We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, fantastic service, top quality food”
Review of Treglos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treglos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A gem of a hotel. We found all staff to be extremely helpful and professional throughout our stay, creating a relaxed atmosphere across the hotel with nothing was too much trouble for them.
We ate several dinners at the hotel (as well as lunch, breakfast and afternoon tea) and the food was delicious every time.
We will definitely be going back to the treglos soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderwoman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Really pleased you enjoyed the hotel and food and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 415 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband took me to Treglos towards the end of April to celebrate my special birthday, and, despite the weather we had a truly lovely time, it was a year since our last visit (far to long in my opinion!) and, as always the staff pulled out all the stops to make it extra special. The daily newsletter at breakfast was a nice new touch, and a great idea. So, if you are looking for a charming hotel, big comfy beds, super staff and seriously good food, then this is the place for you. The beach is a short walk away (close enough for a quick stroll before breakfast) and there are many lovely places to visit close by. There is a swimming pool and beauty salon on site, with plenty of comfy areas to sit for a pre-dinner drink or coffee. Go, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Have stayed in several different rooms, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review and we are all pleased you enjoyed your birthday with us.We hope you can come again next year ( if not sooner !)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Needing a short break away from the pressures of day to day office life, the mobile phone and email, we recently revisited this charming hotel situated in its most envious position above Constantine Bay on the rugged North Cornwall coast.
Recent reviews reported on changes recently made but we were pleased to find that the charm and ambience of this family owned hotel has not changed, and were welcomed back as if members of the family by the ladies on Reception and shown to our room by the hotel porter who also remembered our name and quickly delivered our cases to our room which was very clean spacious and well equipped.
Not wishing to waste any time we set off for a brisk walk down to Constantine Bay and round to Treyarnon Bay to work up an appetite for Dinner. Many reviewers have commented on the Dress Code ruling for the Restaurant, this has been relaxed in more recent years and we did not encounter anyone complaining about this or the standard of the food prepared, we always enjoy dressing for Dinner and to the Dinners themselves, we were not disappointed.
Breakfast is always superb here as well and the next morning we were not disappointed once again, great choice and cooked to order.
For Golfers, the Hotel has its own 18 hole course a short distance away, and there is an indoor heated pool and the Glo Spa where treatments are reasonable priced with a good choice.
Pleased that the Hotel is moving with the times while still retaining its charm, its situation for a relaxing holiday or as in this case a short break away is ideal, well done everyone

Room Tip: Sea views rooms offer wonderful views down from the hotel gardens to Constantine Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambourntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and I'm glad that the gradual changes we have made have not detracted from your enjoyment of the hotel and beautiful Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel on the 8th & 9th April after getting married that weekend. We stayed in Room 2 (I think) which was one of the lovely 'suites', with a balcony and sea view! It was great, nothing over the top but provided everything you needed! Especially big, soft and very WHITE towels and pillows!! The hotel is in a great location for padstow and is also within easy walking distance from the beach - just what we needed after a large breakfast! Which was once again, great! We didn't have any spa treatments but did use the pool facilities which were lovely and again very clean. I could go on and on, but altogether a brilliant stay. Thank you to Treglos Hotel and all your staff for making our honeymoon period so special :) We will return for our first Anniversary next year!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay after your wedding and thank you for taking the time to post this review. We shall look forward to seeing you on your anniversary !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend stay at the Treglos Hotel where my partner’s daughter held her wedding reception. We travelled from all over the country, from Yorkshire, Lancashire, Surrey and even Australia! There were other hotel guests on Friday but as far as I’m aware it was just the wedding party on Saturday and I think we took over all of the rooms. First impressions were good and the welcome we received was warm (fires roaring in the public rooms) and friendly. The staffs were attentive and couldn’t do enough for us. We had a spacious suite on the first floor with a balcony (room 19) the bed was comfortable, Molton Brown toiletries, robes, and huge soft towels, hairdryer. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a TV in the bedroom and the lounge. Tea/coffee making facilities, a safe, with irons and boards available on request. I also saw the inside of rooms 2 and 16, both were lovely. The hotel is traditional – no high gloss and stainless steel, instead thick carpets and polished wood, home from home. We didn’t use the pool facilities but those that did said the pool was lovely. We did have spa treatments and the staffs were again very welcoming and friendly.
On the Friday evening we had a large family dinner in the restaurant and the food was delicious, well presented and right sized portions. Breakfast is a mix of buffet (fruits/cereals/pastries etc) with cooked to order traditional English, haddock, kippers etc.
On our return from the church we were served canapés and champagne, accompanied by lovely music from the guitarist, Giles. This was followed by the wedding breakfast for approximately 100 guests. The service provided by the restaurant staff was excellent and the food again was delicious. The evening followed with dancing and then at 11pm bacon and sausage rolls. We never felt rushed; in fact we were able to carry on dancing until gone 1am, those that still had stamina retired into the bar where I believe the last people went to bed around 4.30! From 8’ish the staffs were there to greet us again for breakfast. Afternoon tea is also lovely, plenty of homemade cakes and scones. Sunday lunch was a buffet affair of sandwiches, wedding cake, beef stew and chunky bread. The food served throughout our stay was of very good quality and well presented.
Treglos Hotel is like being welcomed into a family home. All of the staff were helpful and friendly throughout the weekend and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you all for making our time there memorable. We look forward to a return visit in the future and we will make sure we take the time for some country/seaside walks and the pool.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - it's worth it. Higher floors probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you very much for posting this review. Our team really enjoyed looking after your wedding group and are delighted that you all had a good weekend and everything went smoothly.
It is great when the whole hotel is booked by one party as we can really cater for their needs and a special atmosphere prevails which is especially important for a wedding.
We are very pleased that you are planning another stay at Treglos and we look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Over priced, now overly clean, food average, general feeling quite stuffy. The location suited us perfectly but I was appaulled at how much we paid for a fairly average experience. This is definitely not a family hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

I'm very sorry we did not meet your expectations during your overnight stay in March. I have tried to contact you to get some more information but unfortunately no response as yet. We do have facilities for children including a pool table, table tennis, outdoor play area and indoor swimming pool which hopefully you were able to take advantage of. As a four star hotel we are very competitive in our tariff and if there was an error please do get back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter for 2 nights over the Easter holidays and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the pool was lovely and warm and we used it twice a day as the weather wasn't great! It was mostly empty too which was good for us.
The jacuzzi was a bit smelly due to the amount of chemicals used and it broke down the first day we were there and was still out of order when we left. The infra red cabin was also out of order the whole time which was a shame. It didn't stop us enjoying our break tho.
I'd booked a room without a sea view to keep the cost down a bit, but we still had lovely views across the gardens with the sea visible. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening as the menu seemed a bit fancy so ate in town, just a 7 minute drive away, and plenty to choose from there.
Breakfast at the hotel was great, a big choice and nothing seemed too much trouble. The only thing I would say is on the first morning we were one of the first guests down to breakfast and with lots of staff they were very attentive and keen to help, lovely as that is, they seemed to be watching us ready to pounce if we needed anything!
Overall we had a fab time and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and I'm glad both you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. Padstow does have lots of great places to eat but hopefully you will try our restaurant if you stay with us again as we do have a special menu for younger people in the school holidays.
The whirlpool unfortunately broke down at the same time as the infra red cabin but I'm pleased you enjoyed the warmth of the swimming pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantine Bay
3.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,497 reviews
4.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
18.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,594 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treglos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treglos Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Constantine Bay, Padstow PL28 8JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > Constantine Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Price Range: $201 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Treglos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Treglos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing