We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and Very Average”
Review of Treglos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treglos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Sited in a good location with the beach nearby and Padstow a few minutes drive away, the hotel can best be described as rather tired and somewhat old fashioned. We were informed by the manager, after we had voiced our disappointment regarding the restaurant to one of the staff, that change takes time as a lot of the regulars are older clientele, so maybe I am too young at nearly 69 to appreciate the 1940's doors to the rooms and painted wallpaper from the same era.

The hotel, however, is clean, has a pleasant garden, a good swimming pool and the staff are friendly and courteous at all times but it is still very old-fashioned whereby the pool area is very well laid out but the changing rooms looked more like rooms from a bygone era.

The biggest let down is the restaurant where, although the service was very good, the food varied from excellent to very poor in terms of both cooking, edibility and quality whereby some parts of the evening meal were totally bland whilst others were very good. As for breakfast, the excuse that some of it is batch cooked (the fried bread needs a chisel) is a nonsense when the wait would indicate that everything is being freshly prepared and where it takes less time to cook fried bread than to fry an egg properly. We note that the owner stated in response to a poor review in June that the issues had been addressed but the manager stated on our departure (27th September) that the new chefs were still bedding in and that it was work in progress. Maybe I will be in the right age bracket by that time.

To summarise the hotel can best be described as average with good staff service and attitude but let down by too many little things. Both my wife and I stop at hotels throughout the UK and worldwide and have seen better three star hotels and guest houses.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are better but beware as ours only had partial views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie and Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy every aspect of your stay but did find some menu choices "excellent" and parts of the hotel to your liking.
It is difficult to please everyone all the time but we are lucky in that the majority of our guests young and old thoroughly enjoy their holidays at Treglos and return regularly to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 415 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the end of August on a late deal. A perfect seaside hotel. Efficiently run, smart but not stuffy. Lovely colourful gardens and just a short stroll from magnificent Constantine Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Treglos.
It is really nice to hear from guests who have enjoyed their visit and gives us all a welcome boost.
Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We are due back to this hotel next year in august for our mini honeymoon with 14 of our family after what is going to be a hectic wedding and I can't wait!!!. I have been going to this hotel since I was 8 years old (20 years) and have loved every stay plenty for kids to do during the day and then adult time of an evening a really good mix. Hotel is a fantastic location just a short walk from a beautiful beach. Staff are Always so friendly and helpful but if I could suggest one thing please can you clone Wally he was amazing. Can't wait to see you all again next year x

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma8485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

What a lovely review.
It's so nice to hear you have enjoyed visiting Treglos over such a long period of time.Look forward to seeing you in August next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We certainly fell on our feet when we booked this hotel after booking the Metropole Hotel in Padstow, only to be informed just days before we we due to arrive that there would be a wedding reception and our room would be affected (obviously this would have been booked months before our room was booked) The Metropole showed very little sympathy and only offered us a tiny discount. (hardly relevant as this was a an anniversary weekend for us)
We therefore chose the Treglos and we were a little nervous about being a few miles from Padstow. We needn't have been!!!. The position is quiet and so handy for the beach. We ventured into Padstow and had a look at the other hotel but the impression was it was dated and very dowdy.
We have stayed in some very luxurious hotels in the last twelve months, but the staff at the Treglos really made us feel welcome and valued. The room and view were good. The food and service were excellent and very good value. We shall certainly choose this hotel again. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Front Office Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you very much for posting this review. We are very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and also appreciated our stunning location at Constantine Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the cottage ajoining the Treglos Hotel - and found it very quaint and homely. There was plenty of space and it had a very private garden with the added benefits of accessing the hotel via a back gate and a short cut to Constantine Bay. The accomodation was clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Front Office Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

For walking the Cornish coastal path, touring north Cornwall, surfing, or family beach holidays, the Treglos has it all. The views from the sea facing rooms are good, the walking along the coastal path reasonably level and with fabulous seascape views, and the location is ideal for touring north Cornwall by car.
The service in the hotel is really excellent, nothing is too much trouble and the staff are experienced and keen to please. The breakfast menu is first class, with local produce and good helpings. Afternoon tea with home made cake, jam, scones and Cornish cream is exactly how this traditional fare should be served and the bar lunch snacks are to a good standard, both in choice, value and taste.
Dinner is not as good as it used to be....the soup course and cheese trolley have gone and the choice of fish, although locally sourced is not as varied as previously. The choice of meat courses and the wine list are both more limited than a year or two ago, however the vegetables are local, plentifull and well cooked.
Live music in the dining room is often played at weekends and contributes to a convivial atmosphere; as does the dress code. All in all, good value for money and a very enjoyable holiday experience.

Room Tip: Try to book an upstairs suite facing the sea....and remember your binoculars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthTrufflehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you very much for posting your review and all the positive comments you have made,they are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Treglos Hotel is a very special place indeed. We consider ourselves lucky to have found this gem of a hotel nestling in the hills above the stunning Constantine Bay. There is something for everyone, kids have the den, the pool or the lovely gardens, there are comfy lounges, a well stocked bar and a super restaurant serving local food on a daily changing menu. Once you arrive just lock the car and enjoy everything Treglos and Constantine has to offer, the excellent attentive staff will take care of everything else.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your response.
All the team are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantine Bay
3.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,498 reviews
4.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
18.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treglos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treglos Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Constantine Bay, Padstow PL28 8JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > Constantine Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Price Range: $200 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Treglos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Treglos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing