We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
11
0
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
0
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 12 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We drove down from Sussex and arrived late at night at the Sunday House. Turning off of the main road we drove down a steep lane covered by trees and arrived in the sleepy fishing village called Golant.

If Bilbo Baggins had walked up the road I would not have been surprised. Golant is the sort of place where the world stops...zero mobile reception and the possibility to relax and hear the silence.

The house is a converted church with very tall ceilings and the owners have cleverly worked out how to place 3 bedrooms and a kids "den/bedroom" into the old stone building. Golant is on an estuary and be careful when you park your car near the pub 100 meters away from the house...the tide can rise and "wash" your car.

The house is cosy and has all of the mod cons and my only negative point was that the church organ does not work! The incredible Eden Project is nearby and we visited the beautiful beach called Lantic. You can hire sea kayaks at the bottom of the lane near the water and explore the estuary.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank triniINprovence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Sunday House is unique , unlike any other place . We slept like logs , the beds are so comfortable ! Every thing in the house was well, thought through and done in espickable taste. It's very quiete, a great place to relax with friends and family . We can recommend it highly , and we hope to return soon
EVELYNE Boren and Michael Sadlier Sayulita Mexico and Santa Fe NM. US

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artistboren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived at the Sunday House just as Cornwall was experiencing some it's worst floods in years. The torrent of water running down the tiny road to the village had us slightly concerned that our stay in a riverside cottage might not be such a good idea, but once we set foot inside The Sunday House, this was quickly forgotten. The house has been beautifully renovated and we were really very impressed with the layout and the quality of the decoration. The bedrooms are beautiful and each has it's own lovely luxurious bathroom. The kitchen is well equipped and the dining area is stunning. We came to visit our family on the other side of Cornwall, but to be honest we were so cosy we didn't want to move. Our girls loved the games in the children's room and were so happy they left us in peace to read and relax. This is a beautiful house and very well decorated and equipped. I hope all enjoy and relax in it as much as we did. Thank you to the owners for providing such a high quality and well maintained place to stay it was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A family of 7 with 2 toddlers and a little baby stayed for a week in August and loved it. It's very atmospheric, comfortable, spacious and everything that we needed was there. To be quite honest, it's perhaps not ideal for those with toddlers because there are quite a lot of stairs but, having stayed before, we just knew to take our travel stairgates. We enjoyed the spacious lounge on an evening, the comfortable en suite bedrooms with fla t screen tvs and drinks out on the terrace in the sun. Golant is fantastic, parking fairly nearby, a lovely local pub and a great walk to Fowey. We expect to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked the Sunday House for a family reunion In Cornwall. All members of the family, young and old, were impressed with the house. The kids loves the children's room and there was enough space for 6 adults to co-exist without falling out. The house was well presented and had the wow factor with high ceilings, an old organ and large windows. Golant is a very pretty village, we tried out the local pub and the restaurant at the Cormorant hotel which were both good. We also used the private chef recommended by the Sunday House one night which was an excellent experience. Overall I would definitely recommend the house as a great self catering option.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieKershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews