We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location! Location! Location!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Watch House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watch House by night with guest's boat on private slipway. The Watch House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Watch House by night with guest's boat on private slipway.
The Watch House
The Watch House
View from lounge with wall bed closed
Wall bed folded down for use
IKEA leather chairs
Dining area
Kitchen refiited for 2014
The bedroom
Shower room refiited 2015
View from bay window looking left
The Quay from Watch House bay window
The beach at low tide
Looking back to Gorran Haven from SW Coast Path to Mevagissey
Vault Beach from SW Coast Path to The Dodman.  Gorran Haven behind headland.
Beach in February
The Watch House from the Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gorran Haven, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in June 2017

The Watch House had everything we needed for a perfect holiday in Cornwall from the well equipped accommodation to the stunning view of the beach and coastline. Brilliant to wake up to the sound of the sea shore and take a morning stroll through the pretty village. Great location for spending a day on the beach, walking around the area or going further afield. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“lovely to start the morning watching the sun rise over the sea”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

So glad we chose gorran haven and the watch house
the watch house has a terrific view of the beach and the sea and it was difficult not to spend lots of time being nosy about what was going on on the beach and in the harbour
The watch house was well equipped and satisfied all our needs
Gorran haven was ideal big enough to have a local store for food newspapers etc and a chip shop but small enough that it was not over run with tourists, and the local people were very friendly
we were going to Mevagissy thank god we did not, one visit was more than enough
The landlord was very helpful beforehand with advice on parking and the best route to get there

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Russell72...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a perfect situation.”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We could not fault the Watch House in any way. We had everything we needed and more. What could be better than the view from the living room window across the bay! We will definitely be back again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slugdude1
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beach as as your Garden”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Loved my stay at the Watch House. excellently equipped Flat. best sunrises.
Having the Beach as your garden is a treat as it changes all the time with the tides, i was bewitched by it..
More that enough to do nearby I recommend a walk on Dodman Point & a visit to Heligan.
Mevagissey is close by with plenty of Restaurants etc.
Gorran Haven has three nice cafe's a good shop and Fish & Chips. No Pub but the Llawnroc boutique Hotel serves non residents.
The stairs to the flat may be a little steep for some, but they have been ok since the 17th century.
I had a brief Easterly wind during my stay it whipped the sea up quite nicely, good to see it sunny and a little wintry all in one week.
I fished off the quay most days, I did not catch anything but there are worst places to be!
When it got wet & chilly in the evenings it was nice to have a nice cosy Flat so near.
Time to pick a date to book again!!
Good phone signal too Not sure this is a good point though !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Walk to the Car park
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happylobo...
Odiham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful family accommodation. Amazing views and an adventure for the kids!”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just spent a fantastic 2 weeks at the Watch House - me, hubby, son (3 yrs) and daughter (1 yr). We have been visiting Gorran Haven for years, but this was our first stay in the Watch House. The property is clean, looked after and very well equipped. The beds are comfortable, especially the fold out bed in the lounge. It suited my family very well - the kids thought it was such an adventure to be staying on the beach and settled in very quickly. With lovely views of the bay, our evenings were relaxed and cosy, looking out over the bay whilst eating our tea and playing Scrabble. Also a great location if you have a budding fisherman in the family. My husband was on the wall fishing as the sun rose in the morning.

Gorran Haven has a nice little shop called Cakebreads and we even ventured up to the Llawnroc a few times and made use of their play equipment. It's quite expensive in there but a good option for entertaining the kids if you fancy a change from the playground at the top of Bell Hill. Also they have a pool table for older kids.

Porthluney Cove by Caerhays Castle is a good day at the beach as an alternative to Gorran Haven beach. We spent most days in Gorran Haven though as the beach is very safe and there's lots to do with a cafe, kayaks and some shops. Found the chippy a bit expensive and was a bit disappointed that they served frozen chips instead of real chips. The Mermaid Cafe does nice food and even curries at night as they're open til 8.

The only thing I missed was a washing machine, but I think that just comes with having young, messy children!

Will definitely be staying here again hopefully :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing