We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finnygook Inn
Nearby Hotels
Whitsand Bay Hotel(Portwrinkle)(Great Value!)
$87
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crooked Inn(Saltash)
$126
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sportsmans Arms(Menheniot)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
59
33
22
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
33
22
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish pieb bsunday lunchplymouth soundbooked a tableportion sizesattentive and friendly staffnachospuddingfollowing morningate herelast weekendcoastal pathexcellent foodhms raleighmeal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 135 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were apprehensive after reading the last review but how wrong can someone be. The staff were friendly on our arrival. The food was excellent and we all had different fresh fish dishes which were of a high quality and reasonably priced.. The pub was busy but the service was most efficient.
I could not fault our visit in any way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExeterGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were previously regular customers of the Finnygook Inn when it was pert of the Brunning Family eating houses. We tried it again for the first time since it changed hands and were very dissapointed in the quality of the food, the quantity of some of the dishes, the inefficiency and lack of friendliness of most of the staff. Not a pleasurable experience.
The soup came in a very small bowl although the taste was ok. Next came the excuse for a steak which was tough, over cooked and just warm. My wife had crab linguini which was tasteless and contained no obvious signs of any crab (just crab paste). The staff didn't visit our table to check if all was well with us so we didn't complain until we paid our bill and the response from the server was not very positive!! The new owners should appreciate that the previous manager was very much a people person and that's important for a small establishment like the Finnygook.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night after a friend's wedding in Palhawn Fort. I was very impressed with the service. They let us check in early so we could get ready for the wedding. The breakfast was delicious and the service was good. The only downside was the shower, which was more like a drip!

A good B&B, especially convinient if you are going to a wedding in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We ate here on Friday and had a lovely meal. We had a long wait for our food but the staff were aware of the delay and gave us some fresh bread to munch on while we waited. The food was worth the wait and the puddings were to die for. The Eton Mess made a 13yr old lad a very happy boy lol
We had to go to the bar to order drinks and to pay so spent some of the evening wandering about so that was a bit of a shame but the staff seemed rushed off their feet, Otherwise, in terms of quality of the food we would recommend the pub.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracytroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were staying in Portwrinkle so this little gem of a pub was our 'local', We went there a number of times just for a drink, they sell Cornish ciders and real ales, a typical country pub with friendly welcoming locals. We ate here once, we were a party of 9 and hadn't booked so couldn't get in the plush restaurant side so sat in the bar. I wouldn't recommend eating in the bar, it's too small and busy for a relaxing meal and the waitress tended to forget about us a lot of the time. The staff seemed overworked and took ages to serve us. The food itself was superb, big hearty meals and the fish dishes were amazing. We were given the dessert menu and we were all ready to order but after 30 minutes no-one had come back to us to take our order so we decided to go home and make our own. It was a shame because we had had a lovely meal and evening in general. Try and book before you go is probably the best thing to do, but on the whole it's worth going for the excellent food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debefc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews