We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't choose for young couple's getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't choose for young couple's getaway”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Aside from not catering to young (20-30 yrs) couples, the room we were given was pretty basic with a wonderful view of the parking lot.

Bath room was smelly, partly because of malfunctioning ventilation, growth on tiles and corners of the shower. Give the poor cleaner a ladder. Water pressure disappointing, water temperature took a while to get there too. Bed was basic and needs maintenance.

Food was ok, beer average, but cheap. Probably the reason why our room neighbour came back after midnight drunk, switched on the tv and fell asleep snoring like a sailor. Could here all of that and more, because the walls are paper-thin. Needless to say we did not have a good nights rest. Unfortunate, considering this was supposed to be a quiet country getaway. Overpriced for what you get.

Positives: helpful barman, nice views over golf course, free wifi and parking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taskura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    104
    42
    16
    5
See reviews for
44
132
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Once again Bowood was on top form.
The golf course - thanks to the great greenkeepers - was brilliant as was the food, the company and of course we can't forget the staff.
Special thanks this time to Simon for re-arranging rooms, sorry we missed you. Thanks to Nigel Karl and Dan for putting up with our raucous laughter 24/7. Oh and to Carol for putting up with the men and their silly jokes at breakfast.
But the jinx is still with us, this time locking my car keys in the boot, the RAC man Mark was the hero of the day this time. The hotel were very accommodating during our hour of need, letting me use their phone so as not to run up my mobile phone bill.
I cannot fault this hotel and would urge anyone to stay here if you are in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janniepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Aside from not catering to young (20-30 yrs) couples, the room we were given was pretty basic with a wonderful view of the parking lot.

Bath room was smelly, partly because of malfunctioning ventilation, growth on tiles and corners of the shower. Give the poor cleaner a ladder. Water pressure disappointing, water temperature took a while to get there too. Bed was basic and needs maintenance.

Food was ok, beer average, but cheap. Probably the reason why our room neighbour came back after midnight drunk, switched on the tv and fell asleep snoring like a sailor. Could here all of that and more, because the walls are paper-thin. Needless to say we did not have a good nights rest. Unfortunate, considering this was supposed to be a quiet country getaway. Overpriced for what you get.

Positives: helpful barman, nice views over golf course, free wifi and parking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taskura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last weekend and were attending a surprise golden wedding party on the Friday night. The staff, especially Sian, ensured that the meal for about 40 people went like clockwork. Great tasting food, great service!
We had a superior room overlooking the golf course. It was spacious and comfortable with a nice big bathroom. Breakfast was buffet style, hot and cold, with plenty of choice of the usual breakfast cereals, bacon, sausage and accompaniments.
A very enjoyable stay, even though we don't play golf!

Room Tip: Our room was a 'superior' with balcony and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloch
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Fab time had recently...lovely rooms..nice breakfast..lovely golf course..compliments to the green staff...good location for touring the north coast.. Tintagel. .Port Isaac. .Port William. .Padstow. .St Ives. ..lands end must as so far down

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel during our tour of the UK. The room was spacious and clean however it was let down by the absolutely paper thin walls. This property is amongst a gold course so you would need your own transport to stay here. Free wifi and parking were available along with a buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kplceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A superb venue, fantastic food, fantastic service and nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. we held our parents surprise 50th wedding anniversary here with 30 guests most of whom stayed at the hotel and all were highly impressed with the rooms and facilities.
The event Manager (Nigel) was faultless and extremely helpful, the food and menu was of a very high standard with the evening itself being run by Sian who could not have been more efficient if she had tried.
My parents and all guests had a superb time on this special occasion made even better by a great venue, great staff and amazing food.
Highly recommended and thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vollibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camelford
4.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
11.3 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
4.7 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Lanteglos, Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the championship golf course, this hotel has an award-winning restaurant, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The charming villages of Tintagel, Port Isaac and Boscastle are 15 minutes' drive away. In the 13th century, Bowood Park was part of the Black Prince's deer park. It is still set amid 230 acres of picturesque hills and woodland. The hotel has modern decor and luxurious fittings throughout. Each room has an en suite bathroom, a TV, and facilities for making tea and coffee. Guests can dine in the hotel's restaurant, which offers British and international dishes, including local seafood. Cornish cream teas and a Sunday carvery are also available. The Bowood Park Golf Club has a course which meets USGA standards and is open all year round. Golf clubs and buggies are available for hire on site. The North Cornwall coast, with its surfing beaches and fishing villages, is 15 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Park Hotel And Golf Course
Bowood Park Hotel Course
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing