We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Davidstow Airfield & Cornwall At War Museum

Davidstow Airfield & Cornwall At War Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Camelford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a very interesting museum with lots to see, the prices are great we paid £10 for a family. It is made so much more interesting when you see the hard work and love that has gone into opening this museum and the airfield is also very impressive. would go again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chocolatechops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    40
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I just love the passion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

From the moment we entered, we loved it. It isn't just the museum, which in itself is impressive. It's the people who run it, the passion they have that makes this museum what it is. I'll be back....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoverPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well - we came upon Davidstow on the only day it was tipping down with rain during our holiday. The Airfield was hosting a 'Cornwall at War' weekend. It was definitely worth coming across. From first impressions the site looks very small but it is full of huts with displays and information covering the various services - including animals in war. We were lucky enough to be there when there were an additional number of war time vehicles which obviously had been lovingly restored or maintained and brought in for the week-end. Having been born in the fifties and with a teenage son I wasn't sure how interesting it would be. But I have to say that the 3 hours we spent there wasn't really enough. It's a great nostalgia trip. It's not full of electronic gizmo's or fun fair rides but I am sure even the smallest kiddies would find it interesting with some patient explanations of what they are seeing. Certainly the youngsters we saw had as big a smile as the oldies on a nostalgia trip. It's not all singing all dancing but it is informative, very interesting and full of people who are interesting and passionate about the subject and will talk to you for hours. Will definitely go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ppotti1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
500 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This museum is dedicated to the history of the airfield which was only operational for three years. First impressions are that the museum is small but there are a surprising number of displays to see in both original and new buildings and it is still expanding!

It is run by the owners with help from enthusiastic volunteers who are all keen to answer any questions you may have.

On arrival you are given a guide sheet to follow and you watch a short film in the original cinema on how this project got going.

Our favourite display came towards the end - the Nissen Hut which houses the Mess Social Room. It is laid out as a party in full swing with many beautifully dressed mannequins.

Not able to take the airfield tour which is an extra but takes you into all the places not open to the public.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We returned here after a visit two years ago when it was recommended by a friend, as we wanted to do the airfield tour that only happens on a Thursday in the summer season. Our first visit was great, so much to see with a fantastic amount of artefacts, if you want to know how life was on a WW 2 airfield this is the place to come. You can easily spend all day here, bring a picnic, there are tables and benches. A port-a-cabin 'NAAFI' has help yourself tea, coffee, soft drinks and crisp and small nibbles with a 'honesty box' but that is all. Recommended is the airfield tour a 1 1/2 hours trip to the the ruined buildings with Steve (the founder who's knowledge is vast), telling you what used to happened when the airfield was up and running. We found there were several new displays since our last visit and we also found things we thing we had missed the first time around. We have sung this museums praises and will continue to do so, it really is a special place and well worth a visit. All due to Steve and his staff of volunteers who have done, and are continuing to do, a grand job.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davidstow Airfield & Cornwall At War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Davidstow Airfield & Cornwall At War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing