We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Fairbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crantock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crantock
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I came to this hotel with a friend who had offered glowing recommendations about it and I have to say that I was not at all disappointed! Elaine and Paul are marvelous hosts, who go the extra mile to make your stay as special as they can. The home cooked food was always excellent and I can highly recommend staying in the hotel for any of the evening meals!!! They were delicious. With a location that is close to both the South West Coastal Path and a lovely beach, what more could you ask for? I had a fabulous time during my short stay and would not hesitate to recommend Fairbanks to anyone. Thank you Elaine and Paul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janarcher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay here at the Fairbank Hotel. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and the food we cooked for you. It is gratifying to know that guests enjoy their stay in this beautiful part of Cornwall. We hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
79
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from this lovely small hotel which is just a few minutes walk from the village of Crantock. We were made to feel very special and nothing was too much trouble from both Elaine and Paul.
The views were second to none and the cleanliness of this hotel was exceptional.
We stayed for bed and breakfast only and I have to say the breakfast was very good.
Both my husband and myself would recommend this hotel and we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Goose (ensuite) overlooking the bay, not a big room but adequate for a short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and appreciating the efforts we make to ensure our guests have a good stay. The views are just lovely and help to make people's stay that more special. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire England
Level Contributor
309 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just spent a marvellous week staying with Elaine and Paul at The Fairbank. Everything was first class from start to finish. Both are very warm and welcoming and will always go the extra mile to meet your needs. Everywhere is clean bright and spacious. There's a lovely bar with the bonus of good real ale. The garden makes for a relaxing place to sit as well and the rooms are all well appointed,and in our case with a great view to the sea. The breakfasts are very good and dinner is also excellent with a menu which changes daily. Can I find fault? Not really, though not sure why there's no complimentary biscuits in bedrooms. Look forward to returning to more of the same, including the wonderful weather we enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
It is a really good feeling to read such a lovely review, so thank you for appreciating the efforts we make for our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Fairbank Hotel and will look forward to welcoming you back here one day. Complimentary biscuits? Well, no we don't put them in the rooms but it does avoid you getting crumbs in the bed! You can always request some on your next visit and we will be pleased to oblige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Came here on a recommendation. The experience from start to finish excellent. The room good, the shower fantastic. The breakfast cooked for you on request was excellent just enough. Elaine and Neil couldn't be more helpful, even printing off a route home via Tavistock for us. Thank you no detour as our other trips out. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to come to the Newquay area.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the house sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and had a trouble free journey home. Not quite sure who Neil is but no doubt he does just as good a job as Paul!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

this has to be the best hotel I've ever stayed in,if your lookimg for a hotel in the Newquay area this has to be the one,paul and Elaine are two of the nicest people ever,nothing was to much trouble,making my stay very relaxing,the single room I had was fab with nice comfy bed and huge ensuite shower room,the food both breakfast and dinner is superb,with the most stunning view from dining room and conservatory bar,cannot recommend highly enough,thoroughly enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
You certainly managed a relaxed holiday Paul and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

my husband and I were looking for somewhere to stay in the area having camped near Crantock many years previous. A great place to stay for our 25th wedding anniversary.Our room with four poster bed tea and coffee making facilities was superb. Views to die for from the bedroom window across our favourite beach the sand dunes and the sea.This Hotel is immaculate and nothing was too much trouble for the owners who were welcoming and great fun. Including drying my trousers on return from a walk in a massive storm .cream tea in the garden on arrival was a pleasant way to start our few days away.Our 22 year old daughter joined us for the first night and was delighted with her room and expressed a wish to return within minutes. breakfast was delicious and the evening meal on the second night was the best we have eaten in a long time. Congratulations to Elaine and Paul on providing a wonderful place to stay. We will recommend to all of our friends. Thankyou for an amazing experience Sue Nick and Alana

Room Tip: chose a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Lucky us, two lovely reviews! You so obviously enjoyed your return to Crantock, it really is a very special place and holds good memories for many people. I think we will be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I were looking for somwhere to spend our 25th wedding anniversary in this area having camped in the area many years previous.We were not disappointed. This small hotel has the most amazing views. Our room with four poster bed did not disappoint with views over the sand dunes and crantock beach. Itwas spotlessly clean and with tea and coffee making facilities was perfect. The owners were welcoming and fun and nothing was too much trouble, even drying my trousers when caught in a downpour . Breakfast was superb and our evening was the best we have had anywhere in a long time. Our 22 year old daugher also stayed for one night and had a beautiful single room and instantly expressed a wish to return. Will recommend to all of our freinds

Room Tip: A room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewiemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to make your comments following your stay here at the Fairbank Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your special anniversary and that everything met with your approval. Crantock is a beautiful and special place, we look forward to welcoming you both - and your daughter back here sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crantock
0.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
906 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbank Hotel

Property: Fairbank Hotel
Address: West Pentire Road, Crantock TR8 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Crantock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crantock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairbank Hotel is a family run small hotel perfectly located in a tranquil, traditional Cornish country village by the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairbank Hotel Crantock, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing