We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base with excellent host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We arrived for a golfing break, with a spot of sea fishing thrown in (or up) for good measure, and were greeted with a smile and left with the same. The food was very good, the rooms very comfortable and clean, the service excellent and the host, Roger, kept us quietly entertained until the small hours. A very enjoyable stay had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WottOBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2008

Booked through Late Rooms and got a 40% discount for 3 nights. Execellent Hotel in a Woodland setting. Facilties good and made use of the heated outdoor pool despite the air temp not being that high! Good base to tour Boscastle/Port Isaac and Tinagel coastline and to visit Rock and Padstow. Ate in for two nights and food was superb. Made the mistake of eating out in Tintagel on one night at the King Arthur's Arms. YUK! Avoid at all costs! The food was inedible and microwaved to oblivion! What a contrast to the quality food served in the hotel, where the staff were always very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return to the Lanteglos Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank halfboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

I have stayed at Lanteglos a number of times.

The rooms in the hotel are good, well equipped and have up to date services such as whirlpool baths, satellite TV and, this year, wiFi access.

The food is good (both table d'hote and bar meals), the public rooms
are well appointed and the welcome is warm and genuine.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WiltshireCornishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

I have just come back from a week long golfing trip based at the Lanteglos Hotel and I can't speak highly enough of the place!
The staff are great, can't do enough for you. The accomodation is first rate. The food is excellent, I must have put on at least 5 pounds.
Situated as it is, down a quite country lane, I can think of few finer locations for a holiday in the UK!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pandpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

The Lanteglos is a haven that I and a diverse group of golfers have used for many years. Over these years all of us have reflected on the time spent in Camleford at the hotel, always good memories, invariably a good time.
Service is excellent the food always promptly served and of the highest quality.
Accommodation is to an appropriate and good standard, well maintained and always clean.
Arranging our trips is uniformly completed diligently and our requirements always met.
The welcome is genuine and enjoyable.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank CornwallTourGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Booked a cottage suite for 2 nights, and left after one night.
Damp, dirty and very very out of date with uncomfortable beds and fabric headboards which were not very clean. Net curtains, old damp carpets, uncomfortable green velour small chairs in reception room and no soundproofing to unit above so could hear every step they took and even hear some of their conversations until 11 pm! Upside was that it was spacious.
Photos suggested a gracious, old and comfortable country house - how diasappointing. Only new thing in the cottage suite was the bathroom.
The bar room as a grim dark and outdated corner of a room off the breakfast room - not somewhere you would want to spend an evening. It smelt of smoke but I guess the smoking ban is quite recent but even so i would have expected the drapes and carpets etc to be cleaned but it smelt so damp and smokey I am not sure they had been!
Breakfast was average and cooked breakfast only just lukewarm.
Heated pool was too cold for us to go in and we had been in the sea the day before!. A shame for our children.
At £300 through late rooms for 2 nights we expected a smart country house and a relax by the pool in the pretty gardens and in comfortable rooms. Sadly it was not to be but at least the management were gracious enough to let us go after one night without paying for the second.
Have not complained in nearly a decade of staying in UK hotels but needed to let people know our experience was very different than other reviews we had read.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We found this little Gem on the internet and couldnt believe how lovely and accomodating it was, from the Decor in the rooms to the excellent value and quality of the food in both the main restaurant and the brasserie and the facilities within the grounds were also of a very good standard. We couldn't fault a thing. The Hotel even organised concessionary fees and booking of local golf courses which saved a lot of hassle.

The location of the hotel was very central and you could reach many beaches, the open moors and many good golf courses within 20 minutes drive.

I would definately recommend the Hotel for a short stay, or a golfing break or even for the family holiday, although we were very lucky with the weather! Well this is England afterall but we will be back and fingers crossed the sun will shine again!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hayleycharity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camelford
0.2 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
4.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
188 reviews
10.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanteglos Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanteglos Country House Hotel

Address: Lanteglos Lanteglos Lane, Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Price Range: $142 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanteglos Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lanteglos Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanteglos Country Hotel
Lanteglos Country House Hotel Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing