We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patio in the sun”
Review of The Bowgie Inn

The Bowgie Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Crantock
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cornwall is renowned for its stunning coastal locations and dramatic seascapes, and if you haven't visited The Bowgie Inn in Crantock near Newquay, you're yet to see the best. Situated on West Pentire Headland overlooking the stunning Crantock Bay, the views from this famous pub will take your breath away. The surrounding area is a walker's paradise sandwiched between the unspoiled beaches of Crantock and Polly Joke. It's just a short stroll from The Bowgie to the coastal path which will take you on a circular walk of the headland, passing both beaches. On route, you'll be treated to spectacular views of the wild Atlantic Ocean, spot seabirds at play and work up a well-deserved appetite. A 'Taste of the West' Member, The Bowgie's traditional menu includes prime selected ingredients, Cornish produce, great food offers, local ales, well-chosen wines, an acclaimed luxury hot chocolate, and of course, the pub's famous Sunday Roast Dinner served all day. The Bowgie is open everyday from 11am, serving great pub lunches from 11am - 3pm and evening meals from 5pm - 9pm on week days and all day on Saturday and Sunday. Food is also served all day during school holiday periods. With fantastic sea views, lots of seating inside and out and a sun terrace for those warm Summer evenings, The Bowgie and the surrounding area is the perfect place to explore all year round. With a large private car park right outside the door, this must-visit Cornish treasure is accessible for all.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Patio in the sun”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sat for a well earned glass of cider while walking the coastal path, had a nice lunch -big portions. Sunny spot overlooking the sea. car park

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jpc1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallypickles, Owner at The Bowgie Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. Our Patio in the sun is a great place to be, especially as a stop off on a coastal walk!! Our portions are renowned for being on the large side!! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    262
    133
    112
    144
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newquay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Microwave Chef”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Was very disapointed, rocked up there especially as its out of the way. Amazing stormy day and got served a load of prepackaged food straight from the freezer section of the local cash and carry which was then as bland as stuff from the microwave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Davey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallypickles, Owner at The Bowgie Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Bowgie Inn, we are sorry you were disappointed.

Many of our dishes are homemade and we have a wide selection of homemade Curries, Quiches, Steak Pies, Lasagnes.

We buy groceries from our local Cash & Carry, most pubs do I imagine, however we do not serve prepackaged meals.

We would welcome you to visit us again and chose somehing from our homemade specials board. Or try one of our Steaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Very good Sunday roast with a choice of meats-not processed! Real fire. Fantastic views. Friendly staff. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missy_SLC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallypickles, Owner at The Bowgie Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, it's great to hear that you enjoyed our Famous Sunday Roast. The team here at The Bowgie look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Typically Cornish”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location, stunning views overlooking headland, good food, friendly atmosphere not so dog friendly. Stunning views looking out to sea, great locals, ciders and beers. Well worth a visit from beach for sunsets. Car park small and pay and display elsewhere. Will re visit again when visiting Newquay for the views alone ..................................................................................

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

What can I say??? Views are incredible, and great outside area but the rest is a bit of a let down. Came for a Xmas party night so was expecting a great night. The buffet was a disappointment that none of us really enjoyed and was definately not value for money and the atmosphere was not great either. We made the most of it as it was our party night but wouldn't recommend unless the management make some serious changes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnaby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallypickles, Owner at The Bowgie Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Sorry you were disappointed by your Christmas party.

Our Christmas Party Nights are fantastic!! With James Bond Theme, Complimentary drinks on arrival, Live Bands, Casino Tables, Luxurious Festive Buffet, Chocolate Fountain, Bond Movies, Fancy Dress, Prizes.

All for £20 per person - and groups of 10 or more get massive discounts!

Many of our Party guests return every year and most guests are repeated bookings! from previous years.

Readers should know that we plan on sticking with the theme and you will be able to book online for 2013 very shortly, join our mailing list via our website to get the latest info on events at The Bowgie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bowgie Inn also viewed

Crantock, Cornwall
Crantock, Cornwall
 
Crantock, Cornwall
Cubert, Truro District
 

Been to The Bowgie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing