We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern and well designed spacious property”
other travelers have booked this property
Rear of The Shippen, showing seating area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of The Shippen, showing seating area.
The Shippen dining area/lounge, with stable-door leading to outdoor seating area. The Shippen kitchen, showing en-suite bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Rear of The Shippen, showing seating area.
The Shippen dining area/lounge, with stable-door leading to outdoor seating area.
The Shippen kitchen, showing en-suite bedroom.
The Shippen en-suite bathroom, with whirlpool bath.
The Shippen kitchen, with slate floor & underfloor heating throughout.
Rear of The Shippen, on a frosty, March morning!
Entrance lane, taken from outside The Shippen.
Roughtor & Brown Willy, on Bodmin Moor - only a mile away.
Port Isaac Harbour, 'Port Wenn' in the tv series Doc Martin.
St Michael's Mount, nr Penzance - an hour or so by car, but well worth it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Camelford, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neily4004
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern and well designed spacious property”
Reviewed January 30, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Shippen is in an ideal quiet location to explore the local countryside and beaches. We went in winter with a dog and found plenty of places to walk and relax. The walk to Camelford along the river is a must and I used the start of this walk every day with the dog as its literally a minute away from the property. The property is modern and interior designed to a high standard. We could only find minor faults with the property, such as the rear stable door not being finished properly which meant we didn't use it, but overall the property is excellently presented and we were very comfortable there. We originally booked the property for last November but needed to change this at short notice and the owners were very helpful in letting us change our booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in The Shippen,and thank you for your feedback. Regards, Helen & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_n...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great location
Fantastic accommodation
Excellent facilities
Warmly welcomed
Definitely want to come back

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Thank you for leaving this review, we'd love to welcome you here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was a return visit to Fenteroon (having stayed here last year) and again we couldn't fault it. Location is excellent - visiting Padstow etc. The property is definitely a home from home with all that you could need. The owners are on hand but don't intrude. Lara, our lab, loves the barn and all the excellent walks from your front door - the walk to the local pub along the riverside is a must!

You should definitely visit Padstow and the local farm shop (Hilltop Farm Shop) is a must for food as well as a good breakfast!

We will definitely return again. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2015
It was so nice to see you here again & thanks for taking the time to post your review. Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpayne26
London
2 reviews
“Fantastic!! Enjoyed every minute really did not want to leave !”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Me and my partner stayed here and both agree it's the best place we have ever stayed very deserving of the 5* rating. We found it to be a very central location with plenty of things to do in a 10mile radius
We are hoping to return soon

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in The Shippen, & look forward to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joop550
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An ideal base for exploring Cornwall”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The property was finished to a high standard and was very clean, it had all the comforts of home which is what you need at the end of a hard day sight seeing. It's an ideal base for exploring Cornwall, and I wouldn't hesitate in booking it again in the future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in The Shippen, and thank you for taking the time to post your review, much appreciated. Helen & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa30p
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful hideaway”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We spent a weekend in the Shippen and were extremely pleased with the beauty of the cottage and surrounding area. It has been decorated to a high standard without losing its traditional charm and appeal. We took time to explore surrounding Tintagel and Bude and had a lovely meal in nearing Wadebridge. Helen, the owner, was helpful friendly and welcoming. We don't think we could have enjoyed our stay more and can't wait to come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for posting your review, we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry B
Whitland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas hideaway in Cornwall !”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This first class accommodation , converted from old farm buildings ,proved to be an excellent location for a quiet Christmas getaway ! The quality of the cottage was excellent and it even had a Christmas tree provided ! Warm and cosy it offered all the facilities you could wish for .

Good location for exploring the north coast of Cornwall as well as further inland.

The cottages available offer a variety of sizes to suit all needs with each retaining its privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of finish
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2014
Thanks Gary & Mari for choosing one of our properties for your Christmas break, and for posting such a positive review. We hope to see you again! Helen & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing