We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clowance after a long time away”
Review of Clowance Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clowance Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clowance after a long time away”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had not been to stay at Clowance for at least 15 years, prior to Seasons buying it. The changes and improvements are really really good, the accommodation is of the expected very high standard, the Club House has been improved and extended considerably. The service throughout is very very good and the food apart from the Friday Night Curry excellent. The starter was very good but the curries were disappointing, very mild, and lacking flavour but as explained by the waiter this was because they try to cater for all tastes in the buffet, rather than going hot and spicey for the few. We have no hesitation in recommending Clowance and will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: If you like visits from Swans, Ducks and Squirrels ask for a ground floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    222
    51
    19
    6
See reviews for
299
313
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stay for one week with my parents and I have to say it was worth it, quiet and peaceful! The lodge was very nice and felt like a home away from home. I would recommend this to anyone who'd like to get away from the hustle and bustle of a busy work like, you can so shut the would out.

Room Tip: As with anything book in advance to avoid disappointment , all the cottages seems to be perfectly pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The resident staff are always friendly and welcoming. Fantastic accommodation and the grounds are just beautiful. It was a super week. The lakeside and walks are just gorgeous and our meal at the restaurant was delightful.

Room Tip: We've stayed in a variety of lodges and they're all fantastic - Clowance 1, Finn Lodge and B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 920Barbara14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in the Coach house, apartment 6 at the end of February. We had been travelling for 8 hours to get there so were really tired, but as arrived early didn't expect to be able to get to our accommodation for a few hours. The staff were very helpful and we were able to check in almost straight away. The accommodation was very nice, very well equipped and clean. We used the pool and the sauna. The grounds are wonderful, with many paths, lakes and streams. Would come again!

Room Tip: We had apartment 6 in the coach house, on two floors, it was quiet and very close to the reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have stayed here now for the last 3 holidays in Cornwall and I must say the estate is peaceful and clean.
We’ve stayed in the detached Lodges (sleep 6) and these have been extremely well presented and clean. You often get the feeling that you’re alone on the estate and we’ve never found the amenities/gym/swimming pool overly busy. The grounds are well maintained and very pleasant in the evening.
I cannot comment on the restaurant as we’ve yet to eat there.
The golf course is a challenging little 18 hole (9 greens), not overly well maintained but good for a leisurely game in the evening.
It is ideally situated near Camborne so both coasts are very close (Hayle beach is 15minutes away). The Lodges are what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I, along with two elderly relatives, stayed in an excellent 8 berth lodge overlooking open grassland with the lake in the distance. The lodge was well equipped, with modern kitchen appliances, including washing machine and dishwasher. There were two bathrooms, one with an efficient sauna. It was a very comfortable lodge, although the bathrooms now appear a little dated. That said, everything was clean and served us very well.

The staff were all welcoming and helpful.

We've stayed at this resort several times before and would have no hesitation in returning again, given the opportunity. It is a great place to relax and unwind, or to use as a base for exploring the countryside and coastal towns of Cornwall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our first visit to Clowance, a 3 night break, fantastic value.The estate is very impressive, very well laid out and plenty of room to wander, walk in the woods or stroll to the lake. The main building has an excellent heated indoor pool & hot tub.A well laid out gymnasium also available. The restaurant offered a good choice of local food and a Sunday carvery with entertainment most evenings.
The lodges are very well fitted out with plenty of space and all the items you need to prepare your own food if you wish.
The resort is central for both the North and South Cornwall coastline, St Ives is less than 25 minutes and St Michaels mount is about the same distance

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camborne
2.7 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
7.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
7.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
7.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
231 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clowance Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clowance Estate

Property: Clowance Estate
Address: Praze An Beeble, Camborne TR14 0PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Camborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For five centuries the Clowance Estate was home to one of Cornwall's most aristocratic families, and is now one of the most unique holiday destinations in the UK. Our self catering accommodation is located between Falmouth and St Ives. Clowance boasts 97 acres of beautifully landscaped parkland and woodlands, complete with an 18th Century manor house, a four-acre lake and its own private golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Clowance Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clowance Estate And Country Club
Clowance Estate & Country Club Hotel Camborne
Clowance Estate Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing