We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Location”

Review of The Old Sawmills

The Old Sawmills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Sawmills
One of the 5 bathrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Old Sawmills
One of the 5 bathrooms
One of the 3 ensuite rooms
6 out of 7 of the bedrooms have superb views over the water
Family room
Medieval quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Golant, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BrewerDav...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical Location”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house itself is a good venue for a large group. It's finished to a good standard with plenty of space and is finished to a high standard. A big range cooker and plenty of large pans are well suited to catering for a large group. If there is a criticism it's that the main living space is a little small for very large parties. BUT...

None of this mattered because the location is just magical. Every time I looked out of the window I couldn't believe where I was. The tidal creek outside fills and empties allowing access by boat for a 5 hour window around high tide. We hired a boat and were very glad we did. It was like having the opportunity to live a different life for a week, living by the rhythm of the tides. The estuary of the River Fowey beyond the creek is absolutely stunning and gives the opportunity to explore by boat.. Popping down to Fowey for groceries became a treat that everyone wanted to do.

If you do want to get out at other times it's about a 10-15 minute walk through the woods back to the parking in Golant.

The only negative was that the company operating the parking in Golant put tickets on 3 of our cars when we'd been unable to buy tickets because the machine was out of order. When the machine's working you can buy tickets for 3 days at a time. This was in no way connected to the owners of the cottage but is a point to be aware of.

As earlier I'd forgive this because of the location - if you get a chance to stay here I'd take it in a heartbeat. We have caught the bug and we're now looking for other cottages with boats for our next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Location, Location!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. I'd just like to reassure potential guests that the Sawmills will shortly have its own private parking so they won't need to use the pay and display carpark in the village anymore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maninseat...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday adventure with overnight sleeper train”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I had an absolute blast here - and most of my 20 strong group spent at least part of the weekend working out how to repeat it.
We got the overnight sleeper train from London which made the journey part of the holiday - also a full weekend was possible without taking annual leave. A quick taxi ride and a boat trip meant that London was far away both physically and mentally. Perfect.

Ruth couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The pictures do not do the place justice - there really isn't anyone else nearby but you can still walk to Golant or Fowey for a pub lunch. Everything works but is not so pristine you worry about having a large group.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness of rural riverside location
Liked least: The rain - it was avery wet week
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KernowScr...
1 review
“beautiful tranquil location, high end accommodation”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

we hosted out Christmas party at the sawmills in golant. the main room is spacious, a fabulous wood burner , the kitchen area ample for preparing for 20+ people :) bedrooms are comfortable, the location though is second to none, set in a small creek on the banks of the river fowey, serene and peaceful. Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most fantastic isolated location”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate friends 50th birthday, was a surprise for her.
Got boated into the property and was amazed at how special the place was. Well equipped and very cosy even though plenty of space for everyone.
We went to the pub in Golant and walked back in the dark through the woods which was an experience but good fun. Second night we went to Fowey by taxi from Golant and were dropped off at Penventinue and walked down the much safer and easier track back.
Overall we had a fantastic weekend and I would thoroughly recommend the accommodation and location if you want somewhere to chill and relax but also to have some good fun without disturbing anyone else. We will definitely be back.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulgarr1...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Peaceful, isolated, back to nature (in luxury)”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I stayed in the lodge for a long weekend right at the end of the season. It was a great experience. I didn't really pay attention when booking and didn't realise quite how isolated it was, but it was fantastic. Saying that, they will boat your luggage into the property, we only had a few things so walked along the path (the Saint's Way) through the woods from Golant. It's about a mile into the middle of the village (20 mins walk). You will need a torch to get back. The path is mostly fairly even with a few steep parts, not too strenuous even after a hard day trekking around Cornwall.
Golant is a lovely little village with a lot of heart. The pub, The Fisherman's, was very friendly and the food and drink were good. There is also a hotel in the village serving food but we didn't try it. We had a large dog with us and were not sure if they would be happy with her. The pub worked fine for evening meals. If you wanted to eat in the lodge it wouldn't be a problem, it is well equipped. We only made breakfast there and then spent the whole days out. You could also walk into Fowey, we didn't try it but it doesn't look too far. There are lots of places to eat out in Fowey.
The lodge was very comfortable, very clean, well maintained. The shower was very nice, plenty of power. All in all a nice place to stay and very peaceful little break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not taking a torch
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ijallen52
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique property - brilliant group holiday!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed in the Old Sawmills with my family and friends (13 of us in total) for a summer break and a week-long exploration of the south Cornwall Coast. The accommodation is an old renovated Sawmill which sits in an isolated creek off the River Fowey. There are 7 bedrooms in the main building which we used (the are other bedrooms available in the lodge next door which we did not need/rent and the whole property can house up to 20 people.). The manager Ruth (who was great!) met us on arrival and ferried our luggage to the Mill by boat. There are only two ways in and out - a woodland path (15 minutes from the nearest car park) or boat. This completely isolates the Mill and adds massively to its charm and the general peacefulness that permeates the property. The facilities were very good, all bedrooms were well appointed and most were en-suite. The open plan lounge and kitchen were very comfortable and well equipped and the conservatory held dining tables big enough to cope with all guests. The property also boasts a recording studio which has been used by Jessie J., Oasis and other top groups. Wildlife abounds around the grounds with swans, ducks, king-fishers and an otter all making appearances. The only draw-back is access in poor weather. Hiring a boat is a must and good walking boots recommended (although wellies were also left at the Mill for guest use). If you want to try a property with a difference in a quiet location - then this is for you - very highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The uniqueness and tranquility
Liked least: Access in bad weather
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing