We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Finnygook Inn

Finnygook Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Crafthole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went here solely on the back of Tripadvisor ratings and reviews and were not disappointed.
On arrival, the car park is small and tight and the pub isn't anything to look at from the outside. Thereafter its a gem.
Its really a restaurant as there were no locals in for a pint on a Sunday lunchtime.
We received a warm welcome and they checked off our booking. We were led through to the library and a lovely table in the window with great views of the Lynher and Dartmoor beyond.
For Sunday lunch there was a great deal of choice - not just roasts, though that is waht we plumped for.
The plates were full of meat and gravy, although the vegetables where a bit of a stretch between two.
Throughout, the service and attention to detail were excellent, with one minor blemish. All the staff seemed genuinely keen to ensure that we had a good meal.
Coffee was served generously and then we settled up. It wasn't cheap but refreshing to find somewhere where the quality of service was important to the hosts as well as the guests.
We negotiated the car park which was now full and tight to get out of but will be back when next in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pilgrim404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 406 of 519 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great, freshly prepared lunch and enjoyable surroundings. Al the staff were friendly and helpful. I would certainly go again and perhaps stay in one of the B & B rooms.

Thank fussycherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to the Finnygook Inn for a meal on our last night of our weeks long holiday in Cornwall. We booked a table as we were told that it might be busy but when we arrived found the restaurant very quiet for a friday night. The restaurant is nicely set out with plenty of space between tables. I ordered the Lamb with pepper ratatouille and my husband ordered the Home made burger. My lamb was very disappointing it was chewy and didn't have a lot of taste. The ratatouille was undercooked and appeared to have diced carrot in! The burger was good.

Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowrider186258, Manager at Finnygook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Sorry that you were disappointed at your visit to us. The restaurant does get very busy on some nights, so maybe you came early and beat the rush! As for the lamb.. we would have been happy to remake it for you.. or give you some desserts on the house! Come give us another go!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice atmosphere, tasty food , great location.

Maybe a bit pricy for what it is but it's all good quality.

Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowrider186258, Manager at Finnygook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thanks for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed the food.. the price certainly reflects the quality of the ingredients that we use, but if your concerned with the price why not visit us for curry night.. a choice of three curries, naan, rice, poppadoms, chutneys and a pint or glass of wine.. for £8.. or fish on a Friday.. choice of fish, with chips or potatoes and a side with a drink for £10.50!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is my second visit and I have enjoyed both. The food was very tasty and well presented and served by friendly staff. The view at the back is lovely looking over the countryside and Rivers Tamar and Lynher. I loved the furniture in the Restaurant and especially the Library on the side wall - all tastefully done.

This place is well worth a visit - the food is excellent. My favourite pub in Cornwall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank poshpetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowrider186258, Manager at Finnygook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thanks for your kind words! Your favourite pub in Cornwall! That is praise indeed in a county that loves its drinking (and eating) holes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnygook Inn also viewed

 

Been to Finnygook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing