure. But thats about it. Ordered the fish and chips. The Fish was lovely but the chips were semi raw. The tables had some old table cloth, not giving a wonderful feel either. Wouldnt bother going, not when there are much nicer chips to be had elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BakerBoyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 153 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just finishing lunch at the Halzephron Inn.
Another beautiful meal.
My wife and I visit about four times a year. Never had a bad meal. Lovely food extensive choice of either full lunch or delicious sandwiches and specials.
We had the pork chops (delicious) and oven baked sausages with mustard mash (wonderful). I declined the pudding but my wife had the vanilla & lemon panacotta which she reckons is the best one she has ever had. Thanks Angela once again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ghanberighan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A lovely place to stay, food was fantastic, location good too, right on the coast, we walked to Porthleven and back the first afternoon, went coasteering with Lizard Adventures on the Saturday and found a walk near Flushing on the Sunday.
Food served in the bar/.restaurant at night was excellent!!!!
Breakfast all that you could want.

Room Tip: Room 1 was great, I didn't look anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Angela and her team are great, they welcome you with good service and a smile.We ate here 5 nights on the trot and it was very good pub grub.The fish chowder is excellent, creamy and fresh, the dishes are unpretentious and filling.The fish and chips come in massive portions,, the bread is home baked and the puddings home made.If this pub were on the doorstep I would be there heaps, I would love it as my local.There is a great quiz night. well behaved dogs are allowed, what is there not to like?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADYRAWDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited the pub on the last night of our holiday and what a way to end our holiday!
The pub is full of character, with interesting objects on display and the views are amazing it was a shame it was too windy to sit outside on our visit. The chicken liver pâté was delicious as was the chowder which had mussels and haddock in. For mains I had the fish and chips which was cooked really well and the tartare sauce seemed to be homemade rather than out of a jar, the risotto was jam packed full of veggies and was thoroughly enjoyed. We were too full for deserts as the portions seemed huge so washed it down with some Cornish cider.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Bear_also_Clayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

What a brilliant pub full of character. Couldn't fault anything. Excellent food, service and location. I came here last year on a holiday in Cornwall and it's nice to see that the place hasn't changed. I would recommend the Halzephron Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CbfSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was one of our best eats last year, so we approached Sunday lunch today with hope. The pork roast was very good, but the £16 plaice was disappointing (although it's accompanying water cres was rich and crunchy) and the citrus tart was more of a cheesecake, with undercooked soggy pastry. Honeycomb ice cream lacked the vital crunch factor, and the service was not as fast as one would wish for, even at a Sunday lunch. We'll be looking elsewhere next Sunday. Nice location, and popular though.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank IanandRoseTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halzephron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halzephron Inn

Address: Gunwalloe TR12 7QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gunwalloe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gunwalloe
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Halzephron Inn Gunwalloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing