We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couln't fault anything”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Treglos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Treglos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couln't fault anything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We certainly fell on our feet when we booked this hotel after booking the Metropole Hotel in Padstow, only to be informed just days before we we due to arrive that there would be a wedding reception and our room would be affected (obviously this would have been booked months before our room was booked) The Metropole showed very little sympathy and only offered us a tiny discount. (hardly relevant as this was a an anniversary weekend for us)
We therefore chose the Treglos and we were a little nervous about being a few miles from Padstow. We needn't have been!!!. The position is quiet and so handy for the beach. We ventured into Padstow and had a look at the other hotel but the impression was it was dated and very dowdy.
We have stayed in some very luxurious hotels in the last twelve months, but the staff at the Treglos really made us feel welcome and valued. The room and view were good. The food and service were excellent and very good value. We shall certainly choose this hotel again. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Front Office Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you very much for posting this review. We are very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and also appreciated our stunning location at Constantine Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    72
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
90
200
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the cottage ajoining the Treglos Hotel - and found it very quaint and homely. There was plenty of space and it had a very private garden with the added benefits of accessing the hotel via a back gate and a short cut to Constantine Bay. The accomodation was clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Front Office Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

For walking the Cornish coastal path, touring north Cornwall, surfing, or family beach holidays, the Treglos has it all. The views from the sea facing rooms are good, the walking along the coastal path reasonably level and with fabulous seascape views, and the location is ideal for touring north Cornwall by car.
The service in the hotel is really excellent, nothing is too much trouble and the staff are experienced and keen to please. The breakfast menu is first class, with local produce and good helpings. Afternoon tea with home made cake, jam, scones and Cornish cream is exactly how this traditional fare should be served and the bar lunch snacks are to a good standard, both in choice, value and taste.
Dinner is not as good as it used to be....the soup course and cheese trolley have gone and the choice of fish, although locally sourced is not as varied as previously. The choice of meat courses and the wine list are both more limited than a year or two ago, however the vegetables are local, plentifull and well cooked.
Live music in the dining room is often played at weekends and contributes to a convivial atmosphere; as does the dress code. All in all, good value for money and a very enjoyable holiday experience.

Room Tip: Try to book an upstairs suite facing the sea....and remember your binoculars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthTrufflehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your review and all the positive comments you have made,they are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Treglos Hotel is a very special place indeed. We consider ourselves lucky to have found this gem of a hotel nestling in the hills above the stunning Constantine Bay. There is something for everyone, kids have the den, the pool or the lovely gardens, there are comfy lounges, a well stocked bar and a super restaurant serving local food on a daily changing menu. Once you arrive just lock the car and enjoy everything Treglos and Constantine has to offer, the excellent attentive staff will take care of everything else.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your response.
All the team are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed with my wife on a four night break in early July and both of us really rated this hotel. We felt very relaxed and comfortable during our stay and although it’s not contemporary or cutting edge it seems to fit perfectly in its surroundings at Constantine Bay. The food was excellent and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We will return when we can!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and understand what we are trying to achieve.
Please come back soon and thank you for your time posting this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel is in a good location, just a few minutes from the beach and a few minutes drive from Padstow.

The hotel is clean, but is very old-fashioned. It has a pleasant garden. The staff are courteous and friendly.

The restaurant is a bad let-down, Rather bizarrely for such a shoddy restaurant they insist on jacket/tie for dinner.

My first course was the most unimaginative Caesar salad, with a sauce I suspect had come out of a bottle, on a dull lettuce and a few croutons, no parmesan, nothing else, even though the menu said it may come with chicken or bacon.

A main course of corn-fed chicken was cold and very bland. Even the accompanying vegetables were cold.

When I mentioned that it was very bland and cold I was told that it was cold because it was like a Caesar salad, the strangest nonsense reply I've heard for a while.

My father had a soup starter, which had him wondering which can it had come from, and why it was so over-salted. He was equally unimpressed with his main course.

I was offered an alternative main course and a free coffee, but was so disappointed with the restaurant I declined and went back to Pescadou in Padstow where we had a delicious meal the night before.

In summary the hotel is fine if you're happy with dated decor, but avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kushmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I am sorry that you were not happy with our dress code of jacket or tie.
This is relaxed during the school holidays when we have more families staying.
I understand there was also a problem with the menu on the one night you dined in the restaurant and you received an item you were not anticipating which I know can be very annoying. I can assure you though this has now been resolved.
Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Located in just the perfect place a short stroll from the long sandy Constantine Bay and within a very short drive of quirky Padstow the Treglos Hotel is a gem of a hotel. A bit of old England but with a modern contemporary feel. Fabulous restaurant with a view to simply die for and a menu that is great value and really lovely food. We never miss the opportunity to eat whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
What a great review.Thank you so much for taking the time to ensure this was posted and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantine Bay
3.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
4.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
18.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treglos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treglos Hotel

Property: Treglos Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Constantine Bay, Padstow PL28 8JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > Constantine Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treglos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Treglos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing