We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Clovelly with large garden, lots of spots to relax in
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Clovelly with large garden, lots of spots to relax in
The Conservatory, ideal for a relaxing read with a glass of something nice! Easy to use log effect electric fire in the Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Clovelly with large garden, lots of spots to relax in
The Conservatory, ideal for a relaxing read with a glass of something nice!
Easy to use log effect electric fire in the Lounge
Lounge with large sofa, table lamp, tv and DVD player, CD player too
Kitchen with dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave,plus double oven
The Sun Lounge with luxury sofa bed, 2 armchairs and a rocking chair
Main Bedroom with double bed, plus view of the front garden.
Main bedroom with reading light above the bed. Towels, shower gel & beach towels provided.
Main bedroom lots of cupboard space provided.
Dining room with laminate flooring, cream tea provided for your arrival.
Places you can visit whilst staying at Clovelly.
Single room with ensuite shower room, Easter eggs provided for children at Easter.
Ensuite Shower Room
Twin bedroom with zip n link bed, Easter eggs provided for children at Easter.
Main Bathroom
Utility area and back door leading to the washing line and patio area, in full sun most of the day
Great view of the sea from the Cliff Path as you walk  to Vault Beach
Vault beach.
Gorran Haven Gala Day in August.
Looking at Gorran Haven from the sea.
Great Perhaver Beach
Walking down Chute Lane towards Church Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Gorran Haven, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kevin L
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Holiday”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Great place to stay, lots of room outside for the kids to run around.
Wifi is very useful as phone signal is poor.
Great beach and small shops that are well stocked for their size.

We return next year Insha'Allah

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay at Clovelly and we look forward to your return.
Chocolate cake will be ready.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of rooms well presented & cosy.
Liked least: There was really nothing I didn't like about it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and the trips out . Good to know that Cornish Country Kitchen was a help too. We look forward to having you back in 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scribbles...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A haven within Gorran Haven!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After scouring the country for a bungalow to suit our soon-to-be 87 year old Dad's limited mobility, my sister and I found Clovelly. We are so glad we did.

The bungalow has an en suite bedroom (great for my Dad), a twin room (my sister and I occupied this), a double room (in which friends of my sister stayed) and a sofa bed in one of the conservatories (yes, there are two conservatories!). Jayne kindly made up the sofa bed for us for when my sister's husband came to stay for one night. She deliberately chose a time when she knew we'd be out to keep out of our way.

The bungalow doesn't have a sea view but it is delightfully private with an immaculate garden with barbecue, which is gated - great for young children -overlooking tranquil sloping pastures and treetops. It is only a five minute walk down a leafy small road to pretty Gorran Haven, which has the safest swimming beach in the area. There are mackerel fishing trips on offer there for less than £20 per person if you fancy some sea fishing.

Gorran Haven has a sandy beach, a couple of small cafes, a decent fish and chip shop (!) and a small grocery, generally open from 8am to 7pm, where you can buy freshly-baked bread and cakes, crab sandwiches and papers. Close by, the quaint town of Megavissey has a range of specialty shops where you can buy more exotic provisions. There is a fish stall at the harbour there that sells fish you can't usually buy in supermarkets (we barbecued fillets of gurnard one evening back in Clovelly - they were delicious!). Lobb's farm shop also has some delectable provisions - it is next to the beautiful gardens of Heligan, only a 5 minute drive away (there's a great cafe there too).

Another evening, we ate at the Llawnroc Hotel - a short walk away (although we went by car because of my Dad's mobility issues). The meal was excellent. The menu had some interesting choices, the fresh fish was great, and, although the service wasn't as elegant as at Rick Stein's restaurant where we also dined, the prices were much cheaper!

For the more active, there are cliff paths from Gorran Haven to walk/run along, which have lovely views and countryside. There also are some pretty walking tracks very close to the bungalow that cut across open fields. One close to the village partly follows a small stream.

The bungalow itself was comfortable, spacious and spotless and extraordinarily well-provisioned. Items provided included barbecue tools, Tupperware storage boxes, a range of glasses, teapots, a cafetiere, a payphone (which accepts incoming calls), wi-fi, cleaning cloths, Brillo pads and even an iPod player - Jayne's attention to detail is astonishing!

The bungalow's decor is older generation only in respect of the heavy style of one of the sofa suites, the coloured bed linen/towels and the fitted wardrobe in one of the bedrooms (I doubt any of that would bother people (particularly the older generation!) but I'm bearing in mind the sort of traveller who expects decor to be as modern as that of hip hotels!). It isn't overly-fussy or overly-chintzy and the bungalow has lots of light in the communal rooms which overlook the garden. The dual oven has one of those hobs that was ever so easy to keep clean - it's more modern than the hob I have at home!

Jane provides the most delicious cream tea and even a service where you can order ready-cooked meals and cakes if you are feeling so minded. She is a lovely lady, who even offered to bake my Dad a cake to celebrate his birthday and gave him a card.

Clovelly is the sort of place that feels like an invisible fairy is looking after you, making sure you have everything you need (her name is Jayne!).

All in all, highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout
Liked least: Style of sofa a bit heavy
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Great to know that you enjoyed the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BionicWoman28
Reviewed June 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space - three different sittingrooms
Liked least: Turning out of the drive - get someone to direct you as fairly blind
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we were pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at Clovelly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal nature of the hosts together with a premium property.
Liked least: That my wife, Judith, made me walk so many times up and down the hill to the sea.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we certainly look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thoughtful way the property was presented and the recliner chair in the conservatory!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. Was a pleasure to have you stay and we are looking forward to having you come back next year. It is good to read about all the trips that you had and all the things you did. Heligan Gardens is a great place to visit if you find time next year. We are hoping to widen the entrance to Clovelly this winter, so that it won't cause hardship for other guests. But thank you for your comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
berkshire
Reviewed August 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2012
We are looking forward to having you stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing