We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Llawnroc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Llawnroc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My friend at work had no hesitation in recommending the Llawnroc when, in conversation, I mentioned I was looking for somewhere to take my wife to celebrate ten years together. He had me in something of a state with his tales of the excellent breakfasts and well appointed Room 8 so I booked without hesitation being offered a deal of £250 per night with evening meal thrown in. Expensive, but it's not every day I get to compensate my wife for spending ten years with me...

The first day's afternoon we spent in the bar area doing things that three little boys under six ban me from doing; relaxing, reading the paper and chatting to wifey. Dinner that evening was lovely, service excellent and we retired to our room overlooking the welcome letter to the hotel addressed to someone else, the slow draining basin and the short bed.

Looking forward to breakfast I leapt from bed and rushed downstairs to be met by.... a 'continental' breakfast which us stout English types know is a euphemism for a crap breakfast. And crap it was. Well done toast, yoghurts and a choice of chocolate based cereals wasn't the smoked haddock fable my mate had regaled me with. No-one had informed us that due to a quiet, off-season period the breakfast's quality had been pared back. Still, we kept our counsel and ventured out for the day.

Dinner that evening was a vastly different experience service wise in that it was very poor but quite familiar menu wise as it was largely the same but with the more quality high end items missing and available to non-resident diners for mere £16 a pop for three courses. We sat down at half seven, ordered scallops for starters only to be told that these had already ran out. How many were ordered in? Two? Service was friendly but intermittent and chaotic with our table not completely laid up with required items and a request for water being met with a plastic jug that contained around 500 litres being plonked on the table. Consequently I had fish and chips (which were lovely) on both nights. The cheesecake dessert was divine and had my heart worried with every mouthful.

We fully expected a non stop stream of luxury but we met with tasters of what could've been. To be fair the duty manager was understanding and allowed us a discount that was in excess of the 25% being offered to those booking late and which was more reflective of our experience.

Should I be in a conversation relating to anniversary celebrations, I'll think twice before leaving myself feeling the same way my friend felt this morning when he asked how my weekend was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaseyFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are all sorry to hear that your stay with us did not match your expectations. We always aim to deliver exceptional service and although things were not to your satisfaction this time, I am sure if you choose to visit again we can more than meet your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    125
    66
    33
    23
See reviews for
98
343
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tucked away yet easy to find and not too big. What a lovely surprise from my partner to bring me here for a valentines treat. The location is a few minutes from the beach and it was very pleasant to have a walk around the village. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with mod cons a plenty. Dinner was proper lush and the service was amazing. The bar is hotel prices but they serve lovely cold rattler cider which is my boyfriends fave. There was a valentines parcel in the room which included chocolate body paint, yes truly... The breakfast in bed with proper tea and homemade granola was yum and arrived dead on time. Loved the sea view and I can imagine the patio would be splendid in the summer. Lots to see and do a short drive or coastal walk away. Thanks to the staff especially the ladies at dinner but all marvellous. I could go on but what I've missed I'm sure others haven't.

Room Tip: Car park or view, pay a bit extra if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janseym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed you surprise valentine break with us, and all the goodies in our valentine parcel. Thank you for the really kind comments regarding the staff, all of whom are thrilled you had such a great stay. You will have to come back in the summer and try the cider on the patio, watching the sun go down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My partner and i stayed for valentines and were very impressed with the staff and acomadation upon arrival we were upgraded to a stunning room with sea views.
The staff were very freindly and attentive the hotel had everything you needed for a romantic getaway dinner was lovey and you did not have to wait inbetween courses the waitresses were friendly and helpfull and the lounge areas and bar were great very clean and would recomend to family and friends cant wait to go back

Room Tip: Ask for room n.o 8 kingsize bed ,balcony and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are all very happy you enjoyed your valentine break with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, we are lucky to have a great team who make everyone feel welcome and it pleases them to hear they are doing such a great job.

The sea view rooms are spectacular, especially in the morning when the sun rises. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel. Great view. Room and staff were excellent. We ended up dining in the in-house restaurant for every one of our meals through our 3 day stay. Food was excellent. Can't say a bad word about the place.

The small 1 lane road to get to the hotel was frightening, but had nothing to do with the hotel. Because of the awful roads in the area, we never got back into the car until we left. The small village down the road at the bottom of the hill the hotel sits on, was quaint and had enough to see to keep us content.

We can't wait for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth - Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful news that you enjoyed your stay with us. The chefs produce some great dishes using the local, fresh produce we are lucky to be able to source. We also have a great front of house team, who endeavour to make each guests stay special. The hotel is tucked away down a small lane and this adds to the feeling of getting away from the hustle and bustle of life when you stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Myself and my husband stay for one nite in February we had a sea view room. It was lovely really felt like we was home very clean hotel lovely staff lovely food lovely room lovely place to go. Can't wait to go again we had a meal in the evening and the food was excellent .nothing else to say apart from if you the chance to go there weather it be for a evening meal or to stay make sure you do because you will have a lovely time !!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjenkins83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth - Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have not stayed at the hotel, but had an excellent lunch there. The building is clean and modern, with lovely views over the Cornish cliffs. There was plenty of contemporary outdoor seating for enjoying sunny weather. The food was well presented and excellently prepared. Altogether, a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. The views are spectacular and the outside terrace proves very popular during the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful! Views from room are stunning. Short walk to the bay, lovely location. The rooms are very very modern, bathroom lovely, can't recommend this hotel enough! The breakfast was delicious, I had pancakes both days as they were soo good. Would definatly return if they had a special offer as its quite expensive full price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful part of Cornwall with fantastic sea views. I am glad your stay met your expectations and hopefully we can welcome you back soon. We have some great special offers at the moment , so check out our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorran Haven
4.7 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
18.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Llawnroc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Llawnroc Hotel

Property: The Llawnroc Hotel
Address: 33 Chute Lane, Gorran Haven PL26 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gorran Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Llawnroc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, comfort and a warm welcome at this stylish getaway on Cornwall’s south coast. Here you’ll find a chic retreat where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the very best that Cornwall has to offer. With its spacious rooms, stylish decor, bespoke furnishings and stunning sea views, The Llawnroc hotel in Cornwall is dressed to impress. Inside the hotel you’ll experience a contemporary living space which would not be out of place in the world’s coolest cities. But step outside and you’ll discover the rugged beauty of coast and countryside in this idyllic corner of Cornwall. Sail, surf, walk the cliffs, explore the local beaches or stay in and soak up the splendour of The Llawnroc. And when it’s time to eat you can sample fresh local cuisine prepared by our renowned chef Neil Martin. At The Llawnroc we are obsessed with quality and committed to excellent personal service. Every detail at this luxury Cornwall hotel has been designed to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Visit us soon to experience this simply stunning escape for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Llawnroc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Llawnroc Hotel Gorran Haven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing