We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food - well worth the visit”
Review of Finnygook Inn

Finnygook Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Crafthole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food - well worth the visit”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We visited the Finnygook Inn on Easter Sunday and had the most delicious roast dinner. It would seem that all the food was freshly made as opposed to being bought in. Good hunks of meat and great veg that we all enjoyed. Plus the puddings were delish too!

There was only one downside... it was really really warm in there :(

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    112
    38
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“excellent food & surroundings”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

stumbled upon the Inn by accident due to lack of menu at a previous Inn. However much to all our surprise the Inn was excellent.
They had a good range of ciders and ales and very good staff, pleasant and warm.

The surprise was the restaurant food, which was the best we experienced in our stay in Cornwall.

It was a welcome to see fish on the menu and not just scampi and fish and chips, which is often the only seafood we could find for an area renowned for its fishermen and seafood.

If you want excellent food, surroundings and staff then look no further

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank matt j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Can only echo previous good reports, really good sea-food starter. the scallops where brilliant. the steak fillet was prefect. Blue as i like it. really melt in your mouth stuff. Will be returning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great place!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

After visiting the gook we came here for Sunday lunch and it was fantastic! One of the best roasts I've had in ages! Staff were friendly and helpful. One thing I can't seem to understand from reading other reviews is people's reluctance to wait more than 5 minutes for food. If you wanted a microwaved meal then there's a great service station up the road! Everything was great and I will definitely be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Franciska J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
“HOW VERY BAD”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We booked a table for 10 on Saturday the 29th March 2014 for 19.30 to celebrate a family birthday with friends.
Prior to this date we ordered and paid for bottles of wine that we asked to be placed on our table with glasses for when our party arrived, this did not happen. We then sat at the table with bar drinks and eventually a waiter attended with the white wine only to tell us that the Red wine we had ordered and paid for was not available and would we accept an alternative to which we had to say yes.
This took another 30 minutes to arrive. We then waited another hour to be offered complimentary olives and bread with an apology for the delay with our starters. Yet another half an hour before the starters arrived and when they did there were 3 short. After a further 20 minutes we asked where the other 3 starters were only to be told by the waiter that he had forgotten to order them, by this time the rest of the table had finished theirs so the other 3 went without. At this sage the waiter did say that we would not be charged for the starters.This was little compensation for those who had not even had a starter! During this time we had also noted that several tables who had sat down after us had been served not only their starters but also their main courses.
Eventually under threat of leaving our main courses arrived, over two hours late. The steaks were chewy and not served with the vegetables we had asked for, presentation was poor and overall disappointing.
Because of this we did not bother with desserts and would not bother returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynmal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnygook Inn also viewed

 

Been to Finnygook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing