We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to get away from it all”
Portholland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Portholland
Pond Meadow Kitchen/living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Portholland
Pond Meadow
Kitchen/living area
The view from your sofa....
Kitchen/living area
View from your balcony...
A cooks dream....
I spy with my little eye......
Double bedroom with kingsize bed.
Twin Bedroom
Single bedroom. (Upstairs)
Upstairs hallway...
Bathroom
East Portholland Village
Portholland and Pond Meadow
Our resident chickens...and turkey!
Portholland
Portholland
Portholland
Portholland cove
View from the driveway....
Kayaks available to hire.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Gorran Haven, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AdamtheWh...
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect place to get away from it all”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The guys that hold the other end of my lead took me to the wonderful Pond Meadow cottage, in East Portholland, This is authentic Cornwall, quiet, peaceful, a wonderful place to stay. Jo and Kris made us all very welcome, great hosts. I met chickens and ducks for the first time, got on OK with them... They do produce the most wonderful eggs that the boss said were some of they best he had ever tasted.

This is a beautiful cosy cottage, within 50 metres of the beach, and oh what a beach, when the tide was out I could run for miles, I went in the sea, and even my two owners took their shoes and socks off and followed me in!

The cottage has everything that you would ever need, we had milk, eggs and 'bubbly' waiting, that my owners drank very quickly.

it was a good idea bringing our supplies and my dog food with us, because you are 'off the beaten track' here, but within 10 minutes you can get to the pretty village of Veryan where there is a small, well stocked shop if you forgot anything.

There are so many walks, along the costal path, and into the valleys.

We loved the place so much that I have told my owners to book again for next year, and they have, I can't wait to get back.

Pond Meadow Cottage has everything that anyone would ever need to enjoy real Cornwall, quiet, peaceful and beautiful, add to that great hospitality and you have the perfect break, we all loved it, Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippappro...
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat, excellent access to beach and coastal walks, ideal for dog lovers!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were made to feel welcome at Pond Cottage and so too was our lurcher, Wolfie. Thank you for the welcome pack of flowers, milk and........wine!!! As it is a couple of miles to any shop, best to arrive with plenty of groceries.
Great beach at low tide for the dog to run along and the walk over to Porthluney beach and cafe with the quaint Caerhays Castle was an exciting descovery. The Ship Inn at Portloe served us a belt busting carvery on Sunday - excellent after the 2 mile hike up and down the cliff path.
Perhaps an ensuite loo would make the double room downstairs more user friendly, but we really enjoyed our holiday, thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serene location, lovely view of the sea through kitchen porthole and great walks along the coast paths.
Liked least: Lack of shop or pub in the village, so we were dependent on driving to a shop/pub.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkashan
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous, dog friendly, walking area.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was our first trip to Cornwall's south coast & even though it didn't 'wow us' like the north side does, we would return again to Portholland ( & of course to the lovely Pond Meadow Cottage ) as we were made to feel more than welcome with our dogs where ever we went. The coastline & surrounding countryside is very pretty & very dog-friendly, which includes the local pubs! :-) The dogs all adored the long beaches of Vault to the east & Carne/Pendower to the west, both a very pleasant walk along the coastal paths. The picturesque village of Veryan, is well worth a visit on the 'inland' walk back from Pendower.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Litter on Porthluney Beach!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel P
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Week!!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a fabulous week the weather was really good only had 2 mornings of rain so pretty good considering.
The cottage was perfect,Jo made it very welcoming with her little extra's.We took all our food for the first few days with us but there are 2 supermarkets in Turo about 13 miles away. There is nothing in Portholland at all so if you need supplies doi it before.
It was in a lovely quiet location,the cove did get busy when the tide was out and the sun,but we loved it and would recommend it.We are a family of 5 and the kids were able to go rock pooling every morning when the tide was out it entertained them for hours and we would take a cupa tea and sit with our deck chairs and watch the world go by.......It was so relaxing.
The cottage was very comfortable,especially the beds we all slept well.I used the washing machine and dryer quite a bit which was so handy.Jo and Chris gave us chicken and duck eggs which were lovely and the view across the pond was fantastic in the mornings.
I can't rate it enough a amazing week and Jo and Chris are lovely people.
Oh a little tip is they have a BBQ so take coals and firelighters.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimandTon...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting by the sea”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our weeks stay at Pond Meadow cottage exceeded all our expectations. We chose it because they welcomed dogs and the beaches in the area are dog friendly. The three bedroomed cottage was tastefully decorated and included everything you could possibly need. It has its own little fenced garden and overlooks a delightful duck pond and a relatively secluded sandy beach on the doorstep. We enjoyed scenic coastal walks, kayaking and swimming. There were plenty of other activities within the area and we can recommend visiting the Lost Gardens of Heligan, St Mawes and St Just Church. The highlight was going on a two hour fishing trip from Mevagissy Harbour led by Matt in which we caught enough fish for 4 meals (a bargain @ £13 pp).
We all had a fabulous time and will definitely be visiting again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - beautiful unspoilt clean beaches and countryside
Liked least: slipway to the beach rather steep
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana S
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed June 26, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The cottage was in the perfect position by the beach, just sheltered enough to avoid winds when weather is bad but near enough to feel right on the beach. Great walking and coast path for dogs, walking West required more stamina than East!
Suggest you do food shop in civilisation before you find the cottage because once there you never want to leave. The host family are extremely approachable, welcoming and friendly with great gifts on arrival...bubbly, eggs and flowers....exceptional.
We took two dogs and were glad we took an absorbant sheet with us which we put in the tiled hall to take the worst off the paws. The cottage is too lovely and clean to destroy! no hesitation in recommending this for any family combination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and friendly ambience
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$508
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing