We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good staff and very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good staff and very good value”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for two nights whilst on business and was pleased with everything. I found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room that I had was very good, well sized with a very comfortable bed. I ate in the restaurant on the first evening. The food was really good and the waitress excellent. On the second evening I ate in the bar and the food and service were equally as good. Special mention to Jennifer who was exceptionally helpful when I made my booking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardW430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    103
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
42
132
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel and its golf course are nestled in a tranquil location in a woody valley but close to the tourist trail of Port isaac, Polzeath and Tintagel.The hotel has some of the most amazing staff who are eager to please at all times as are the staff in the golf pro shop.The food is fresh and extremely well cooked and any dietary requirements are asked about at check-in.Rooms are light, airy and spacious with good bathroom facilities.
The golf course is spectacular and despite it's seemingly ease has some tough holes with water ready to trap any wayward shots!It pays to have a buggy as it's a trek but worth every moment!

Room Tip: If you're a golfer lool out for the special golf breaks - exceptional value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loszahories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We arranged a golfing weekend here. A long drive from Hampshire but the course was in excellent condition. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. Great bar area for relaxing after a round of golf. The restaurant was excellent with good food and size of portions. Good service and a varied choice. An all round great venue. Pro shop were very helpful along with all the staff. We were all made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We are not into golf at all, but wanted a nice place to use as a base for touring Cornwall. This place is a gem. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean and well presented, the bed was almost as comfortable as my own, the bar menu was extensive and very reasonably priced. We didn't use the restaurant, mainly because we preferred the food on offer in the bar, but, unusually for a hotel, it was cheaper to eat "in house" than in many of the bars and restaurants locally.

One or two of the guests were a tad noisy on their way to bed, but this didn't last long, and was certainly no worse than we've experienced in other hotels. By midnight, it was quiet, and one poor guy even came round and apologised at breakfast the next morning.

The grounds are beautiful and even non-golfers like ourselves could appreciate how nicely they are kept. Definitely would recommend to others as a clean comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newburygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just stayed for one night after going to a Quiz & Mexican buffet evening at the hotel. Staff very friendly, lovely Cornish breakfast. Rooms basic, but very clean and great value for money. Lovely views over golf course. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodgson1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

It was a last minute booking. We did not stay there for the golf, purely for a place to stay for the one night. Great value for the price of £55 (for two) including breakfast. Could not fault the cleanliness, the friendly staff and the full breakfast. The evening menu was reasonably priced too. The only criticism is that breakfast was served in the bar, where that morning there was a golf group having coffee and bacon baps and were a little invasive to a quiet breakfast. We do believe that breakfast in the bar area is not the norm, and that it was purely because they had a total of 2 rooms in the night before (one of them being ours), and this was the reason it was not served in the restaurant.Overall cannot fault it and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiefeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I go down to Camelford on business several times a year and always try o stay at this hotel. The rooms are great and the staff are very friendly. The food is not expensive and is not too bad. Give it a try you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Most rooms are pretty good but the rooms at the front have great views across the golf course and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daves_b4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camelford
4.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
117 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
4.7 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Lanteglos, Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the championship golf course, this hotel has an award-winning restaurant, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The charming villages of Tintagel, Port Isaac and Boscastle are 15 minutes' drive away. In the 13th century, Bowood Park was part of the Black Prince's deer park. It is still set amid 230 acres of picturesque hills and woodland. The hotel has modern decor and luxurious fittings throughout. Each room has an en suite bathroom, a TV, and facilities for making tea and coffee. Guests can dine in the hotel's restaurant, which offers British and international dishes, including local seafood. Cornish cream teas and a Sunday carvery are also available. The Bowood Park Golf Club has a course which meets USGA standards and is open all year round. Golf clubs and buggies are available for hire on site. The North Cornwall coast, with its surfing beaches and fishing villages, is 15 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Park Hotel And Golf Course
Bowood Park Hotel Course
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing