We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Torfrey Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Torfrey Farm
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed in Mulberry for 1 week at the very end of April. As the other reviewers have stated, it was perfect in every way. Plenty of crockery, cutlery, glasses. Lots of storage space. Super comfortable sofas and beds. There was even a basket of board games!!
The onsite facilities are great too - my little girl especially loved the swimming pool! We paid a visit to Lisa the goat most days and had a lovely time on each visit to the hobby farm too. My daughter was especially excited when we had morning visits from Sparkle the cat - what a friendly boy he is!! We didn't make use of the games room, but that was great too - as is the collection of DVD's etc.
Debbie gave us a wonderful greeting and was super helpful the entire time we were there.
We loved it so much, we've booked up to come back for Christmas!!! We're hiring Mulberry and Linden. We're all thoroughly looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed in Mulberry for a week in June 2011. Everything we needed was there upon arrival. 6 adults and 1 child and 1 dog. We were extremely comfortable and not over crowded. Facilities on the site were excellent. These cottages are a superb base for exploring the South West.
We would highly recommend South Torfrey Farm. Run by a lovely couple who just let you get on with your holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyHampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We spent a week at the GillyFlower and we are likely to make this our regular holiday destination. The farm is beautiful and we were given a warm welcome by the owners. Every cottage has its own character and the GillyFlower in particular benefits from its own private position overlooking open fields. It is furnished with taste and makes you feel instantly at home. As previous reviewers have noted, the cottage is fully equipped with what can make your stay enjoyable and effortless: cot, stairgate and a baby bath tub for the toddler; ensuite toilet / shower in both bedrooms; full kitchen appliances, if you prefer to cater indoors (including dishwasher, washing machine and a tumble drier). We ended up using the gas barbecue almost on a daily basis, while sitting on the decking that overlooks the green pastures beyond. The kids loved spending time at the playground every morning, the trampoline being my daughter’s favorite. Another of her favorites was collecting fresh eggs from the farm chickens. A range of other activities included ping pong and pool table, gym and indoor swimming pool and a book and DVD library – though we were blessed with gorgeous whether and didn’t get to use any…. Fowey and Polkerris beach are a 10-minute drive away. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christos_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

We hired 4 of the 5 cottages for our group and were very impressed with the overall standard throughout. The refurbishment was good quality and the reception rooms spacious and very comfortable, as were the beds which all had electric blankets.
Every possible utensil required was provided and the cheerful delivery of kindling and logs for the woodburners was an added bonus.
Each cottage had it's own garden with barbecue in a lovely setting. I would definitely recommend and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

We took Gillyflower for one week in June and had a truly lovely time. The setting is rural idylic with guinea pigs, chickens, goats, sheep, birds and ducks for the children. The peace and quiet is amazing and on the fine weathered nights we could sit outside on our own terrace and have a BBQ (I believe each property has their own). The cottage itself was very well thought out and had every utensil catered for- including microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble drier, food processer, blender and the list goes on.....Proximity to Fowey was great and well worth a look around and an outing to Readymoney Beach in Fowey is worth it. We also loved Polkerris beach which was also very close by. When the weather is not so good, you also have use of an indoor pool as well as access to their extensive DVD library should you need it. All in all we were very sad to leave and have already recommended this to some friends. Hoping to pay a return visit some day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee&Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golant
0.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chark Farm
Chark Farm
#4 of 22 in Bodmin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cormorant Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Torfrey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Torfrey Farm

Property: South Torfrey Farm
Address: Golant PL23 1LA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Golant
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Golant
Hotel Class:4 star — South Torfrey Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the charming waterside village of Golant, 3 miles from the historic port of Fowey, our five stunning holiday cottages have been stylishly converted from the original stone buildings. At the heart of a working organic farm they offer the perfect base from which to explore the delights of Cornwall. Our cottages are thoughtfully furnished and well equipped with everything needed for a restful break for both families and couples throughout the year. And because we don’t underestimate the value of a good night’s sleep our king size mattresses are pocket sprung and made ready for you with 100% cotton linen. Bring the Whole Family: There is plenty of space for children to let off steam: an outside playground, trampoline, indoor playroom with pool and table football, and indoor swimming pool and sauna. Sit back and relax while the children have fun. With so many great walks, direct access to the Saint’s Way and within easy reach of the coast path, there’s no reason to leave your pets at home. We welcome the whole family at South Torfrey and four legged friends go free. English Tourist Board inspected (4 and 5 stars). Disability and wheelchair accessible (MA3) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Torfrey Farm Golant, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing