We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, genuine friendly service..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunwalloe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halzephron House, Cabin and B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Gunwalloe B&B and Inns
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, genuine friendly service..”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in the cabin for a couple of nights to finish off our honeymoon and it was perfect. The room is clean, fresh and comfortable. The fresh flowers and homemade biscuits were a lovely touch. Lucy and Roger were friendly, attentive and cook the most amazing breakfast. The location is out of this world, over looking the sea and right on the cliff path, perfect location of you enjoy walking. Also just a stones throw to a great pub with lovely food. I would highly recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pembrokeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went to Halzephron House as a last minute escape from it all. And were completely relaxed from arrival. The tower room was a stylish room with its own sitting room complete with velvet sofa and the most amazing balcony overlooking the coast. The bedroom was decorated all in white adding to the traquility and had a luxurious french bed. Then a nice large shower.

The breakfast was simple with good quality produce and lovely fresh fruit salad to start.

If you need to relax this is the place to go. With friendly owners and no pretentiousness. Just a nice break .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janepembs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Traveling is as much, perhaps more, about people as places. Halzephron House brings the best of both together. As residents of Oregon in the United States, my wife and I have viewed a lot of to beautiful coastal scenery -- from the Baja of Mexico to the glacier-sided Prince William Sound in Alaska. But we were unprepared for the stunning and fascinating Cornwall Coast. We hiked about 100 miles of the South Coast Path in September 2012, which was as rugged a journey as any we've undertaken in Britain (Dartmoor, West Highland Way, Coast to Coast, etc.) One blustery and drizzling evening as dark clouds rolled overhead, we found ourselves exposed and weary. Though we carried a tent, sleeping bags and cooking gear, the thought of pitching a camp in another downpour wasn't appealing. That's when we walked past Halzephron House near Gunwalloe and noticed a small sign offering a room.

A biblical rain began to pound the roof of the House soon after we were greeted by Roger and Lucy and invited inside. This gracious couple accepted our muddy, disheveled appearance with good humor and guided us to a beautiful, cozy room, where we enjoyed warm showers and hot drinks. We fell asleep giving thanks for Halzephron House and the gracious and lovely couple who live there.

The next morning we woke to clear skies, a wonderful breakfast, more miles to walk. As the days and weeks passed, we traveled on to the Czech Republic and Germany for more adventures, but we've not forgotten the magical night at Halzephron House. Thank you so much, Roger and Lucy.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoYanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Tower room and were bowled over by the charm of the house and it's wonderful surroundings. The perfect place to explore the Lizard and all it has to offer.
Great, healthy and wholesome breakfasts in a lovely environment.
The Tower room has a large spacious lounge and the separate bedroom has fabulous views of the sea on three sides, a wonderful place to wake up in.
The house sits on the coastal path (try and spot the secret garden from the coastal path..that's why it's secret!) and is a short walk from several lovely beaches. You also have your own entrance so you really feel like you have your own proper space.
Wander down the road to the wonderful pub, you don't have to ask which one.
This house really is a treat you have to try.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighthousemanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Following a romantic week long stay in The Cabin in February 2012 (inc. Valentine's Day), which was everything we had hoped for and more, we reserved a number of rooms in Halzephron House for 11 members of my family on the occasion of my son's wedding in Gunwalloe. My husband and I stayed in The Observatory, my daughter, husband and two children were in the family room, my other daughter, husband and a 6 yr old and 5 month old stayed in the Tower Room and another guest was in Rose's room. Lucy and Roger made our stay so comfortable and pleasurable that it was more like a holiday for us all and all the preparations including taking care of the baby's needs, my daughter and my special dietary conditions - we are coeliacs, as well as the smallest bridesmaid on the day, ensuring that four of us were through breakfast so as to be at the hairdresser in Helston by 9. a.m. was no mean feat. Every last measure was carefully thought out and delivered, breakfast was wonderful - the 6 yr old has ordered smoked salmon and scrambled egg for his breakfast ever since! and our near 'taking over' of their cafe for a lovely lunch which included a pre-wedding celebration with my son the Groom and his Best Man, not only made our stay more memorable but was handled without any fuss and with total ease.We could not have felt more relaxed and so well prepared on a very great day. With all things taken into consideration, the care and attention to detail, lovely decor, comfortable beds and luxury linen/duvets, special hospitality treats and super meals, plus all that is available inc. the cafe and shop! as well as the most perfect setting and surroundings, we are inevitably as a result, booked in once again in The Cabin in a few weeks and are so looking forward to what we know will be a lovely break with lovely people taking care of us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the tower room with a 6 week old and a 2year old and the entire experience was superb. Yes the bedroom is 'cosy' but that just adds to the experience of being in the tower overlooking one of the best views we have seen anywhere and the lounge area provides easily enough space to relax and gaze out over the ocean. Our two year could run out of the lounge doors onto the large lawn overlooking the sea to find a trampoline and safe space to play in the fresh air. (I also did the same!) The breakfast was excellent served in the large, light dining area with beautiful flowers and yet more lovely views. How anyone could not feel there experience to be good value is beyond me. Lucy and roger are excellent hosts who are friendly and relaxed. So many generic hotel chains are over the £100 mark and offer little more than the basics, Hazelohron house will leave us with long lasting memories and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
535 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I thought that for £130 per night this was well over rated! We stayed in the Tower room, the bedroom is very small, as is the shower room.The lounge is massive but there is no wardrobe or hanging space for unpacking of clothes? a must when you are there 5 days.The shower was intermittantly hot and cold dependant on water useage in the rest of the house.Our friends had the Observatory, a grand title for a shed really, very small and only suited to tiny people, also had an air of dampness about it.Other friends had the Cabin which is by far more luxurious and spacious but still over rated in comparison to other places of distinction, for the same or less money!The breakfasts were not really inspiring , 5 days of the same offerings, fruit and yogurt followed by either smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or english consisting of bacon, 1fried egg, small grilled tomatoes and mushrooms.The smoked salmon came in a very measly portion, and we always had to ask for more yogurt and toast.Overall we all felt that we were an inconvenience to them, we felt that we were in their house and not that welcomed.They need to be more hospitable and engaging.

Room Tip: The only luxury room is the Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LADYRAWDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucymargaret, Owner at Halzephron House, Cabin and B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you “Lady Rawdon” for your review, I am so sorry that you did not draw these issues to our attention when you stayed with us.
You arrived with a group of delightful friends who clearly were very happy in each others company, always chattering at breakfast about the walk ahead and not in need of advise from us as your daily plan walking the coastal path was obviously well mapped out. We felt that you wished to be left alone with your friends, apart from supplying you each evening with ice and glasses for your gin and tonics, offering to dry your wet walking clothes on the aga and airing your washing. As to breakfasts, we offered you croissants and a continental alternative on the second day only to be told by your group how much you all enjoyed the English breakfast and wished to continue with ‘protein’ each day to fuel you on your walk. We do not put out vast amounts of yoghurt and toast, as prefer to provide guests with fresh and hot ingredients respectively that have not sat on the table to wilt. Each day we asked if you would like more coffee, toast etc. All our breakfasts are freshly cooked to order.

Regarding our pricing, the local pub charges £94 per night for a double, without an additional drawing room and private entrance. Other B&B’s in the area charge a similar rate to us.
As to the Observatory, this was a name we inherited from the previous owners. Yes, we admit, again on our website, that this is a small room but it has the most amazing uninterrupted seaviews, from here you can not only 'observe' the ocean but at night it is possible to see the Milky Way, the clarity of the sky and lack of light pollution are quite unique.It is south facing and we have never found it to be 'damp'. Living by the ocean it is always advisable to keep a window slightly ajar, especially when arriving with wet dogs.
As to “luxury” it is not a word we use on our website once. We do not purport to be luxurious, we do however sit in one of the most spectacular locations in Cornwall and delight in welcoming guests here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunwalloe
2.2 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
788 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
547 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
309 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halzephron House, Cabin and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halzephron House, Cabin and B&B

Property: Halzephron House, Cabin and B&B
Address: Gunwalloe TR127QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gunwalloe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gunwalloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halzephron House stands on an unspoilt stretch of Cornish headland with views across the ocean and next door to the Cornish lifestyle shop and cafe, Barefoot Kitchen. The house is designed in a contemporary, relaxed style, each of the three rooms come with fresh flowers and luxurious mattresses. The village gastro pub and sandy beaches are within walking distance. The Tower Room suite comes with it's own private balcony and upstairs drawing room, perfect for watching the sunset over the ocean. The Observatory is right beside the coastal path, also overlooking the ocean. The Cabin was recommended as one of the 'best beach villas in the world' in the February 2010 edition of Conde Nast Traveller. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Halzephron House, Cabin And B&B Gunwalloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing