We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the golf not the food or decor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Certificate of Excellence
paradise
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the golf not the food or decor!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Used Bowood Park as a stop over on our way to Cornwall (rather than as a golfing destination.) Perhaps the golf is the main draw, as the hotel itself was very poor. Our evening meal was unappetising and our room was basic with two single beds pushed together, tired decor and a mouldy bathroom. The bar area was very much that of a pub rather than a hotel; our table was so dirty and tacky my glass and plate were stuck down! After a poor night's sleep In an uncomfortable bed (with blankets rather than duvets and covers) we headed to breakfast and were presented with the worst scrambled egg I have ever tasted, limp bacon and a vile sausage. All in all I would not recommend you go there for a hotel experience - perhaps the golfing is the draw?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    97
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
39
124
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights which included 3 rounds of golf, 2 b&b and 2 evening meals for £149.00 per person. Very friendly staff, good food and very pleasant bedroom with ensuite bath/shower & wc. Excellent 18 hole parkland golf course set in lovely Cornish countryside. Driving range and practise ares. Very relaxed stay, cannot wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

The food offer was poor in ballance & content , most main course dishes were over cooked & dry .Breakfast buffet was also poor on cooked items .In all a lot of one to one training required in the F& B department .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobile4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Just come back home from hotel, soa fresh review. Put it this way, glad to be home. Stay there Friday night at 6pm, only to find restaurant will be closed due to function. Had no warning of this on invoice or website. Just checked again no mention anywhere. Feel cheated, since this was the reason we chose this hotel over another. We paid £74 reduced from £130! No way are these rooms worth £130. I felt £74 was too much. Room looks ok, but balcony roof looks tatty and needs a paint. Walls are thin. Stayed in Superior room, which be warned it's not! Room is above function room too. Bed really hard and uncomfortable. There is a flapping noise outside the hotel near this room, I'd guess a flag or suchlike, very annoying. I told staff no mention off closed restaurant on their website, all they said was, it should be there! Not good enough. You are ment to leave key at reception when you pop out, we didn't has no one was at the reception when we waited there. I feel this hotel is over priced, under run and would not recommend anyone staying there. Feel they are taking on more than they can deal with. Remember, I came from there this morning, so a fresh memory review.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpaul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakewell
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a business trip.

My room had everything I needed for a comfy stay. Particularly enjoyed having a room which opened out onto a terraced area at the back.

The staff were very helpful.

Breakfast was pretty standard but i certainly enjoyed it and had no complaints.

The hotel was excellent value for money.

Would recommend and would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

WE have stayed ay bowood possibly 2-3 times a year over the past 5-6 years and have allways left wanting to book our next stay! The course is excellent,staff first class,rooms very comfortable and food excellent especially the last trip.Will be booking again soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleemang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I was surprised to read some of the reviews for this hotel. We found the room fairly basic, but clean and a 6' bed which was very comfortable. We opted for the bar food which we found good and plenty of it. We didn't try the 2 or 3 course evening meal in the restaurant which was more expensive, because the bar food on the 3 nights we were there was very good and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and it was great value. The breakfasts were also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaStar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camelford
4.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
4.4 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
19.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Lanteglos, Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the championship golf course, this hotel has an award-winning restaurant, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The charming villages of Tintagel, Port Isaac and Boscastle are 15 minutes' drive away. In the 13th century, Bowood Park was part of the Black Prince's deer park. It is still set amid 230 acres of picturesque hills and woodland. The hotel has modern decor and luxurious fittings throughout. Each room has an en suite bathroom, a TV, and facilities for making tea and coffee. Guests can dine in the hotel's restaurant, which offers British and international dishes, including local seafood. Cornish cream teas and a Sunday carvery are also available. The Bowood Park Golf Club has a course which meets USGA standards and is open all year round. Golf clubs and buggies are available for hire on site. The North Cornwall coast, with its surfing beaches and fishing villages, is 15 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Park Hotel And Golf Course
Bowood Park Hotel Course
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing