We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and experience”
Review of Penquite Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penquite Farm
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My family, 8 adults and a toddler, stayed in the Old Granary the week of the 3rd to the 10th of May this year. We had a wonderful time. The accommodation was excellent and met our needs exactly. The living area is large with lots of comfy seating and the kitchen is fantastic with everything we needed to cater for 9 and I enjoyed using the Rayburn. The cream tea and breakfast that were left in the fridge for us were a nice welcome.

The garden is large and accessible, and it was a shame that the weather stopped us using the outdoor seating and gas barbeque, however the weather didn't stop some of us using the large trampoline just outside the garden.

One of the highlights of the stay was feeding the animals with Ruth most mornings. Our toddler was fascinated, not having seen farm animals at such close quarters before and eggs we collected were some of the best I've ever eaten.

Ruth was extremely helpful and gave us lots of useful advice, which we appreciated and made this one of the best holidays we've had in ages.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillieCat1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Penquite Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've stayed at Penquite Farm for the last thee years, twice at Coaches Rest and once at Church Meadow. The perfectly located luxury accommodation is spotless with top quality furnishings and equipment throughout and with great attention to detail. There's a large private garden area behind each property with lawns, flower beds and a patio with garden furniture and a barbecue. It is an ideal base to explore the surrounding area including The Eden Project, Fowey, the Lost Gardens of Heligan and many fine walks including the South West Coast Path with stunning coastal scenery. We hope to return for a fourth time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here with another family in the Old Granary. The accommodation is fantastic to such a high standard. Cream tea and breakfast sausages/bacon/eggs in the fridge on arrival. Ruth and John are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them. The children loved going with Ruth up the field in the mornings and feeding all the animals. There is a massive secure garden out the back and a bbq area. The games room (which is shared with the other two holiday lets) proved very popular with our children. We have been there two years on the trot and hope to go back next year too.

Room Tip: The Old Granary is for up to 10 people (two adults rooms and two rooms that can take up to three eac...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is the second year my family and I plus our friends family has stayed at Penquite Farm. Ruth, John are so welcoming, kind and genuine lovely people who do their utmost to ensure you have the best holiday possible. As they have lived in Golant for many years they have vast knowledge of the surrounding areas of Cornwall and are very willing to tell you the best places to visit whilst on your holiday. There is also a guide with lots of brochures in each of the 3 properties that you an stay in that gives lots of choice on where to go and what to do.

We stayed in The Granary and there were 9 of us 4 adults and 5 children. The Granary is amazing, it is so huge that neither family felt like you were living on top of one another.
All the rooms have lovely decor, each bedroom has an en-suite and the kitchen is fully equipped with all that you require.
There is a freshly made cream tea awaiting you on arrival and bacon, sausage, eggs and milk too!
There is a games room which is accessible to all 3 properties which our children throughly enjoyed and it is with great reassurance that we felt our children were safe on the farm as there is no traffic and you are not in highly populated area.
You have the opportunity to help Ruth feed the animals every morning with the assistance of Tom the dog too and watch out for Molly the sheep, she is a real character!

The views at Penquite Farm are breathtakingly out of this world and we are looking forward to our third return visit with our families next year..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THMHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golant
0.0 mi away
Chark Farm
Chark Farm
#6 of 21 in Bodmin
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Farm
Luccombe Farm
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbas
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cormorant Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golant
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penquite Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penquite Farm

Address: Golant PL23 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Golant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Golant
Price Range: $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penquite Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A self catering holiday in Cornwall is all about location, relaxation, wonderful scenery and a wide choice of things to do. Here at Penquite Farm and the Fowey River valley your Cornish holiday cottage will ensure your long awaited break excels no matter what your priority. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penquite Farm Golant, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing