We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Good fun location.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Good food and service... Too cold for golf but a good break.
Course looked great too. Staff tried hard to ensure everyone had a good break.
Evening meal is good value and well presented.
Rooms are well kept. ...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxplymjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    103
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
42
132
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

4 of us (2 couples) came to stay at Bowood Park for a Golf Break and New Year's Eve Gala Dinner, and had a fantastic time. The food was amazing and really well presented, and the staff were so friendly. We had huge rooms and large beds which were very clean and comfortable, and the bar area was pleasant with the drinks not overpriced.
The golf course is well designed and well drained so even the poor Christmas weather didn't dampen our spirits, and we managed to play for 2 days. The golf shop even lent us some carry bags as trolleys weren't allowed due to the weather.
We will definitely return and hopefully the sun may shine next time! The break was far above our expectations and made new year special. Thanks to all of the staff for their hard work on new year's eve!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here overnight after a works party and a wedding on the next day. Our room was well decorated and had all the amenities required. The food on both occasions was excellent and the staff are all very friendly and helpfully. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffly087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Came here in a party of 17 "lads" for 2 rounds of golf over 2 days and stayed in hotel for 1 night.
The hotel is quite pleasant with all decorations in good order. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and airy with a good, comfortable bed.
All the staff were outstandingly pleasant and helpful. There seemed to be nothing they would not do to ensure we were happy guests.
The food was excellent and not overpriced.
We came here for a golfing break and it is this the hotel caters for, hence the name!!!, so I think the hotel would only suit golfers and walkers.
The golf course was in good condition and a delight to play - weather was horrendous mind you.
Totally recommend this hotel and will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking golf course and not the car park. Although it is not a busy car park golfer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned home after our second visit to Bowood and what can I say ... the staff really make this place, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It was lovely to see the same faces behind the bar, reception and in the restaurant. We really were made to feel very welcome and had a great banter with Sam (thanks for ensuring I was ok after my little accident with the curtain pole!), Carl and Nigel. Oh and we mustn't forget chef ... his steaks are amazing! This time we stayed in the flat which was very cosy and warm. You will be assured of a warm welcome at Bowood. We are booking for next year. We even managed to play 9 holes first day, 18 on second and 9 on the 3rd, couple that with 2 nights DB&B for £95, absolutely NO-ONE should be complaining!

Room Tip: There are no views from the flat so go for a hotel room at the front if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janniepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Attended Bowood for a golf weekend with 9 friends. Course in great shape and some great holes that are challenging. Good value for money. Friendly enough staff, but only downside is that we were rushed by staff during our evening meal. In summary a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRS1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for two nights in a group of four. One room was superior at the front of hotel on the first floor with balcony. The view out over the golf course and rolling countryside is the highlight of the hotel.
The other room was standard double with a huge bed and plenty of space, including a third bed. It was a bit gloomy with just a small window and a view of the golf buggy park. The real downside of this room (116) is that the cleaner's utility room is next door and immediately the other side of the wall from the bed. We were promptly and unceremoniously woken both mornings at precisely 8am by their door banging, and every word of the cleaners' chatting! This is not the cleaners' fault but an illustration that the principal flaw of the hotel is the thin walls, creaking floorboards and poor sound insulation. It was also evident that the hotel is sorely in need of some maintenance with problems ranging from broken gutters, holes in the roof eaves, rusty railings, worn carpets. Perhaps not immediately problematic for guests but indicative of a lack of TLC and attention to detail and it won't get better. The hotel has the feel that they started building it with great expectations and ran out of money, so the car park is tatty, the entrance anteroom looks like a cheap afterthought and some hotels walls around the back are unfinished. Pity.
The breakfast was OK with a wide choice, but nothing exceptional or particularly noteworthy. We didn't try the evening or daytime meals. Reception was pleasant and quite efficient.
In summary then, it was OK but, one felt constantly that a bit of attention to detail would have helped enormously.

Room Tip: Avoid room 116 if you want to sleep after 8am
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vodnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camelford
4.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
117 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
4.7 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Lanteglos, Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the championship golf course, this hotel has an award-winning restaurant, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The charming villages of Tintagel, Port Isaac and Boscastle are 15 minutes' drive away. In the 13th century, Bowood Park was part of the Black Prince's deer park. It is still set amid 230 acres of picturesque hills and woodland. The hotel has modern decor and luxurious fittings throughout. Each room has an en suite bathroom, a TV, and facilities for making tea and coffee. Guests can dine in the hotel's restaurant, which offers British and international dishes, including local seafood. Cornish cream teas and a Sunday carvery are also available. The Bowood Park Golf Club has a course which meets USGA standards and is open all year round. Golf clubs and buggies are available for hire on site. The North Cornwall coast, with its surfing beaches and fishing villages, is 15 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Park Hotel And Golf Course
Bowood Park Hotel Course
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing