We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cormorant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place for a short break”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Went for 2 nights here....Sat Nav takes you to the back of the hotel from where there is no entrance...you need to go the road which is parallel to the river vs the one road before. We got there late and they were happy to leave a key out for us with directions to how to find the room (mind you, it's not a very big hotel anyway).

We got the room with a view towards the river and it was great! Big Wide windows which slide open...we were in room 10 which has a mini bar (small basic fridge), full tea making facilities, lots of storage etc. Nothing to complain about at all EXCEPT that the walls are somewhat thin and I could hear the next door's Snoring at night, coughing and then the alarm clock in the morning..better sound insulation would definitely benefit the rooms.

Breakfast service is very polite and professionals. When I was leaving the hotel I noticed that it is rated as a 3 star hotel which I was surprised about. With the way the staff, rooms and breakfast is..I was under the impression it's a 4 star!!! Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guyandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    91
    56
    20
    7
See reviews for
12
269
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a superior room. Lovely views and a nice little balcony. Room was nothing fancy but, very clean, nice bed linen and towels. Also a very nice touch, a jug of fresh milk in the fridge, which is so much nicer than longlife cartons. Also homemade biscuits provided each day.

The food was fantastic. Different menu each day. Beautifully presented food with amazing flavours. Both dinner and breakfast excellent standard.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The view is wonderful the food is wonderful, and yet somehow the whole experience was disappointing. Booked it for partners birthday and was hoping at the prices charged it would be wonderful. Boutique hotel in this instance can be translated as not sure what style we are trying to achieve'. Little things like the IKEA chair in the room that was filthy, the cobweb on the ceiling and the rust on the electric towel rail let the room down, along with the old fashioned cardboard door on the bathroom. Almost there on the design front but.... And why a small double bed? Room was big enough for a five foot bed, a superior room should have a king size bed. The promise of wifi in every room but that did not work and when it was mentioned got told it was due to the weather. I do not think so, internet yes but their wifi network no. Oh yes if you are going for a romantic weekend, beware the rooms are not sound proof, the couple in room 11 were having a good time, well she was by the sound of it, well done them! I think you pay for the view. 7 out of ten

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbearEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have not stayed at the Cormorant, but have just dined there as we have many times before, and the food is more than excellent, strongly recommend it! The staff are charming and the price is more than fair for the very high standard. The wine list is excellent. Do try it!! Kirstie R

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstieFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back after 5 nights at this hotel. We had a superior room with a very private balcony, yes it was a small room with only a very small wardrobe, but how much room do you need for sleeping! The staff were lovely always a smile. The food was excellent, I recommend the pork dish, the only downside is apart from a couple of 'chefs specials' the menu didn't change. We would definitely stay there again.
The one thing I didn't like was the crazy paving steps leading up to hotel as the bannister rail was very wobbly and therefore I did not feel safe going up or down, if fact one time I nearly fell land had to grab the conifer tree on the other side, (hence graded 4 not 5.
The place could do with a few little odd jobs doing, such as fixing the above, but all in all it's a lovely place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and am pleased to say it was as good as the last one.
We had room no.14 with a juliet balcony not large but adequate but lovely view and peace and quiet only broken occasionally by a train passing through to the china clay works. The entrance is steep drive up to the hotel. The food was excellent with lots of local produce excellently presented. Staff were all really helpfull and friendly looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked this hotel for two nights via Booking.com and were allocated room 7. This was a reasonably sized room with a full balcony with a superb view up-river. We really took advantage of the balcony with its table and chairs as the weather was hot and sunny. We did get a Wi-Fi signal in this room.
We received a good welcome on arrival and were escorted to our room. All staff were courteous and polite. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was really enjoyable. Prior to the meal, we were shown to the lounge where we could order drinks and view the menu. Once we had ordered, we were given canapés to go with our drinks. Once our meal was ready, we were escorted to the dining room.
The first morning was bright and sunny and tables were laid out on the decking as well as in the dining room – we chose to eat outside and had a most enjoyable breakfast. On the second morning, I did have a problem with my cooked breakfast, which was replaced at my request.
The drive up to the hotel is steep as mentioned in other reviews.
The pool and sauna are at the far end of the car park away from the hotel and accessed by a gated entrance with a coded lock – reception will give you the code. Towels are available on entering the pool area. There are loungers and tables and chairs and an outside deck area for use. Only one changing room with a glass door and no-where to store your clothes.
Because it was warm, we slept with our windows open. At 05:30 on the first we were woken up by the alarms on the level crossing in front of the hotel (the railway runs between the hotel and the river), shortly afterwards a freight train crawled past. Ok, it gave us a chance to see the sunrise. A one-off we thought, but the same thing happened again the next morning at the same time. Since breakfast is served until 10.00, we had the opportunity to lie in. The freight train returns sometime later in the day.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Cormorant.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golant
1.9 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,334 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
4.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cormorant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cormorant Hotel

Property: The Cormorant Hotel
Address: The Cormorant Hotel, Golant PL23 1LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Golant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cormorant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel nestles on the hillside high above the magnificent Fowey River in Cornwall, close to the Eden Project. An independent luxury hotel set in a glorious location, and we pride ourselves on individual attention to all our guests. 14 guest rooms, all en-suite, all with exceptional river views, most with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cormorant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormorant On The River Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel Golant, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing