We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“london boutique chic in a laid back location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Llawnroc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Llawnroc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“london boutique chic in a laid back location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

First impressions: friendly, unpretentious, high standards, well thought-out

Spacious room with designer bathroom and huge bed overlooking the bay with floor to ceiling windows - divine.
Breakfast had plenty of choice and was cooked perfectly, dinner was a locally caught fish and home made chips. Worth the money.

Bad Points: I am a business traveller, so having no mobile signal (EE) and wifi limited to the bar is NOT ideal.
Toiletries where not replaced on second day, nor was the complimentary unsealed bottle of water in room on arrival. Was also missing the tv remote and internet cable. Reception regularly unmanned and ignored in the evening meaning any phone calls directed from front desk to my room was near impossible.

Would stay again

Room Tip: room 7 is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylifeinhotels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you found the hotel, friendly and unpretentious. We hopefully make all our guests feel welcome and special.

Unfortunately due to where we are located in an unspoilt village, mobile signal is sometimes not brilliant. However we do offer Wi-Fi and have installed more routers to make connection easier.

I have noted you issues with housekeeping and we have rectified these issues for the future.

I hope to welcome you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    130
    68
    33
    23
See reviews for
100
349
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just spent a weekend at this lovely hotel, it really was perfect. The room with a view, the staff so friendly but professional, the food of good quality and the service excellent. Absolutely nothing to complain about and will definitely return to this lovely part of Cornwall for some more escapism at the Llawnroc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLightwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your satisfaction.

I hope that you will visit us again and check out our website for some great offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked this hotel as we liked the St Austell area and this had great reviews. It was better than what we could have expected and this was not just down to the hotel itself but the location. The hotel was clean, modern and the staff were very friendly and gave us great advice on places to visit. We had a suite with a balcony that looked out over the sea and what a stunning view, both day and night. The food was fantastic and if it wasn't for us wanting to eat at different places we would have eaten there every night! Fantastic hotel and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Congratulations on your marriage. We are pleased you chose to spend you honeymoon with us.

I am glad we made it memorable for you and you enjoyed your time with us. Johnny our head chef and his team work hard at producing some interesting and tasty dishes, so will be pleased you enjoyed your meals.

I hope to welcome you back for your anniversary if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel where we spent 3 nights and I have to disagree with many reviewers. On one hand, it has been done to a high standard, on the other hand, we got the feeling that the place was not managed to a matching level. Our room and bathroom were very well appointed but the hotel public area felt neglected : surplus chairs left in the entrance to Gorrans’restaurant, broken items left in the garden, rubbish outside the hotel not being picked up. The service was patchy and inconsistent , though friendly; we got the impression that this was a ship without helm. For the price, we expected something better managed and it would not take much to get it right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and have addressed the points that you have raised.

As a team we try to offer the best possible service to our guests, we also regularly ensure that the public areas are clean and tidy.

I hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant. Good quality local produce, cooked well and very nicely presented. My loin of lamb was done perfectly and with tasty accompaniments and sauce. Cheese was all local and sensible sized portion. Restaurant quite quiet but still managed a good atmosphere, very classy decor. Only criticism: beers a bit overpriced.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rowington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Johnny our head chef is passionate about offering fresh, locally sourced ingredients so will be very pleased you had an enjoyable time with us.

Hopefully you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

a five star review for location; for peace and quiet; for food(we are veggies ,the menu was small however the chef created choices for us)as well as the food being outstanding and excellent value for money; and service- from every staff member we had dealings with where nothing was too much trouble.Yes,as stated,there is no mobile phone signal in the hotel(a blessing no mobiles at dinner or in the bar yehay!)but the old fashioned phone line still worked!!as did the wire cable internet supplied by the hotel for the laptop in the bedroom. We will return later this year to unwind again!! thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: sea view room outstanding however probably a bit noisy in hight of summer as outside bar terrace dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greensweepone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your time here at the Llawnroc hotel and in Gorran Haven. As you mentioned it is a wonderful place to unwind and relax.

We look forward to seeing you later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Buried away in Gorran Haven, the Llawnroc is a really well-appointed 'boutique' hotel which justifies a strong rating. The hotel is a mixture of a modern and exceptionally well-desgned extension on an older (but completely refurbished to the same high standard) building.

Rooms first class; ours was a very good size, exceedingly clean and with fabulous bathroom and all bedding and furniture to a very high standard. It had a small balcony looking towards the sea, and overlooking the terrace.

We dined one night in the restaurant, which (aside being unbearably hot - apparently a quirk of the underfloor heating) was also excellent. Smart, yet unpretentious, friendly service and a good menu of finely cooked and presented meals.

Breakfast faultless. Service friendly and efficient throughout. We didm;t make use of the bar but it looked smart - in some ways nice to avoid the endless and inevitable 'cosy' (yet slightly shabby) alternatives elsewhere.

You'll know this if you've considered going there (or been there!) but you have of course to have transport - there is nothing locally and the nearest alternative for food is in Mevagissey, some 20 mins away on very narrow and twisty roads. So, this needs to be a base for exploring.

In summer, no doubt this hotel excels with its outside areas and the view.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to overlook the car ark, which would be considerably less appealing in fine weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Want_the_facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you found everything to your satisafaction with our rooms and restaurant service. As you mentioned we try to keep everything spotless and service to a very high standard.

We have a large terrace which is perfect for relaxing on those summer afternoons with a glass of wine or local beer and in good weather is a sun trap.

I hopefully will have the pleasure of welcoming you back agin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorran Haven
4.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
9.5 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
23.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Llawnroc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Llawnroc Hotel

Property: The Llawnroc Hotel
Address: 33 Chute Lane, Gorran Haven PL26 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gorran Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Llawnroc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, comfort and a warm welcome at this stylish getaway on Cornwall’s south coast. Here you’ll find a chic retreat where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the very best that Cornwall has to offer. With its spacious rooms, stylish decor, bespoke furnishings and stunning sea views, The Llawnroc hotel in Cornwall is dressed to impress. Inside the hotel you’ll experience a contemporary living space which would not be out of place in the world’s coolest cities. But step outside and you’ll discover the rugged beauty of coast and countryside in this idyllic corner of Cornwall. Sail, surf, walk the cliffs, explore the local beaches or stay in and soak up the splendour of The Llawnroc. And when it’s time to eat you can sample fresh local cuisine prepared by our renowned chef Neil Martin. At The Llawnroc we are obsessed with quality and committed to excellent personal service. Every detail at this luxury Cornwall hotel has been designed to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Visit us soon to experience this simply stunning escape for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Llawnroc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Llawnroc Hotel Gorran Haven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing