We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NAVY Passing out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Fox Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Crafthole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NAVY Passing out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

My son was passing out from the navy and we needed accommodation for the night before so we selected the Liscawn Inn

Service Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us

Food Excellent home cooked food very very tasty

Accommodation of a good basic standard

Bar Provided reasonably priced beers and drinks

Hotel was very clean

Lovely setting

Room Tip: Sleep in the min building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandJulieRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    55
    8
    14
    2
See reviews for
87
65
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ignore past reviews of Liscawn Inn as there are new owners. I booked on Wed 30th Oct 2013 by phone before reading any reviews. The new owners, Steve and Gaynor, had only been the new owner for a few hours.
They were polite and very efficient and said our dog was welcome.

Liscawn Inn is welcoming and clean and we would definitely return again. The toiletries are more than expected, the rooms were very clean, the staff were very helpful and there was a wide variety of teas and coffees available in the room. The meals were just what we wanted and well presented.

Do not hesitate in considering Liscawn Inn. The new owners have turned over a new leaf and we would not think twice about returning again. What more can you say?

Vicky and Chris 10-11-13

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

On our way to the beach, we noticed that the Liscawn Inn is under new management and we thought we'd call in for a lunchtime drink. As we were enjoying sitting by the fire with our drinks, we were tempted by the delicious food going past and decided to stay for Sunday lunch. We were not disappointed. We all ordered the roast beef dinner; it was really good, ample portions, steaming hot and great service from the friendly new owners. Nothing was too much trouble and even our dog was given a dog biscuit. The setting of this place is stunning and the owners have great plans to update the interior. We would agree with the previous review; ignore all earlier negative comments and visit yourself.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Liscawn Inn for a breakfast business meeting on 8/11/13 and received a very warm welcome from Steve the new owner. The bacon bap was awesome, as was the coffee! This gorgeous place is set in stunning grounds and if the food and staff are any indication this will quickly become a very popular venue. Ignore any previous negative reviews, the Liscawn Inn is under very motivated new management.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karenanddavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were very lucky that our first day here was also the day that the new owners, Steve and Gaynor arrived and took over this lovely hotel. When we arrived, we had been a little disappointed with the room as there were a few cobwebs, a dirty kettle, no hairdryer and it looked in need of a little tlc. We were not, however, disappointed with the size of our room or the overall look of the hotel, its beautiful grounds and views and the tranquil location. Steve greeted us on our first morning with an apology for any service/cleanliness we had initially found, explained it was his first day and he was in total agreement with our findings. He outlined to us some of his plans for the business and that definitely included the décor, furnishings and cleanliness. That same day a new kettle and hairdryer was in our room, and it smelt and looked so much cleaner and fresher when we returned at night. Nothing was too much trouble and on discovering we were from Bury, he even arranged for Bury black pudding to be part of our full Englishbreakfast the following mornings! We had so much lovely food at breakfast that we didn't need lunch (apart from one compulsory cream tea, that you must have when in Cornwall!) and are very much looking forward to returning next year to enjoy and appreciate all the improvements that we know Steve and Gaynor will have made and wish them every success with their new venture.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a fantastic couple of nights. Our room was clean and tidy and really for £70 a night (for 2 of us)was fantastic value for money. No it's not a Hilton, and I wouldn't go there expecting it, but it's a very lovely place. Ok there are cobwebs etc but i thought it all added to the charm, it is an Inn in literally the middle of nowhere so you would need to expect a few cobwebs. The breakfast was fantastic. The manager was very accommodating and great company. Would definitely revisit AND would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A little disappointing. The actual location of the inn is beautiful and is quite impressive from the outside but on entering is really quite dreary and dark and can't help feeling is a little rundown. The entrance hall and stairs were quite dirty certainly needed a good clean, which was only done the once during our stay and that was not very well done. Cobwebs also as you come down the staircase. Bedroom on the surface looked clean but on looking for a switch behind the bedside table and button to switch on the TV it was very obvious this had not been cleaned for some time. Bar was always empty, certainly not inviting, quite dark and dreary certainly didn't make you feel you wanted to pop in for a nightcap, always looked closed. Found the owner to be rather lacking personality, felt he had quite a take it or leave it attitude, only ever saw him throughout our stay, he seemed to do everything. Also very shocked that there were very few people staying there which I couldn't help thinking said it all. Breakfast was ok but felt some of it was microwaved

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crafthole
0.7 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
4.6 mi away
Friary Manor Hotel
Friary Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
0.0 mi away
Finnygook Inn
Finnygook Inn
#2 of 2 in Crafthole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#6 of 11 in Torpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Fox Hotel

Property: Little Fox Hotel
Address: Whitsand Bay, Crafthole, Torpoint PL11 38D, England (Formerly The Liscawn Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint > Crafthole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crafthole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Fox Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant, Bar & Hotel set in stunning location with far reaching views across to Dartmoor and just a short stroll to the coastal path. Open all day for good, local, freshly made food & drink. Fabulous beer garden and outside terrace areas, licensed for civil weddings but perfect for all functions. Muddy boots & waggy tails welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Little Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing