We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly relaxation”
Portholland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Portholland
Pond Meadow Kitchen/living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Portholland
Pond Meadow
Kitchen/living area
The view from your sofa....
Kitchen/living area
View from your balcony...
A cooks dream....
I spy with my little eye......
Double bedroom with kingsize bed.
Twin Bedroom
Single bedroom. (Upstairs)
Upstairs hallway...
Bathroom
East Portholland Village
Portholland and Pond Meadow
Our resident chickens...and turkey!
Portholland
Portholland
Portholland
Portholland cove
View from the driveway....
Kayaks available to hire.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Gorran Haven, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lornaanng
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heavenly relaxation”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Spent a totally relaxing week with delightful hosts and their dog Murphy. Went with friends who. Cld only stay 4days , but a good time was had by all . Cottage well equipped and very clean , beds comfortable (goldilocks just right) Bonus for us no problem that we had 3 Jack Russell's lovely walks on beach and costal paths
Ducks hens pheasants .clear starry nights 3/5 beach fishing . Would stay there again anytime to recharge our batteries from city life stress !!
Many thanks Joanne &Kriss

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace
Liked least: Not meeting cars coming up the one track road , made it an adventure though
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Thankyou so much. Was
An absolute pleasure meeting you. Hope to see you again in the future. Jo and Kris x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blazye83
Fremington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of a place”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed here for a week.
we didn't have a car which we thought would be a problem but it hasn't been at all. It's just been a very relaxing week getting up every morning & walking out straight on to the beach has been just perfect.
The cottage has everything you need, kitchen is fully equipped, beds comfortable & the flowers, bubbly & yummy biscuits on arrival was a lovely touch!
Having your own little bit of enclosed garden is great especially if you have a dog with you.
The owners were so friendly nothing was a problem for them.
Over all would highly recommend if your looking for a peaceful week away by the sea.
We shall be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to the sea
Liked least: Nothng
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzan H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect beach holiday location without the crowds. We love Portholland and wished we had found it when our children were small. Its a perfect spot for kids and dogs and you really can park the car up and not use it all week. Take plenty of provisions with you as there aren't any shops (well there is a tiny shop but it really is quite small) but the cottage is well equipped with a freezer and everything you could possibly need.

The location of the cottage, in front of a duck pond, is quite enchanting and I guarantee if you have children you won't be disappointed. We have just returned from a wonderful week there but really missed not having our grandchildren
with us. Still I am sure there will be another visit before long.

! AMAZING FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL HOSTS !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No pub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorati...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Doggy Heaven 🐾🐾🐾”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had an amazing week in this wonderfully dog friendly cottage - recently re-furbished to a high standard, spotlessly clean, comfy beds and the Kitchen had everything you would possibly need during your stay. The front garden is enclosed which is perfect to keep you fur babies safe. This cottage is set in the one of the most idyllic and relaxing locations I have ever visited - 50 metres from an amazing dog friendly beach which my two working cocker spaniels & dachshund thought was 'doggy heaven'!! The owners Jo & Kris were very friendly & helpful, we very much appreciated the flowers, biscuits, prosecco & fresh eggs from their lovely hens. We will be returning to visit this 'little gem' - perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review, look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyeliza...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything we hoped for and more!”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Recently refurbished to a high standard, very cosy and comfortable. We had a fantastic week, the cottage is set in a perfect location. We had a great time exploring the beaches and coast line with our furbaby, and we all slept soundly - perfect!

The little touches were nice upon arrival, and much appreciated after a long drive; milk, teabags, biscuits, bubbly, fresh flowers and eggs from the hens in the garden.

We have very fond memories of Pond Meadow and hope to return, it was everything we hoped for and more!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrslab
UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous cosy cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful week at Pond Meadow Cottage, it had just been refurbished with a fantastic new kitchen, bathroom and furniture - it really is very well done.

Yes it is a "cosy" cottage but we fitted in well with our two large teenagers and Bob the border collie, there was room for the 4 of us to watch TV comfortably and the living area has been well designed to make the most of the space. The kitchen was extremely well equipped (even had insulated mugs to take down to the beach - nice touch) and the beds were the most comfortable ones I have ever had in holiday accommodation - we slept extremely well with just the noise of the babbling brook at the end of the garden and the crashing of the waves.

The cottage is warm and very comfortable and a lovely base to come back to at the end of a long day of walking.

The area is just lovely, very unspoilt with amazing walks right from the door of the cottage and great dog friendly beaches in every cove. It was great to be able to tumble out of bed in a morning and take the dog on a lead free ramble along the coastal path and a bit of ball throwing on the beach.

I would highly recommend Pond Meadow Cottage - we had such a good time and it really is a home from home (although it is rather nicer than my home!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review! Makes all the hard work worthwhile :-) so glad you enjoyed your week. Jo X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpfordy
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing cottages, tranquil location”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage really is fabulous, the owners have gone to a lot of trouble to think of everything you may need. Wonderful comfortable beds, well equipped, dishwasher, washer drier etc,. Netflix & Amazon prime on the TV, kept the teenagers entertained. Only things I would say bit of a squash around the table for 2 adults & 2 teenagers, but 2 of us ate with the food on our laps, not a problem for us. Also the TV is at an angle to the seating, bit tricky for everyone to see. But these are just slight niggles & over all I would highly recommend this cottage. The area is lovely, very quiet, super sandy dog friendly beach. Apart from a small cafe/gift shop there is nothing else in Portholland, so not for those expecting your normal Cornish seaside resort! Perfect for us. Easy to reach Truro or St. Austell by car if you want something more, once you've negotiated a couple of miles of narrow roads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds! And the location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing