We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good curry but limited opening times”
Review of Gurkha Restaurant - CLOSED

Gurkha Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Curry & rice
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good curry but limited opening times”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This restaurant does a good curry with good sized portions. It only opens during the summer and you need to check your bill carefully as they make a lot of mistakes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“enjoyable evening”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Party of 10 enjoyed a good meal . We have been before so knew it was cash (machine 2 minutes walk) and bring your own alcohol, which makes the meal very cheap! Nepalese dumpling starter and onion bharjis were excellent, as was pillau rice. Meat a little sparse in some meals but plenty of food and didnt spoil the meal or the evening. Toilet facilities a little rustic! Waiter polite and helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyleverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Handy for a takeaway”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My only previous experience of this place was not a good one (we walked out when, after some very poor service, four supposedly different starters all appeared to be a dollop of the same odd looking substance!), but that was admittedly several years ago now.
So I decided to give it another go for a takeaway and was quite pleasantly surprised. The warning on the phone when ordering, that my choice of curry (Malabar lamb) was a hot one was maybe not necessary, it was well spiced but hardly fierce. In fairness I suppose it would be a bit more of a challenge to someone used to mild curries.
Service was polite and quite timely, portions were adequate and the food overall was, whilst hardly outstanding, above average enjoyable. I will happily return for a takeaway again soon.
I would hesitate to recommend it for dining in though, because although there seems to have been a bit of effort at giving it a face lift, it hardly exudes opulence or luxury!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bozzystamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food, will go back”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The food was excellent - Nepalese curries have a noticeably different different flavour then other nationalities in UK Indian restaurants which I particularly like. Our young children liked it too - and they're still being introduced to curries (they liked both the dry tandoori style and the Nepalese style sauce curries).

The owner doesn't know how to market himself yet (poor frontage, alchoholic drinks on menu when it's a BYO, cash only, no website) hence only 4 out of 5 overall, but 5 out of 5 for the food and we will be coming again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John-LloydH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Holiday Takeaway ”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Second visit here in Two years and three holidays in Cornwall.
Two superbly tasty currys butter chicken and tikka masala.
All good with the cheese, and peshwari naan breads, as good or better than as 90% of Birminghams establishments.
Equally as tasty mains as the house specials we had last time and made to order.
The only downside, a rather odd waiter / barman, with maybe a fairly limited English vocabulary.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

Camelford, Cornwall
 
Camelford, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing