We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Again”
Review of The Llawnroc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Llawnroc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was in Gorran Haven for a hoiday, as I travel there frequently. It was my birthday and I alerted the hotel, asking them to reserve a sea view table in the conservatory dining area that evening when I was to visit for my birthday meal. They agreed to do this. When I arrived, there was no reservation sign on any sea view tables, these were all taken, and no-one there had any recollection of my call. Disappointed again! I have visited the hotel to take meals on quite a few occasions now and always there is something that makes it not quite as perfect as I would have hoped. Often there is some sort of staff confusion with an issue (ie as on this occasion), or there is some disappointment as I am a vegetarian who will occasionally eat fish, and the vegetarian option is usually just one dish. Why is this felt to be acceptable in this day and age, and in a hotel of this calibre? The food choices although limited, are good in quality and quantity, but I really am now questioning whether to visit elsewhere in future when holidaying in the area. Can I be persuaded otherwise?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KathyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Jess Bryant- Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed. Unfortunately our sea view tables are very popular with all the guests that dine with us and we do try to seat people appropriately. Regarding the menu, we can do other vegetarian options is required, or if the vegetarian option is not suited to the guest as we have done several times before. I wonder if you would be able to give me a call on 01726 843461 so I can discuss this with you and hopefully encourage you to come back to the Llawnroc Hotel where our chef would be happy to prepare something different for you. Apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 610 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, my wife and I were made to feel very welcome. We got a good deal by booking from the hotels own website (4 nights for the price of 3) and were still upgraded (FOC) to a superb Sea view room with a balcony. The decor is fresh and modern and the room we stayed in (room 3) is a good size with a fabulous bed. The bathroom is well fitted out and, I was glad to see, included a bath which was very welcome after some of the long walks over the cliff paths. The public lounges and bar areas are comfortable and not too cramped. The outside patio areas are provided with lots of seating, and give a great view over the village and out to sea. After reading some of the other reviews, I was prepared for some sloppy service from the waiting staff. But, over our short stay, I have to say we experienced nothing of the sort, the staff were very attentive and served us pleasantly and quickly. The 1 meal and bottle of sparkling wine we had in the Gwineas restaurant (Wedding Anniversary 22nd Sept) was very good. I would say the young waitress that served us was a little inexperienced, but her charm and friendliness more than made up for it. All in all, I think the Llawnroc is good value for money, excellently positioned in one of the quaintest little villages in South Cornwall, ideal for a base to visit the whole of the Roseland Peninsula, which has many gems to see. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely recommend and return to the Llawnroc. The only thing that could improve this hotel would be to add a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night over the weekend, on a deal which included dinner, bed and breakfast. Although the published rates are pricey, it is worth shopping around and also checking out the hotel’s own website, as some of the deals make staying here much better value.

Our first impression wasn’t too cheery, as we found the décor in the stairway and along the corridor more in keeping with a faceless Radisson hotel in London than this picturesque fishing village. However, the room itself was superb, very comfortable – again, a little clichéd ‘boutique’ rather than giving any sense of the local area, but the facilities were excellent (though the thermostat on the air-con only goes down to 18 degrees – too hot for us!). Comfortable bed and bedding, lovely bathroom, the room was an excellent size, too. A bulb had gone, we mentioned it to reception while we ate, and it had been replaced by the time we went back upstairs. We decided not to pay the £30 extra charged for a sea-view; public areas in the hotel all look over the sea, including residents’ lounge. At this time of year, and with a check-out time of 11am, it would have worked out at about an extra £5 an hour.


As well as the superb bedroom, the food is of a very high quality indeed. We had a lovely 3-course evening meal, with very friendly, prompt and attentive service. The cooked breakfast was also superb, with excellent locally sourced ingredients. However, service was an area which let them down, with only one waitress, and some lack of attention to detail. It took 20 minutes for a pot of tea to be served, and a further 25 minutes before breakfast arrived. I think this is an area that they can improve on, with perhaps one more person serving, and remaining in the dining area to oversee that the buffet is replenished promptly. On checking out there was an overcharge error of £100 in our bill, but this was promptly rectified as soon as it was pointed out.


There is a lot of effort and commitment here, and some of the negative remarks of other reviews must be disappointing for them. There are some things that need tweaking, certainly, but the basics of a good night’s sleep and great food are there already. 95% there, I’d say!

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for a sea view unless it really matters to you, sea views available in all p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyMadragora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Jess Bryant- Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to hear that we have just employed a very professional Breakfast Supervisor who is ironing out all the little problems we had in the breakfast room, and that department is now on the same level as the other departments. So I am sure you will be over-impressed on your next visit, see you then and thanks again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We staid at this lovelly hotel for 3 nights from 9th - 12th September 2012. The evening meal in the Goran restaurant was excellent and the staff all very friendly. We thoroughly recommend this hotel. If you're budget can stretch to a sea facing room we would recommend you do this as the rooms overlooking car park spacious but a little on the dark side.

Room Tip: We had a room facing car park which was lovelly but a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandhu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Jess Bryant- Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, it is lovely to get such wonderful feedback from our guests. Let me know when you want to stay again and I will ensure that you get one of our sea-view rooms. Speak to you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband chose this place as a surprise meal to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It took some getting to but was well worth it. We had a lovely evening and enjoyed beautifully served and good quality food.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gloslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Jess Bryant- Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am delighted that you spent your anniversary with us and enjoyed it so much; hopefully we will see you back with us again before your next anniversary. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay 10th Sept --14th Sept 2012.It is a pity the Goran restaurant is not used for the evening meals.The ambiance of the bistro does not match the quality of food served ,which is excellent.The staff although young as mentioned in other reviews were very friendly and not deserving of some of the earlier critical reviews. Would we stay again ,yes we would and we have stayed in many quality hotels over many years.

Room Tip: If staying at this hotel suggest we recommend the sea view rooms with a balcony .Extra cost well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvclassics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Jess Bryant- Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the Bistro and our staff. We are looking to soften the interior of the Bistro in the winter to create that special ambiance.
Thank you, and hope to see you back in Gorran Haven soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just spent 6 nights at the Llawnroc and it has been one of the most relaxing breaks we have had for many years.

Our main reason for the choice of hotel was its proximity to attractions such as the Eden Project, The Lost Gardens and Lanhydroc House as well as the ratings from sites such as Truip Advisor.

However, the actual expreience was far better than we had envisaged.

The staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful, attentive and welcoming
The room allocated was all we could have wished for, extremely clean with good furnishings, plenty of space, with good facilities.
The hotel had a separate guests lounge with plenty to occupy those who wished to have a quite night away from the bar
The Hotel had a top class resaurant with a classic and specials menu, which was so good we stayed there for most of our evening meals, even though we had originally planned to eat out most nights.

Finally; its location which in in the wonderfully quiet village of Goran Haven, which made for a restful evening, following our visits to attractions and site across South Cornwall.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenlandduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, Jess Bryant- Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

What a great review, thank you. We enjoyed having you hear just as much as you enjoyed being here. I am glad that you got out and about to see all the lovely attractions this area has to offer, we are in a great spot , close to everything but far enough to relax in a quite environment.
Thank you again, and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorran Haven
6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
6.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,621 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
11.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
941 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Llawnroc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Llawnroc Hotel

Address: 33 Chute Lane, Gorran Haven PL26 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gorran Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Price Range: $101 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Llawnroc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, comfort and a warm welcome at this stylish getaway on Cornwall’s south coast. Here you’ll find a chic retreat where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the very best that Cornwall has to offer. With its spacious rooms, stylish decor, bespoke furnishings and stunning sea views, The Llawnroc hotel in Cornwall is dressed to impress. Inside the hotel you’ll experience a contemporary living space which would not be out of place in the world’s coolest cities. But step outside and you’ll discover the rugged beauty of coast and countryside in this idyllic corner of Cornwall. Sail, surf, walk the cliffs, explore the local beaches or stay in and soak up the splendour of The Llawnroc. And when it’s time to eat you can sample fresh local cuisine prepared by our renowned chef Neil Martin. At The Llawnroc we are obsessed with quality and committed to excellent personal service. Every detail at this luxury Cornwall hotel has been designed to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Visit us soon to experience this simply stunning escape for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Llawnroc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Llawnroc Hotel Gorran Haven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing