We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant find, we couldn't believe our luck”

Davidstow Airfield & Cornwall At War Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Camelford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a brilliant find, we couldn't believe our luck”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had been driving over to Jamaica Inn from Port Isaac we spotted a sign to the museum and decided to visit the following day.

On arrival we were unsure about how good it would be but we were about to be amazed within minutes.

The welcome was fantastic and the displays so easy to follow and understand. In one of the buildings the site owner came in to see us and took a great deal of time explaining about a local airfield that had been the base for a friend of ours from church.

We thought we would be able to do the tour in an hour, some two and a half hours later we were still their. If the weather had been better we would have stayed even longer.

This has got to be the best £4.00 admission in Cornwall (£3.00 children and concessions, group discounts available).

A fantastic place to visit for anyone as the exhibits suit a wide range of tastes, kids will love it especially if studying the war period at school, parents and grand parents will love the well laid out and themed displays, and nostalgia items.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sodemallOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    51
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Such a lucky find!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Being an ex forces family we were delighted to stumble upon this museum quite by chance when exploring the area around the old air field.

What an interesting couple of hours we spent there and would have stayed even longer had we arrived earlier. Very informative, welcoming staff and so much to see, hear and learn about Cornwall and its Forces past, we were enthralled. We particularly enjoyed seeing the submarine gun recovered from a fishing net and the refurbished Officers Mess with the dressed models in period style, it really added the right feel to the place!

The museum is probably not ideal for younger visitors but is a real trip down memory lane for anyone with war time or forces connections. The fact that most of the work was done by the owners and the collection was amassed by them makes it all the more enjoyable and make you WANT to look out for treasures to send to them to add to the collection!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank quintrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Entry Fee”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a find !! Stumbled across the museum by accident & spent a couple of happy hours there. The staff are very helpful & chatty & the displays are interesting, particularly the film documenting the creation of the museum. Wandering around the displays is both informative & evocative & the whole site, including the airfield, has a poignance. The entry fee (£4) was money very well spent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Week St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another world”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

So much space to just be. The sky is so big. It really feels like you have stepped out into a new world.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

There are some very fine diplay cabinets showing the history of Davidstow Airfield during the second world war.
Check before you visit as they often have special exhibitions.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davidstow Airfield & Cornwall At War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Davidstow Airfield & Cornwall At War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing