We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage in the heart of Crantock”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Crantock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Holli G
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in the heart of Crantock”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Crantock itself is a wonderful village & The Hinges is a lovely place to stay. We liked that the bedrooms had ensuites and the upstairs master bedroom with separate little sofa area was great. I enjoyed several afternoons here with a book. The sitting room was comfy and cozy and the kitchen spacious and well equipped. The little garden area was nice with French doors opening out onto it. There is a useful utility area which I used for dog bowls etc. My only little niggles would be that the upstairs bedroom could do with another chest of drawers (not enough storage space for 2 people to properly unpack with what's up there) and a washing basket with pegs (not the handful of broken ones on the line) would have been useful - having kids I did need to use the washing machine a couple of times. Overall I think this is a quality place to stay, not as cute from the outside as other cottages in the village but it's bigger than it looks and it has parking. I think it's quite expensive but so is everywhere else. You pay a premium for staying in such a fantastic location.
The Albion did a good Sunday roast if you're interested and the cozy nook tea garden does a lovely cooked breakfast. Walk along the beach to C bay cafe (next to the Bowgie Inn) for great views and good food, coffee & wine.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi Q
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely modern Crantock cottage”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely modern cottage, think we've found our holiday accomodation that we will be coming back to time and time again! Crantock village has all you need for a Cornish family holiday. Beds we're lovely and comfortable and there is enough storage in the bedrooms for your clothes etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan living area
Liked least: no stairgate up stairs, unless you took the one from downstairs
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjMacca
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury in a lovely village”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Hinges last August for a couple of weeks. The cottage has been beautifully renovated to provide very comfortable accomodation with modern ensuite bathrooms and only 5 mins walk to a fantastic beach. The only negative (four stars rather than 5) is that the garden is quite small and don't catch too much sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely decor and close to the beach
Liked least: Small garden
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage with all the mod cons in a great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely week in Crantock in this cottage. It was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and had lovely modern facilities. The kitchen is spacious and the bathrooms very luxurious. There is a small garden which is handy to rinse the wetsuits and get all the laundry dry. There are a couple of good pubs just a short walk away for eating out, and the beach is within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clazzagez
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, stylish cottage, really comfortable and well equipped, in beautiful Cornish village.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We loved the cottage - appreciated the well-equipped kitchen, which made feeding the 5 of us a pleasure. Bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully furnished, with a fabulously stylish and comfortable sitting room. Crantock itself is lovely, and with the village shop a minute's walk away, the pub two minutes' walk away, and the beach just five minutes, we couldn't have wished for a more perfect Cornish retreat.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn G
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nightmare at No 3 The Hinges”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
10
people found this review helpful

What a shame!! First impressions are of an interesting cottage situated in the beautiful village of Crantock. You can see that a lot of effort has gone into the design and layout of the building and it does have quality bathroom and kitchen fittings. Unfortunately that is where the good points end. Very quickly you become aware of the lack of storage space in the downstairs bedrooms and the lack of any shelves or storage in the bathrooms means everything has to remain on the floor for your entire stay. The dingy light bulbs, make things very dull with some bulbs not working at all. Our daughter and husband were occupying the upstairs with their 10 month old son and were horrified with the high pressure and scalding temperature of the bath water so you definitely need to be aware and very careful of this, another example of the lack of detail which could easily be sorted out with a little thought.

I would guess this cottage was very nice when first let but now the furniture has had its day and there is an overpowering smell of dogs on the sofas and carpet. We were very disappointed with general cleanliness on arrival and appalled to find out of date fish and other food left in the freezer, a kitchen bin you wouldn't want to go near and a dishwasher with enough food scraps at the bottom to make a fry up, so this did spoil/ruin our first evening and following day, in fact we delayed unpacking until late the first night in case we decided to move on. We had already phoned our contact, explaining our concerns which the owner overheard and when he asked if there were any problems we told him and pointed out the disgusting state of the floors including dog hairs on the beds and all around the skirting boards and he became belligerent and told us to contact the agents if we weren't happy, luckily his wife came and told us she would be back with the cleaner and to her credit she responded reasonably quickly the next morning and cleaned the cottage and left a sorry note and two bottles of wine as some sort of compensation.

Would we go to Crantock again? Yes. Would we stay in No 3 The Hinges again? Not a chance.

Glyn George

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: The cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2012
We are extremely sorry that these guests found their accommodation lacking in the areas outlined.

The owners of 3 The Hinges have spent a lot of time, effort and money maintaining and presenting The Hinges to a very high standard and were very disappointed that these guests found the property lacking, and as with all feedback will carefully consider whether changes should be made.

However, sometimes things go wrong, as in this case, but we are pleased to note the problems identified with the cleaning were promptly dealt with. Clearly all guests should find their holiday cottage properly cleaned when they arrive.

If anyone looking to book 3 The Hinges has any questions or concerns about this review, please do not hesitate to contact us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing